We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
321
447
107
42
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
447
107
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settimo cielo the ground floor restaurant great location cathedral bells rooftop restaurant top floor central location st stephens cathedral major sights the heart of the city room was large old city i highly recommend this hotel minute walk opera house four nights buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Hotel Royal is situated in the city centre of Vienna. We had an excellent stay here, due to the very kind and helpfull staff at the hotel. They gave us a warm welcome with a sincere smile. We arrived early and our room was not ready yet, but they offered to store our luggage so we could go and do some exploring in the city. When we got back the room was ready and to our surprise we found this amazing and luxurious chocolate cake in our room, as a gift from the Royal staff for my moms 70th birthday. That was such a nice surprise. The room was spacious and very clean and had everything you needed. The bathroom was supplied with shower gel, shampoo, and soap, there was a large sink and a shower / bath tub and sufficient towels. Everything was clean and well organised. The room has free wifi (wich worked really well), a safe, a desk, table with chairs a king size bed and an extra single sofa bed. The bed linnnen was comfortable. The room was a little noisy, we could here guests above walking over the floor, but that was because some one was wearing high heels. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one with a sky deck, but mind this is closed on Sundays. Breakfast is downstairs and offers everything you might need, breakfast has a lot of variaty, cold and warm buffet, fruits, juices and so on. We did not have dinner there, so I can't tell you anything about the food they serve except that it is kind of exclusive.
The staff helps you with all your questions about getting to the most wanted tourist attractions which are all close to the hotel. Also the subway / metro / u-bahn is around the corner of the hotel.

How to get to the hotel from Viennna airport :
buy a S7 train ticket at the airport, then follow the signs to the train station which is underneath the arrivals floor of the airport. As well, if you have not gotten it yet, get your Vienna city card (on line or at the airport). For more info about the Vienna city card you can check my other review posts.
The S7 train ticket costs 1,70 euro for a single jourey. Take the S7 train and get off at station "Wien Mitte / Landstrasse" . From there you follow the orange sign to the U3, wich is one level above. (take stairs or elevator). Get in the U3 with destination Simmering and get of at metro station (u bahn) Stephansplatz. From there, get out of the underground. You will see Stephansdome and in the next block on the left you will find the hotel.

Hoffburg (Sisi Museum, Lippizaner horses, Nature museum etc) is at walking distance from the hotel, so are all the beautiful stores of the city centre, cafe Demel, Stephans dome and so on. Only Schönbrunn castle is not near the hotel. To get there you take the U3 to Westbahnhof, get on the U6 to Langenfeld gasse and then the U4 to Schonbrunn.

Across from the hotel is a supermarket if you might need to buy some drinks or other supplies.

I would like to thank the Royal Hotel staff for their hospitality and service and I can recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room tip: room 37 was spacious, clean and had a city view
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Yvon!

We are very happy that we could make the 70th birthday of your Mum a special one and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your days in Vienna and especially at our hotel.
As a family run business word of mouth recommendation is most important for us!
Looking forward to having you with us soon again,
your family Kremslehner on behalf of the Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The location of this hotel is very good: A 2 min. walk from the Stephansplatz subway station right in the centre of old town. The room was spacious and clean, though a bit dated. It could have used a bit of sprucing up.

The beds were quite hard and the air conditioning had a difficult time keeping up with the hot days. After a few hours after sunset the room did cool down enough to make sleeping Ok.

The breakfast buffet was average with a fair amount of choice. They had coffee waiting on each table which was a great idea.

The hotel is "old school" in that you need to drop off your key when you step out.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest!
Thank you for your detailled feed back after your recent trip to Vienna,
we are happy that you enjoyed the hote days in Vienna and hope to have you with us soon again.
Your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Really nice location. In the heart of city center. Room is clean and looks nicer in person than pictures. A/C was not working properly, called reception and help was sent right away.
Check out was easy and fast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sicng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest!
Thank you for your kind feed back and the 5 star rating,
Unfortunately we were facing some A/C problems as this summer is very hot in Vienna!
We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel Royal,
your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, but check out any sight-seeing packages they offer before buying. The room and bath were clean. The tub and shower were narrower than I have ever experienced. Nice breakfast buffet.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Bruce,
thank you for your kind feedback!
Hope to have you with us soon again, your family Kremslehner on behalf of your Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Top service from the reseption ! 110% satisfied !! Great location, could not be better. Great choice og the breakfast. Staff could be better to follow up.
Rooms Ok, but the best too hard, slept no more than four hours bouth night we stayed there. Bed too low only Max 40cm - not satisfactory for people over 50. Please change beds. They are at least 20 yrs !!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gøsta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you for your comments - we will take them very seriously and we will change the beds of course. But next time you stay with us - please address our reception team. They would have been delighted to show you another room or change the matress or provide a topping for it....
Sunny greetings from Vienna, your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews