We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
44
11
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
11
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbellapais abbeylarge patiomountainswififridgeoutskirtssea
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2017

JUST WOW! The rooms are really clean & beautiful. Best view of Kyrenia city even from the balcony of the rooms and villas! You can see the whole north cost line of the island but the best beach is still very close (15 mins drive). The staff are really friendly and helpful. Fantastic experience, definitely a place to see!

Room Tip: Get a Villa! They are amazing ! you got 3 bedrooms with a great lounge, kitchen and huge balcony on top of the mountain.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SENSIJAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Ambelia Village is in a very peaceful location on the outskirts of Bellapais village with wonderful views across to Bellapais Abbey and beyond to Kyrenia and the coastline. Lovely terrace with shade, for meals and just sitting relaxing.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Transport from Larnaca airport to the hotel and car hire with car delivered to the hotel – all arranged very efficiently via email in advance of our visit.

Beside the pool and terrace there is a well stocked bar with a log fire for cooler evenings out of season. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed/2 bathroom villa – very spacious living/eating area with great views from the large patio.

10 minutes walk downhill to Bellapais village with restaurants/cafes and the ruined Abbey dating from the 13th century.

Good wifi in the bar area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eshergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Room was large but fixtures and fittings dated particularly in the bathroom. We didn't use the kitchen, but again on inspection the equipment was old. The staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant menu adequate, we ate their twice mainly because we couldn't face the very steep walk back fro Bellapais village. On the second occasion we were told it was the chef's night off so it was curry and meatballs or nothing. The pool an bar area were clean and relaxing with reasonable prices. Overall basic but suited our needs for a short stay in the area. Internet was restricted to the bar area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The house we stayed in was nice and clean. Simple at best. Kitchen wasn't very well appointed. Toaster didn't work properly, no decent sharp knives, and normally you expect a few tidbits like olive oil, clingfilm etc to have been left behind from previous guests but everything had been removed so first thing was a trip to the super market. no doubt a little sideline for staff there. We arrived as planned on schedule with no one there to meet us. Poor start. Ambelia is in a great location, overlooking the wonderful Bellapais abbey, but everything is rather faded. Air Conditioning outlets come out in them middle of terraces so they drip everywhere, sun shades don't work properly etc. And then half way through our holiday we were told we ahve to pay in sterling, and any card payments will incur a 3% charge!! Surely these are things we should have been told about before. Very disappointing, particularly as there is one bank that dispenses sterling and three trips there yielded nothing, a waste of holiday time that would easily have been sorted if the staff had thought to be more informative and then more cooperative when this all became apparent. A pity really as we would have gone back there, but am not willing to give them any more money now really.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank westyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambelia V, Front Office Manager at Ambelia Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

In positive response to our dear guests we wish to clarify that all comments, complaints and suggestions are welcomed at Ambelia. We see this as an opportunity to better ourselves, our excellence and customer relations.
We pride ourselves with our attention to detail and guest satisfaction.
We met our honourable guests with a private taxi driver of Ambelia Village at the airport. On arrival at Ambelia, our manager on duty, equipped with 3 different languages, greeted the guests and after settling in they were again approached by our assistant manager.
We wish to thank our guests for pointing out the sunshades.
Our staff asked on several occasions if everything was ok in the villa and nothing was reported hence we were left unaware of any malfunctioning items. Had they reported it during their stay we would have sorted it out right away.
Our guests were given one of our best villas, the kitchen equipped with: cooker, microwave and grill, kettle & toaster, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher. In addition there were fly screens on all windows, a television and an extra air-con unit in the sitting room.
We confirmed months ago in good faith agreeing the rate without holding any deposit. Our guests were strictly recommended by another family hence we did not demand any deposit. Sadly our guests waited until the last days to settle the costs taking advantage of our staff’s good nature and flexible approach and good intention of our management.
The payment methods were clarified the first week.
In fairness, they were informed of more than one bank in Kyrenia and aware of charges for any withdrawals which we have no control over.
We are sorry that this affected their holiday as we all tried our very best to accommodate this family’s needs with an extra baby cot and beach towels.
We are sorry to hear that the payment policy of our company made our guests claim that it “faded” their nice holiday and made them unnecessarily reflect their feelings on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

A relaxing spot that obviously has repeat custom year on year, judging by the conversation around the pool. A good place just to chill down for the weekend, with plenty of books available, in a wonderful setting. Staff were very friendly and the evening meal was delicious. Excellent value for money. The only small glitch we encountered was a malfunctioning air conditioning unit in the double bedroom of one of the villas but as it was a weekend stay this was unable to be fixed. To be fair, a member of staff quickly examined the unit as soon as they were alerted. Would definitely come again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Moisymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews