We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating experience ”
Review of Olympiaworld

Olympiaworld
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123,74*
and up
Innsbruck Combo: Innsbruck Card, Traditional Café...
Ranked #26 of 120 things to do in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

If you like a hike and the weather is fine you can walk and make a day if it. As you leave Innsbruck there is a pleasant climb through the woods. We took just over 2 and a quarter hours from Innsbruck rail station (having booked some weeks in advance). Take a GPS device if you do walk as the tracks aren’t signposted as much as you’d like (so we stopped several times to get the right direction). We then got the ski bus back for free using our Welcome cards.

The main bobsleigh run lasted 59.65 seconds and we reached a maximum speed of 115.99 km/hour (with two paying punters, plus a ‘driver’ and a braker i.e. 4 in all ). I could feel my head push down with the G Force. A minute is enough of an experience! We had a good guided talk as we walked to the top explaining the different parts of the track. I’ll certainly appreciate the sport more when watching in the future.

It was well organised and all 11 slots were over reasonably quickly (so not much waiting around).

If you have someone free get them to take some video footage at the end (which will just be a few seconds). And stick your Strava, or similar, on to record your minute for yourself (we got a certificate confirming we did it and piece of paper with our times compared to the others taking part in the session).

I’d like to have heard a bit more about how the bobsleigh works (as the bit we were told was really interesting).

The cost makes you think twice - but maybe that’s a good thing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank HaggisTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice skating"
in 3 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 3 reviews
"pure adrenaline rush"
in 2 reviews
"g force"
in 2 reviews
"olympic venue"
in 2 reviews
"olympic rings"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"bergisel ski jump"
in 2 reviews
"innsbruck card"
in 2 reviews
"bobsleigh"
in 11 reviews
"track"
in 6 reviews
"rink"
in 3 reviews
"skates"
in 4 reviews
"pilot"
in 3 reviews
"igls"
in 4 reviews
"arena"
in 3 reviews
"labyrinth"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018

firstly this isnt in Innsbruck, you need to travel to Igls where the track is, its just outside Igls village itself and you will need a car to get there. There is plenty of parking and on arrival (check available dates) you pay your 30 Euro fee at the kiosk where you get your ticket and certificate. No need to book..

there is a cafe where you can watch the action from but at about 7pm we headed up the hill to the meeting point and got in a truck which took us and the bobsleigh to the start point, we then were placed into groups. Each bobsleigh had 5 guests and a pilot, teh ride last just under a minute and was immense fun. I think we got to about 60mph and you did get thrown about a bit but this wasn't olympic standard so stories of not being able to breath are over rated. Well worth the experience though

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This is wonderful and must be experienced. Ski jumps can not be described by words. This year it was raining, but nothing could ruin a great atmosphere.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Marijana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We did the taxi bobsleigh run at Innsbruck Olympic track. 1270 metres of track in under a minute with speeds of up to 120kpm! The bob holds 2 guests, the driver and a brakesman. At 99 euros each this is not a cheap experience but it is a once in a lifetime thing to do. Bookable online.
There are 14 corners including a roundabout turn so you do get knocked around in the bobsleigh. The G force can reach 4.6g and I did struggle to take a breath as you feel the pressure in your chest with the speed. Just as you think your body cannot cope anymore you pass through the labyrinth which is 3 turns in close succession then the brakesman applies the brakes. You do get a certificate after the ride but no video available and go pros not allowed.
An amazing experience and pure adrenaline rush. Be prepared for the g forces though and think about this before you decide to ride. An alternative slightly slower/ cheaper option is the guest bobsleigh ride where 5 people share the bobsleigh and it starts lower down the course on the 4th corner at the women’s start. This is only €30 and dates/times are on their website.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank UnitedKingdomWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

The best 1 minute of my life. Worth €30 of anybody's money. Not sure why it doesn't get it's own activity rather than being bundled with olympia world.

Hunt it out people. Get the J bus to Patscherkofel and get a ticket at the zeishaus. My only regret is I want to do this as a job.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Emperor_Palpatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympiaworld also viewed

 

Been to Olympiaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing