We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Famagusta City Tour with Salamis & 'Ghost Town' from Paphos
21

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Ghost Town Famagusta
Reviews (1 354)
Filter reviews
1 354 results
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost town mr john turkish invasion fantastic trip no man's land interesting trip buffer zone old town first hand turkish guide sad place personal experience air conditioned minibus turkey ayia napa greek cypriot green line
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 1 354 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Drove around perimeter then run into checkpoint with two armed soldiers who signalled us to turn back..scary😨..would love too see inside the city it would be like a time warp back to 1973..Turks would make a fortune doing guided tours..👍

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2017

You can get close to Varesha, abandoned since 1974, but the whole area is under Turkish Military control, guarded and you are not allowed to photograph it(but people do) Just amazing to see all the decay.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank sirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This place has been freezed since seventies and looks like a massive set of a fictional movie, somewhere floating between a nightmare and melancoly. Although this place is located in military buffer zone, you can walk around border line and look at the rusty windows and empty houses behinde the fences. Remember that, this place is military zone and photo shooting is not allowed.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank Orod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Have been to this silent city on a redbus tour.... i must say it is not nice seeing all the golden places to stay like that,...Hope one day cyprus will reunite together and make hstory...I have been with local people chatting and they are nice...even the turks can,t blame all because the world is full of bad and good.but let me not ar5gue about this.... i wish you all cypriots get back together and also the turks to reunite and make this wonderful city alive again....

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank BelloNettuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Once upon a time, There was no such a beatiful place more than here for summer in "Mediternean Sea". Even the rooms of hotels had already booked for next 10-20 years from those days. End of the war after the ceasefire that area converrted a buffer zone which is under the control of Turkish Army nowadays. United Nations have a block of apartment and Turkish Army have 6 blocks of apartments for they using as officers ' club. But it has unusual ambiance and atmosphere, gives a strange feeling and still carries the signs of war. There is a church in zone which is allowed to see for visitors but, there is also a girl dormitory where the Turkish commander's daughters accomodate. The visitors cannot go further than church if the visitor don't have army identity. It is a creepy place and is recommended place to see as much as you can see.

Date of experience: February 2016
3  Thank cskntekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews