We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
57
99
83
35
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
99
83
35
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds no pork huge mound dressing table area large casino hotel group rsd tour main reception complimentary water cultural tour clear sea sandy beach breakfast selection english guests oscar hotel package holiday large pool
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The meals were great. Personels were hospitable. The beach was great for kids.(sandy beach) The other one for adults.
The casino (viva casino) was very stingy.:). I couldn't win anything. I advise for Oscar Hotel's Casino. It name is skull king. The two hotels' owner is the same.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Erdogan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

First I have to say that we had a problem while checking in, out room wasn't ready and it was 17h o'clock!
At the reception they were very rude and told us to sit and wait for it.
So, my first impression was bad.
Also they have a HUGE mound in front of the entrance, it is quite disgusting.
It was also a problem to take our passports from the reception to go to the Greek part of the island, which I don't understand why?

The hotel is 42km from Ercan airport, and the price of the taxi is 30 euros to get you to the hotel.
Everything can be paid in euros and you have no need to change anything into Turkish lira.

I must say we had some very friendly cleaning ladies. They were very nice and smiling.

The hotel has a diverse and varied foods, only I am not sure what would a person on a gluten-free diet eat. I didn't see any gluten free sings.

At night you only get entertainment for children, it is actually quite a long program for them. They have no entertainment for adults whatsoever. Also they have carousels for children which are open 3 times a day for them to play.

In general we had a problem that not many people spoke English, but I guess that is something you would expect.

Vuni Palace also had a little train which takes you to the town center 3 times a day. You can also take a taxi, that will cost you 5 euros in one direction.

The safe is paid 2 euros per day.
The minibar for all inclusive is charged, which is weird and I don't recommend using it.

The pool is very very large and they have a children's pool as well. Also they have two types of beaches, one for adults where you go into deep water right away, and one for little children who in not deep at all. The water level is so low that you don't need a lifeguard there.

It was a bit weird for me not to have bracelets for all inclusive. Every time you order something you have to tell them your room number.
It was also weird not to have a water machine in the restaurant for lunch and dinner, and the pool area. I think it would be easier for everyone if they put them on those places.

All in all, I could recommend this hotel to someone.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We booked this hotel as we have been there in the past (2008 & 2010), and the price was very attractive vs the Rocks and the Colony 5* similar hotels). Mainly because it is 30 mins walking time from the city center, or 5 mins & 20TL in a taxi.

Things have changed from a small sort of family hotel to a very large Casino type hotel, with several annex buildings near to the main casino hotel.

The main advantage of this hotel, is it's large Pool, newly man made / established enclosed sea areas & sandy beach. So an excellent choice for the adults & kids. Inclusive of a pool bar, a lower sea terrace where lunch time snacks can be provided. also quite good sun beds & mattresses & large sturdy umbrellas. a life guard is also on watch. All together the jewel in the crown of this hotel.

The casino is also pretty good & fitted out with the usual gambling facilities. Very popular/busy. Drinks are provided, but you have to ask & hope the staff can understand you, and eventually bring the drink to you.

The rooms are a good size, but in my opinion they could do with a little modernising/decorating/livening up. Otherwise comfortable beds. But little wardrobe space! Always a problem with hotels! Also no tissues, or complimentary water on arrival in the room which would be great bearing in mind the 35/42oC temperatures outside.

On the negative side of things;-
- The hotel in our opinion does not really cater for English guests, as the TV channels are largely all Turkish, and majority of local staff do not converse in English. So asking for things, can be a problem!
- The biggest negative is that the local staff in the main do look very unhappy working there, and do not want to acknowledge your presence no matter where you are in the hotel. They even budge pass in front of you instead of allowing the guest to go first, and/or ignore you. NOT a good reflection on the management of the hotel that they employ workers who are not trained in 5* etiquette!!. Indeed the young cook who does the 'egg's & morning things' always over the 2 weeks we were there, was looking sulky, and definately had NO finesse/training in how to fry an egg or two. ie: throws the egg contents into an overly heated frying pan & invariably splatters/break the yoke and a crusty burnt bottom!!! Very 1* attitude & service from this person. But we blame the management for not training & keeping a ongoing watchful eye on the staff.
However the more recently employed overseas staff that appeared after a few day after arriving at the hotel were really good, & largely spoke good English & know how to serve and have the etiquette of a 5* service.
- The food (only tried the breakfasts) were the same every day, and really only catered for the local Turkish, Eastern European & Russian. Sad no Bacon or Baked Beans like you would get at the Rocks or Colony hotels!
- When we arrived we were put into one of the annex's which was a little distant from the main casino hotel. Then after complaining that we booked a room in the hotel, and with the support of our travel operator, they moved us to an annex adjacent to the main casino hotel, whichj was OK. But in both room locations we had problems with the main front door locks. One we could not get out of the room, as the lock had jammed, and the technicians had to access the room via the next & climb over the balcony in to ours to open!! The second time, we could not open from the outside, and again a technician came, but could not adjust the electronic software to enable it to open. Also had then to do the same & access next doors room & climb over the balcony to open the door, then dismantle the lock and repair it. Not good in case of an emergency.
- For the above we would only rate this hotel a 3/4* level.

Summary
Having advised all above, the good out ways the bad, & we would go there again if the price is similar to what we had paid this time.
Special thanks & credits to Mustafa (front desk) & the foreign staff who served on at breakfast time, as they are really good professional people.

Room tip: ask for a room closest to the casino hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peweestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We decided to revisit the Vuni after 10 years and we were very suprised how large it has become! At first we were put into an annexe room up the hill but as we were unhappy Mustafa Ceng changed our room to 424 which was great. Lovely views and very clean next door to the main Reception. Thank you Mustafa you have always been friendly and helpful always ready for a smile and a joke my husband really enjoyed meeting you.
Breakfast was quite a good choice and Sajid Ali Shah and Islam Shabaev looked after us so well. They were so polite and lovely to chat to and went out of their way to help. They are a credit to Vuni Palace as some of the staff seem very unhappy in their job and dont want to smile or say hello which is sad. The food was a bit samey after a few days but there was always something to opt for.
For value for money the Vuni is a good choice as the position on the coast is great the lovely sea breeze very welcome.
The pool is also lovely and fresh towels (from a nice smiley towel boy whose name I dont know)always ready on hand.
We usually opt for The Rocks Hotel but as the cost is virtually double that of The Vuni it makes sense to stay at the Vuni Palace.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank heathherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Was once a beautiful hotel, still is but decor and rooms looking tired. Rooms clean and a good size. Great pool and private beaches. Excellent staff. Great selection of food available. Room service available. No mini bar, pay extra for safe. Beds very firm.

Room tip: Ask for rooms in main building. Secondary buildings have a steep incline and 48 steps up to annexe.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews