We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alberina- overlooked treasure?”
Review of Albertina

Albertina
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16,20*
and up
Albertina Museum Vienna Ticket
Ranked #13 of 775 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated in the very heart of Vienna's City center, the Albertina houses one of the most important art collections of the world. Founded in 1776, the Museum today owns masterpieces by Da Vinci, Raphael, Michelangelo, Duerer, Rembrandt etc. These collections are presented in temporary exhibitions. The Batliner Collection "From Monet to Picasso" is permanentely on display and shows the most important works by artists from the age of modernism. The Habsburg Historic Staterooms of the Albertina give an air of Imperial glamour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 28 June 2018

One of our highlights of Vienna was the Albertina. We saw a special exhibit, Monet to Picasso, beautifully curated and an exhibit of the American artist, Keith Haring. We almost overlooked the Royal apartments of the Hapsburg dynasty. on another floor. Highly recommend the Albertina! A lot to see in a palace not as overwhelming as others in Vienna.

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina_Service, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albertina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018
Google Translation

Danke für die freundliche Weiterempfehlung!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5 532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"state rooms"
in 159 reviews
"batliner collection"
in 75 reviews
"picasso exhibition"
in 68 reviews
"modern art"
in 154 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 106 reviews
"keith haring"
in 29 reviews
"da vinci"
in 26 reviews
"art lovers"
in 87 reviews
"van gogh"
in 53 reviews
"great museum"
in 99 reviews
"on display"
in 120 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 31 reviews
"famous artists"
in 26 reviews
"nice collection"
in 27 reviews
"palace rooms"
in 32 reviews
"audio guide"
in 105 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 86 reviews
Filter

206 - 210 of 5 532 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

So glad we decided to include the Albertina on our visit to Vienna. The section with modern art was wonderful; so many of the 20th century artists I love. But, the State Rooms were also fabulous and unexpected. Not only did I learn about the famlies that occupied these rooms, but also about the culture of the time. So informative.

Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina_Service, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albertina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018
Google Translation

Danke für Ihre Anerkennung!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

They have a nice collection of modern art, as well as some other exhibits. It is possible to see everything in a single visit (although a bit tiring to do so).

Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina_Service, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albertina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018
Google Translation

Danke für Ihren Besuch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Do not miss this. It is not normally listed as a place to visit but it is as nice as most English stseely homes.

Thank Emma3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina_Service, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albertina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I mainly went to the Albertina to see the Keith Haring exhibition, but stayed to see the rest of the Gallery. The Batliner collection on the top floor was a great whistle stop tour around twentieth century art, and the state rooms were probably the best I saw in Vienna (and I had been to the Schonnbrun and Belvedere). And they were relatively uncrowded even on a summer Sunday morning. The cafe is also very pleasant, particularly the outside terrace. On a practical note, I It was 31degrees C and humid on the day I visited, so I would like to give a special mention to the air con in the building which was really effective!

Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertina_Service, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albertina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you! Yes the aircondition is really a very nice musthave in these days..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albertina also viewed

 

Been to Albertina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing