We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
330
451
110
45
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
451
110
45
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settimo cielo the ground floor restaurant great location cathedral bells rooftop restaurant top floor central location st stephens cathedral major sights the heart of the city old city room was large i highly recommend this hotel minute walk opera house four nights buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the 3 days that we visited Vienna. It was the perfect location, right next to St Stephens Cathedral and all the cafes and shopping. Everything was within walking distance and never had to take transportation while there. The room was clean and the continental breakfast was really good! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Vienna!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank beachbella1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you for choosing our Hote Royal for you recent stay in Vienna and for recommending our Hotel to other travellers.
We are happy that you enjoyed your days in Vienna and hope that you will soon find time to come back and stay with us.

Best wishes your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Perfect location in the city center steps from underground train station. Walking distance to most major attractions. Many restaurants, cafes, bars and stores nearby. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and spacious rooms with working AC. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Noahski4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you for staying at our Hotel Royal and leaving this kind feed back for other travellers. We are very happy that you felt at home with us and enjoyed our prime location.
We hope to have you with us soon again!
Best wishes your family Kremslehner on behalf of your Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated in the middle of Vienna and right next to a metro station. This is an old hotel not fully brought up to date. Our first room was too hot. The air conditioning wasn’t working properly evident by the towel placed under it. When asked to move we were told the hotel was full. It’s when we threatened to check out did a room become available. The included breakfast was good and you could sit outside. Pleasant reception staff. Would not return. 5/10

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allan050651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Allan!

Thank you for your feed back - our hotel is equipped with a new A/C system, but we were facing some technical problems during a wave of heat in summer! As we were fully booked we had to solve this problems while guests were staying with us.
We are yorry that you had to change room, but not everybody wants his room cooled down as much as possible - many Europeans prefer their rooms warmer.
We will forward your kind words to our team.
Sunny greetings from Vienna, your family Kremslehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

When I first booked Hotel Royal, I don't think I fully comprehended how centrally located this hotel was, and honestly, no complaints. When you walk out of the hotel, you're right by St. Stephen's Cathedral! We stayed on the first floor, facing the street, and had no problems with any noises from outside. We had a spacious room, with air conditioning (we were in Vienna during a heatwave and I think the AC had a hard time keeping up, but there was definitely a small difference between the inside and outside temperatures when you walked in)! The breakfast in the morning was really good and had lots to choose from. Because we tend to travel with just carry-on luggage, we were thankful for the same-day laundry service! Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Vienna and looking for a great deal in a truly great location!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ksenia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Ksenia!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travellers! When you were staying with us we were facing the hottest august ever and therefore all our ACs were working at top level - usually all our rooms get very cold......

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime central location as well as our sumptuos breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best wishes your family Kremslehner on behalf of the Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We booked months before we were due to arrive. Our primary reason for choosing the hotel was its location as we had our elderly mother and we wanted to be central. We arrived at 8pm and were told we had no rooms and we would be sent to a sister hotel which was much further away. We asked how this had happened but were given no explanation. On checking review sites on our return it seems this isn’t a one off! The alternative hotel was acceptable but in the wrong location so we were really upset. We were advised we could return to the Royal the following day but if we did we wouldn’t get the travel cards they’d offered in compensation after much complaint. We were given 2 chocolates each and a letter which clearly was a standard template to apologise. This again confirmed this was something which happens frequently. The alternative hotel was less expensive but we were not offered the difference in price. We were told our Taxi was being paid between the hotels and that was it. Really dreadful experience and it was a terrible start to our short break. They did not inform us of the ‘error’ until we showed up at hotel. So if you want to stay at the Royal it is a lovely hotel but check before you arrive that it’s Royal that have a room for you and not their other family hotel which is much much further out from the centre of Vienna.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Balerno School ... f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear guest!

We want to excuse once again for the booking mistake that happened and we want to point out that this is no standard procedure, but you are right it might happen when we are facing too many bookings at a time and our staff as being human sometimes are making mistakes. We are very sorry that we had to please you and your mum to our Hotel Regina, which is the biggest Hotel of the 4 Kremslehner Hotels in Vienna and is situated close to Ringstrasse and is easily connected with all public underground.

As you mentioned we tried our best to solve this situation for both sides and therefore we suggested that you change back to Hotel Royal which you did not want - so we thought that you felt at home at our Hotel Regina.

We want to express our sincere excuses once again and send our best greetings from Vienna,

your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews