We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising Menu”
Review of Fat Mama's

Fat Mama's
Ranked #86 of 638 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 103 - R 515
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fat Mamas has been established for over 25 years and is owned and run by the same family. We are a family friendly restaurant and welcome family's, couples, singles and groups from all over the world.
Reviewed 20 June 2012

There is always a queue outside Fat Mamas and you can see why. . . . they provide entertainment for children, family friendly, great cocktails and serving food other than the usual mezzo and steak selections you get in most restaurants and taverns up and down the Island. I find that a lot of the places cater especially for the English palate, which is great at time, but then leaves most places quite limited in choice. Fat Mamas was different, the service was great and the menu (American / italian) was vast. The prawns with garlic sauce (off the italian menu) and fajitas (off the american menu) were some of the best i have tasted in a long long time, and i eat at a lot of Mexican restaurants in London. The portions were good and the waiters knew the menu well. We also had the ribs and whilst there fell of the bone and were extremely succulent, i felt that the sauce was a little sickly sweet, so when given the option to go standard or spicy, perhaps do a mix of the two?
I would say that this place is mainly for families and friends, though you can go as a couple (the cocktails are fab), it isn't what i would call a romantic restaurant per say.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karendsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2 953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 688 - 2 692 of 2 953 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Really good place to eat, excellent food and service! When I asked the waiter if the cheese cake came with ice cream his response was " If you want it to come with icecream it comes with ice cream!" really excellent !

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Fantastc food and entertainment. A must visit restaurant if visiting Paphos!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Fat Mamas is a long standing restaurant which is split into an Italian and American themed venue. Fat Mama's has lots of pasta dishes (very tasty!) and Willy's Rib Shack has the American staples including back ribs etc. Both themes are housed in the same restaurant area as one.

I passed the restaurant a number of times early evening and noticed queues to enter (not a long wait though) and it got my interest as no other places were in such demand. Finally chose to check it out, and had a great experience.

Staff double up as entertainers, and they carry out various brief but entertaining shows through the evening. At 21:00 they do a bigger show which was again really entertaining, and these elements do add to the fun atmosphere and a glance around the place showed many happy faces.

I had my 6 and 8 year olds with me, and they were extremely well catered for, and the staff kept popping by when time permitted to interact with the kids and have fun. They soon won over the shy pair, and even played trumps with them which was well received.

Food was excellent, but as mentioned in other reviews the portion sizes were reasonably big. A starter and main would most definitely fill you up, maybe even beat you.

I would thoroughly recommend this place, and I am sure you will have fun and good food should you choose to visit.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2012

2nd time back in cyprus fat mamas was def a must and did not regret it we took family and friends and they all enjoyed it we went back for a 3rd time and once again was not dissapointed we had a little bottle of champagne from them as we just got married which was a nice touch,the meals are HUGH but atleast you dont walk out hungry,def recommend to anyone superb place ;-)

Date of visit: April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stewart100412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fat Mama's also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Fat Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.