We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dome Hotel(Kyrenia)
US$126
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avenue Hotel(Kyrenia)
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Pia Bella(Kyrenia)(Great Value!)
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$153
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$100
US$85
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
High Life Hotel(Kyrenia)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$161
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
452
152
55
13
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
152
55
13
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanned drinkslobby restaurantbranded spiritslunch and dinner buffetwater gymweek holiday with my familyentertainment teamkids poolkids clubturkish beerguest relations staffbar staff and waiterscooked dishesa la carte restaurantsmerit crystal coveturkish speakingreal star
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel (19/12/17-28/12/17) in room 118, which is one of a very few non smoking rooms in the hotel, the other being room 116.

Hotel & Room:
The hotel is generally very clean, bright in public areas but tired and in need of modernising. Hotel grounds is quite big overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. There is a petting zoo attached to the grounds for children to enjoy which is full of ducks, chickens, roosters, rabbits and one peacock. We heard the rooster crow early in the mornings & throughout the day.

Our room was spacious, rather dark but very tired in place particularly the bathroom. Bathtub side panel/cover was coming off (see attached photo) and mould was present in between tiles.

Food:
Buffet was extensive & plenty to choose from but quality of food was poor. All hot dishes were served cold or at room temperature.

Extensive choice of pastries for breakfast but it’s all cold, dry and stale. For lunch and dinner there is plenty of fresh herbs & salads, cheeses and meat dishes and very little in terms of cooked vegetarian food. So, if you are vegetarian you will struggle with food unless you are happy to eat salad & herbs everyday.

My partner struggled with cooked vegetarian food offered on the buffet as it was limited (1-2 dishes) and not to his taste, so one of the restaurant managers named Garip Parilti asked if we could make a list of food that my husband can eat so he could ensure the chefs made it.

Garip was very helpful, attentive and always checked if there was anything he could do or get for us when we dined. He spoke fluent English and is very friendly. When he was on duty, Garip ensured my husband got the meals cooked that was on the list we created, but when Garip was on his day off the other restaurant manager Gokhan did not bother to ask the chef to cook a vegetarian meal for him even though he knew about the list. Gokhan would avoid us and never check to see if my husband was happy with the food available or if there was something he could eat from the buffet.

Our last night at this hotel was the worst. Gokhan was on duty and my husband was supposed to have vegetarian lasagne, they did not make it for him. I asked Gokhan about this and he said the chef is too busy and does not want to make it. The chefs have known about this list for over a week as we had given the list to Garip early and he had passed it on to the chefs and other restaurant managers. This excuse from Gokhan was not good enough. All my husband could have from the buffet that night was soup. The only other options were rice and a very dried up, cold and unpalatable Mac & Cheese square that they tried giving to him, but he could not eat it, as when he tasted this it was disgusting. We noticed waitstaff taking plates away from other tables with this Mac & cheese dish left untouched as other diners did not like it either.

Entertainment:
Not much entertainment other than a singer with piano accompaniment a few nights a week by the sofas near the lobby bar. Also, a violinist will play in this same area on nights that the singer is not there. Other nights there is no entertainment just piped music through the sound system. Also, there is a duo that sings and plays guitar at the buffet restaurant during dinner but they only play for about 20-30mins and have a break in middle of dinner then start again towards tail end of dinner.
Christmas Eve & Christmas Day there was nothing special put on by the hotel as northern Cyprus is a Muslim area and Christmas is not celebrated.

There is a casino attached to the hotel and everything in this hotel including food is targeted for Turkish casino punters and junkets not for regular tourists.

Cigarette Smoke:
This hotel mainly caters for Turkish gamblers and Cypriot guests and allows smoking in all areas. When we came out of our room the smell of cigarettes is very strong in the hallways. Lobby & restaurant areas have machines that pump out scented spray every few minutes to mask the cigarette smell. Our room being non-smoking and massage rooms in Spa & Wellness Centre were the only places of respite from the cigarette smell.

Pool & Spa:
All outdoor pools could not be used at this time of the year as it’s too cold. Indoor pool was supposed to be heated at 27 degrees Celsius we were told, but when we used it the temperature was much colder and there were lots of kids as well as adults using the one indoor pool and did not look or feel clean despite making people wear swimming caps.
Spa massages were very good but slightly expensive, nonetheless we enjoyed these and had 8 massages altogether.

Location:
Hotel is around 25-30mins from the main shopping area of Kyrenia, where the harbour and castle is located. Taxi charges 30 Turkish Lira one way, most do not use a meter, so its best to ask the price before getting on. Taxi drivers are honest and charge the exact same price wether going to Kyrenia or going back to hotel from Kyrenia. We caught a metered taxi once from Kyrenia back to the hotel and it cost 38 Turkish Lira so it’s better to go in a taxi that doesn’t use a meter. Otherwise walk 5 mins to the main road and flag down a white minibus with the sign Girne-Lapta that will flash its headlights at you (wanting to know if you want to catch it), this public bus will drop you off at its last stop which is either shopping area of Kyrenia or near the castle. Which are all near harbour area. It will cost under 5 Turkish Lira.

Communication:
Staff at this hotel have very limited English skills even at reception, they will refer you to the Guest Relation staff who can speak English. Most wait staff have very little or almost no English speaking skills so communication can be difficult. Ordering drinks can be hit and miss depending on whether you get staff that has some understanding of English or not. Other than the Guest Relation staff there were only 3 other people that spoke fluent English, they are Garip Parilti, Emma (British girl) who worked at lobby bar and one Filipino chef named Grayson who made delicious sushi and was very friendly. Sadly, when he went on holidays, sushi stopped being offered on the buffet.

Although we are returning to Kyrenia in a few months to stay for 3 weeks we are not likely to stay at this hotel again, unless they can sort out the vegetarian food options on the buffet and have delicious cooked vegetarian food on offer other than salads & herbs. Also if they can keep cooked dishes hot instead of serving them cold. Then perhaps we may consider staying at this hotel again. But I doubt they will bother catering for vegetarian European tourists as they mainly cater for Turkish gamblers.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritParkHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Merit Park Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all we would like to thank your for choosing the Merit Park Hotel; we will be pleased to welcome you here in the near future.

Thank you very much for your review, our guests’ opinions are very important for us.

The comments you have shared will help us to improve our service quality.

Please remember to let us know the dates you will be visiting us again. As our returning guests, we do not want to miss out on the oppurtunity of offering you certain privileges.

Kind regards,

Merit Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms, excellent meals and good casino facility for the ones who like gambling.I do not advise for families with small kids...spring is the best time of the year to visit ...though winter is cloudy and rainy you can use indoor pool...

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Kartal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritParkHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Merit Park Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all we would like to thank your for choosing the Merit Park Hotel; we will be pleased to welcome you here in the near future.

Thank you very much for your review, our guests’ opinions are very important for us.

The comments you have shared will help us to improve our service quality.

Please remember to let us know the dates you will be visiting us again. As our returning guests, we do not want to miss out on the oppurtunity of offering you certain privileges.

Kind regards,

Merit Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Nice and cozy hotel by the sea. Very nice and helpfull personel. Clean rooms. Tasty food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner included. There is patisserie, serving fresh cakes every hour. Good size of swimming pool outside. Kids club. Spa. Everthing you need in a vacation.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hatice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritParkHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Merit Park Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all we would like to thank your for choosing the Merit Park Hotel; we will be pleased to welcome you here in the near future.

Thank you very much for your review, our guests’ opinions are very important for us.

The comments you have shared will help us to improve our service quality.

Please remember to let us know the dates you will be visiting us again. As our returning guests, we do not want to miss out on the oppurtunity of offering you certain privileges.

Kind regards,

Merit Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Just returned from a Xmas break at the merit park. It’s ultra inclusive as they keep reminding us as all food and drinks including high end spirits are part of the deal.

Another perk is you can eat and drink at their sister hotels which is a nice perk considering the food we got! Strongly recommend doing it if you have transportation!

The rooms and surroundings are v pleasant and decorated to a good standard although bathrooms look a bit tired.

We had a lovely sea view room although had to change once as original smelt of cigarettes and had 2 single beds.

The facilities are also good. I only tried the Turkish bath which was v good although a tad pricey.
Huge casino full every day and night. Had 1 night of entertainment but we didn’t bother as singer started at 11pm!

Staff were ok some much better than others. At mealtime they served your drinks but sometimes we had to wait to catch their attention. A couple of staff warmed to us mainly I think because we smiled and said hello which would seem unusual behaviour in local terms.

Our main issue with this trip was the food. There was PLENTY of it but it was never hot, in fact it was barely warm! They gave a lot of choices but we spoke to some vegetarians and they really struggled to even get 1 dish out of the 50 to suit them.

Breakfast was the best meal and we made the most of it!

They really need to change their warming methods as unfortunately this made some of the food unpalatable!

We had a great holiday overall but wouldn’t stay here. Maybe the merit royal which was far superior!

Would give 3 stars for service and value. 4 stars for room.

Room Tip: Those facing pool are nice
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mad22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritParkHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Merit Park Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all we would like to thank your for choosing the Merit Park Hotel; we will be pleased to welcome you here in the near future.

Thank you very much for your review, our guests’ opinions are very important for us.

The comments you have shared will help us to improve our service quality.

Please remember to let us know the dates you will be visiting us again. As our returning guests, we do not want to miss out on the oppurtunity of offering you certain privileges.

Kind regards,

Merit Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

If you like gambling, this is probably very good place to stay. Casino is excellent. Remaining facilities are not the same. Service is very good, staff are doing their job fine. But you probably will not feel that you are in a five-star hotel. Some bad smell at the rooms and humidity are the main problems. They must renew the decoration and furniture soon.I liked the foods in this all-inclusive hotel.

Room Tip: see view rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onurcelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritParkHotel, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Merit Park Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all we would like to thank your for choosing the Merit Park Hotel; we will be pleased to welcome you here in the near future.

Thank you very much for your review, our guests’ opinions are very important for us.

The positive and encouraging comments you have shared will help us to improve our service quality.

Please remember to let us know the dates you will be visiting us again. As our returning guests, we do not want to miss out on the oppurtunity of offering you certain privileges.

Kind regards,

Merit Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews