We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Famagusta City Tour with Salamis & 'Ghost Town' from Paphos
21

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Ghost Town Famagusta
Reviews (1 354)
Filter reviews
1 354 results
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost town mr john turkish invasion fantastic trip no man's land interesting trip buffer zone old town first hand turkish guide sad place personal experience air conditioned minibus turkey ayia napa greek cypriot green line
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 354 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2023

It’s pretty unsettling to be able to walk through here and see all empty properties that once were people’s homes. It’s sad to see what happened there. On some buildings you can see holes from shelling.
You can just walk around or rent a bike or golf cart.
You can also access the beach.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

We had a brill time here. Our first attempt to go had us sent home as we didn't take our passports. DO NOT FORGET YOUR PASSPORTS 😅 Another point to note, if you are travelling by car, you will have to purchase Turkish vehicle insurance at the passport check point. This cost us 20€ for 3 days worth. The journey from the Konnos Beach area to Famagusta Ghost Town took us approx 40 mins by car.

Famagusta Ghost Town was enjoyed by all of the family from 5 years old to 65 years old. It's a real eerie place with heaps of history. Some of us opted for electric scooters, others a pedal bike while the rest opted to walk. As a guide, we paid 300 Turkish lira for 2 hour scooter hire which works out approx £8. A real bargain, imo. You can also pay for a buggy and driver but this only lasts 30 mins.

It took us approx 2 hours to leisurely see most of the area and we were told the tour was approx 7km in total. Tired parents and kiddies all around. Well worth a visit.

Another important point to note; this is a Muslim area so, be mindful when dressing as shorts and bikinis will not earn you any approving glances from locals.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank Scenic40802975722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

It was very interesting to be able to wander around and see all the abandoned hotels. The beach is still very nice. I wonder what will happen to it in the future?

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank josettelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

Hire push bike to ride around cheap. But check the bike for brakes.
Good experience. Couldn't see all of the city, which was disappointing. But still saw enough. Enjoyed the history. Empty buildings, but must had been looted as no furniture left inside as they claimed.
Defo worth seeing.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

It is quite strange to walk around a once glamorous and thriving holiday resort that had to be abandoned nearly 50 years ago and is now a ghost town quietly rotting away and being reclaimed by nature. It was especially fascinating to look out some of the remaining shop and business signs which are particularly evocative of a time now past.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank JeremyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews