We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
4
2
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
2
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We know Bellapais well and selected this hotel online for a one night stay on our arrival to Cyprus. The website showed attractive and characterful rooms in a lovely location, but in truth the rooms and building are dowdy and unkempt. When we arrived after 9pm, the car park was empty and we thought we might be the only guests, but there wasn't any welcome from reception. Our room was ok, clean and basic, but overlooking the car park. Some relatively minor improvements to the decor (eg. replacing missing lampshade on the beside table, better fitting curtains, removing stained and peeling wallpaper in the ensuite and general redecoration) would have made a big difference. The shower was also cold and low pressure. We had hoped that there would be the chance of a bar snack and a drink when we arrived, but ended up walking into the village for an evening drink. In the morning we had to ask reception where to go for breakfast as it was still very quiet. We were directed to the roof terrace, which had lovely views to the mountains and coast. Unfortunately the Turkish breakfast (which I looked forward to) was one of the worst ever - there was no communication from the member of staff on duty, no choice and we were given a pot of tea when we both would have liked coffee. It was very minimal and we left hungry. We frequently visit North Cyprus, but have yet to find a pleasant place to stay on our arrival night; we had high hopes for the Zone, but unfortunately will be looking elsewhere again for next year. Some websites describe this hotel as "luxury" which is very misleading. Compared to similar accommodation available in Turkey, is has a long way to go, but could easily be improved by motivated management and a little expenditure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carleton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We got a room here as all the other hotels in Bellapais were either full or closed, and to be fair it wasn't expensive. As a bed for the night its ok, but I certainly wouldn't describe it as a boutique hotel. On arrival we felt like we were intruding and weren't made to feel valued or welcome. We were also asked to pay in full up front which we found a bit strange. Our room was small but clean, though the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off and had patches of damp on it. Reasonably comfortable bed, though strangely there was no top sheet, only something like a big towel which wasn't really big enough for two people. Breakfast was ok but nothing special, but at least the staff were a little friendlier then.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed at the Zone for one night on a very brief visit to Kyrenia, as it was a very reasonable price (44 euros for B & B) we weren't expecting 5*, but were still very disappointed. The position of the hotel is good, on the main road to Bellapais village with fantastic views from the back of the hotel of Bellapais Abbey and from the front and our room of St Hilarion, the room was nicely decorated with some feature stone walls, however these were the only good things.

There was no mirror in the room except for the one in the bathroom, and no tea/coffee making facilities which we have always had wherever we've stayed in North Cyprus before, there was nowhere in the bathroom to put anything except for a very narrow area around the basin - a shelf would have made a lot of difference. The shower was lacking in pressure and just about warm enough, but this did mean that the bathroom mirror did not steam up, even after both of us taking a shower so I could at least use it to apply make-up etc. There was also a standard double socket on the bathroom wall (put on sideways?) which had to be used to dry my hair in the mirror, pretty sure this is not safe directly above the washbasin and quite possibly illegal.

We asked for a non smoking room which we definitely did not get - even though there was an ashtray, the room did not smell of smoke when we arrived so we thought nothing of it, however, when we went to bed the pillows and general bedding smelled so strongly of smoke it kept me awake, I accept we may have been able to be moved but by this time it was after midnight so more trouble than it was worth to change rooms.

One of the points consistently stated by the hotel is that they have a 24 hour reception - what they don't appear to have considered is that the night receptionist has the TV on all night which can be heard quite loudly in the room directly above which was ours, at first I thought it guests in another room so thought it would go off in a little while, but at 3am I realised it was downstairs and we had it going all night

After little sleep and a lukewarm shower in the morning we went for breakfast, this was served outside, luckily the weather was warm for the time of year, but even so the wind was quite cool - there didn't appear to be an inside area for breakfast, so this did make us wonder what happens when it rains which it does during the winter months.... We were not asked what we wanted to eat or even given a choice of tea or coffee, we were brought two cups of tea and I had to ask for mine to be changed to coffee, which when it arrived was cheap and instant - neither this or the tea were offered to be refilled, so one small cup each. We are used to Turkish breakfasts and weren't expecting very much, but it was all put together on one plate , i.e. "take it or leave it", this was olives, cucumber, tomato, cheeses, sachets of jam, honey and butter and .... a fried egg! Luckily I had spotted a plate being served to another guest as we arrived and could ask for mine without the egg (I really hate fried eggs and would have found it extremely off putting to be faced with one), there was a small basket of toast, which was OK, but breakfast was basically toast and one small cup of tea, which is acceptable but not something to recommend the hotel for.

Also when sitting at breakfast we could see the rest of the hotel from the outside which is very tired (even though we think this is a fairly new hotel, as my partner remembers it being a restaurant not many years ago), lots of unfinished things needing painting or repairing, they are in one of the best positions in the area, 5 minutes out of town with spectacular views so it is a shame that they don't make a bit more effort, it wouldn't take very much money to bring it up to a higher standard, just a bit of work and thought.

Although we visit the area fairly regularly, we won't be staying at the Zone again unless they make some changes.

Room Tip: Don't have room 1 which is directly above reception unless you want to hear Turkish TV all night
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We stayed at Zone Hotel on October 2015. I love Bellapais village and Hotel is located in here and walking distance to the Bellapais Monastery and the village centre.
Rooms are small but with good view of sea and valley. Breakfast was good and served at the terrace with good view also. Staff were friendly. Hotel has a restaurant at roof. Restaurant was not serving during our stay but it was possible to go there and enjoy the night view of the monastery and Girne harbour.
Hotel has car-parking and wifi.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms which have glasses at three sides of it.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Seldjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Birds eye view of Kyrie especially from the very top terrace ,a nice walk, downwards to the town about 2 miles. Bellapais only a half a mile the opposite direction towards the mountains, an experience you won't forget and would like to share with your beloveds

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
3  Thank Taylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Çağrı H, Sahibi at Zone Boutique Hotel Bellapais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Thanks for kindly recommend, we are excited to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews