We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banging”
Review of Sammy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sammy's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

This is my go to place in kyrenia. Ideally located in a quiet road 10/15 mins walk from the town and harbour. What really makes it standout tho are the fantastic staff.Nothing is to much trouble and everyone is amazingly friendly. Kishan Walter and sahil all doing a standout job. It's spotlessly clean and has a great pool if you need a dip.Breakfast is basic Turkish, Cereal and eggs anyway you like but there's something for everyone.The boss is alright too once you get to know him!! Plenty of places to eat 5 mins up the road and a shop just around the corner. What more could you ask? Just Brilliant.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank UmpleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear UmpleB,

We are very grateful for your 5 star review and positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, its location and in particular our hospitality. It is always a pleasure to meet and accommodate such great guests as yourself and we are hoping to see you again very soon! Your kind compliments to Kishan Walter and Sahil are warmly received and they send their special regards.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

Our second time in Kyrenia but first at Sammys. Wish we had known the first time. What a little gem.
We arrived late on the Tuesday night and had such a great welcome from Kishan who booked us in and Sahill, who took us and our cases up to our rooms. Sahill then took us to the restaurant where he served us a very welcoming bowl of soup and homemade bread.
Everyone were very warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The whole of the hotel was extremely clean and our linen and towels were changed every day.
Breakfast could be slightly better, with more choice of fruit, that is my only complaint.
CONGRATULATIONS to the family and staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AngleseyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear AngleseyFamily,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Sammys and had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our cleanliness, food and hospitality. It was our pleasure to welcome you and ensure that you were taken care of to the best of our ability. Our staff send their warm thanks and regards and we all hope to have you back with us again very soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The hotel is situated 12 minutes walk from the town centre and 15 mins from harbour. We booked a suite after reading other reviews on here and it was very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly but had difficulties with English. We had a small fridge in room which was not working and reported to reception but it was not replaced therefore our water and milk did not get chilled. If you like coffee you need to bring your own as hotel only supplied tea bags, sugar and 1 very small carton of milk which meant we had to buy more. Breakfast was buffet style but very minimal (cereal, toast, oranges,cold meat and cheese and olive bread and other guests told us if you want eggs you have to ask.
The hotel does not allow you to bring in any bottles or food to consume in hotel room.
Overall it is a nice friendly small hotel which was clean. Next visit we will definitely book a hotel nearer the Barbour area.

Room Tip: After reading other reviews of the standard rooms we booked a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stelsbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hi stelsbabies,

Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed staying in one of our popular suites and found our staff to be friendly. Very few of our staff do not speak English, and there is always a mixture of staff around who can help, however we are pleased that you found everyone to be friendly and our hotel to be clean as expected. We apologise for your fridge, we did try to solve this issue but were not aware that it was still not working until now and will certainly look into this, thanks for letting us know. The breakfast we serve is of traditional Turkish style but we are happy to try our best to provide requests by individual guests within reason. We thank you for your stay and hope you drop in to enjoy a drink and say hello next time you visit North Cyprus.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I took my daughter here for 3 weeks in August 2016. The room was cleaned every day by very polite local ladies, who cannot do enough for us. The food was lovely, but for us, eating 3 courses every evening (especially the size of the portions) was very filling. Breakfast was buffet style, but you chose how you want your eggs, brought fresh to your table. The swimming pool is attended by Turin (Walter) every day and serves all food and drink either to your chair or one of the tables by the pool. He cleans the pool every morning (about 7am) and clears away each evening. His english is very good, and he is always polite and attentive.
My daughter isnt very confident, but she thoroughly enjoyed every day in the water and even had fun tormenting Turin at times, and he also returned the fun.

All in all, we cannot wait til next summer (2018), until we return for the summer holidays

Room Tip: All floors are quiet, the bigger rooms have the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tamasine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Tamasine23,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate your lovely feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed our freshly cooked food and dedicated service. In particular we are glad that your daughter enjoyed her stay! We are all very much look forward to welcoming you all back to Sammy's again next summer!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed at Sammy's March 25th-April 2nd and loved the whole time there. As most of the reviews already say Sammy's is a lovely small (24 rooms) family run hotel and ALL the staff are so friendly and helpful. Special word for Sahill tho' cus his non stop smiling every day was brilliant ! The food was great too (we were half board) always tasty and hot with large portions, choice of main meal "Euro" or "Local".
The room was spotlessly clean, towels and bed linen changed whenever you wanted, free Wi-Fi everywhere, cheap (10TL/ £2.20) per week for room safe,TV with half a dozen English speaking channels, kettle in room.....I could go on but you get the message, it was superb! NOT a moan but the ONLY "improvement" would be a bit of an update for the slightly tired furniture.
The pool is absolutely gorgeous (but still cold this week!) and has a swim up bar which would be great in the hotter months, we had to put up with around 22-25 degrees but were assured come July and August it will be high 30's.....!
Kyrenia centre was a casual 20 minute walk away for the touristy area of bars and shops etc, but also plenty of restaurant,cafe,eateries less than 5 minutes walk away in the other direction.
I wont go on, the other reviews are right, lovely place, lovely people..THANKS SAMMY'S. Rob and Lyn x

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thanks for your excellent review and 5 star rating....we couldn't be happier to hear all the positive compliments you paid to our food, facilities, cleanliness and staff, it really makes a difference to our staff and makes all of their hard work worthwhile! Hopefully next time you come you will be able to enjoy the hot weather too and make the most of our pool bar :) Its been a pleasure to meet and accommodate such lovely people, we really look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
0.4 km away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2 213 reviews
1.2 km away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
461 reviews
9.6 km away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
269 reviews
14.1 km away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
485 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy's Hotel

Address: 17 Omer Sami Cosar Sok | Girne, Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: R647 - R1 350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sammy's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If hotels were awarded stars for satisfied customers, then Sammys would get a hundred! From the moment you check in, you will notice the thoughtful touches. In fact, guests will be hard pushed to do anything apart from sit back, relax and enjoy their holiday. Each recently refurbished guest room here is nicely decorated, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Available for a small supplement, there are also a few larger suites with the benefit of a living room as well as a private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Sammy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sammys Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing