We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north nicosia old city walls ledra street buyuk hammam pomegranate hosts grandmother lefkosa property greek accommodation guests cyprus
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

You only have to read the previous reviews by people from many countries to realise what a wonderful experience... it is to stay at the Bastion Inn. Melike and Burc are the owners who make their guests feel at home treating them as friends. The rooms are emaculate, spotlessly clean and superbly fitted. It's rare that I recommend places to stay but if you thinking of looking to stay in this part of Nicosia don't hesitate in choosing here. Thank you Melike and Burc.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kudzu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This inn is a lovingly restored period mansion in North Nicosia, inside the old city walls. The area around the inn has also been renovated, full of Ottoman-era houses and neighbourhood street life. I felt safe to walk around here day and night. The house itself is done up exquisitely. We stayed in the Pomegranate room with its high ceiling, beautiful wood floors, new bathroom, and comfortable bed, with a view to the garden. It was impeccably clean. Breakfast in the garden is wonderful. But what is really great about this inn are the hosts, who are elegant, educated, people who are very organised and respectful, but at the same engage with you sensitively on a personal level. I very much enjoyed my stimulating conversations with them in such a beautiful house. This is probably the best property we stayed in Northern Cyprus during a week-long trip.

Room tip: I liked the pomegranate room in the old part of the house, although the room at the back may be more private.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Bastion Inn in September 2017 and couldn't wait to return this year. We're reluctant to share our review as we really would like to keep this gem a secret from the masses!

The building itself has been lovingly restored whilst retaining much of the original character. Authentic local touches are abundant from the tiles to the taps, everything has been given careful attention. The towels are huge and the bed linen is excellent quality.

Burc and Melike provide their guests with an excellent breakfast, with any choice of eggs you may desire You may be even be lucky enough to enjoy some pomegranate seeds grown in the garden!

The area itself is on the north side just a short walk from the Ledra Street crossing. The area is a mix of bargain clothing stores and traditional Turkish restaurants. The Buyuk Hamam is well worth a visit, it certainly has remained a talking point for us! I would say the location is practically perfect for experiencing the traditional Turkish side and the more commercialised Greek side.

We have had 2 memorable stays in Nicosia and have enjoyed the company of Burc and Melike who are genuinely decent people. They are incredible hosts who love the company of others, will help you plan your stay and will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy their home city. We can't wait to stay again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Brunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

A wonderful place! Close enough to Ledra street to be very convenient but situated in a very quiet and peaceful little road 5 minutes into the Turkish side of Nicosia. The young couple who own and run the accommodation are wonderful. All smiles, very helpful, and providing the best breakfast and coffee you could hope for. They replied to my email queries immediately with lots of useful information and guidance.

The property was owned by their grandfather, and they are rightly proud of all the effort and time they have put into refurbishing the property to a wonderful standard. Original features abound; it is bright, clean, comfortable and airy.

Going through the border crossing on Ledra Street Is quick and easy and interesting too! It is quite a thing to have breakfast on the Turkish side and then walk for five minutes to reach the Cypriot side!

Finding a little gem of a place to stay is always a lovely thing. The Bastion Inn is just that little gem. I was delighted! The place itself is spotlessly clean, quiet and charming. The perfect place to stay if you want a little peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of Nicosia. Eating breakfast alfresco in a charming little garden was worth the stay itself.

I travel for business a great deal, and usually stay in the usual hotel chains. It was such a refreshing change to stay at such a lovely family run property. I will feel quite sad going back to staying at the usual hotel chains now!

Very Highly recommended! Try it!

Andy

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 212aroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Burç and Meleke make you really feel at home as if you were a friend rather than a paying guest - breakfast is tailor made giving you the opportunity to taste Cypriot specialities. They also give good advice to help you explore Nicosia from this central location. Very tasteful interior design, renovation done with great care. I am already looking forward to my next stay

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Albrecht S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews