We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Famagusta City Tour with Salamis & 'Ghost Town' from Paphos
21

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Ghost Town Famagusta
Reviews (1 354)
Filter reviews
1 354 results
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
814
331
123
36
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost town mr john turkish invasion fantastic trip no man's land interesting trip buffer zone old town first hand turkish guide sad place personal experience air conditioned minibus turkey ayia napa greek cypriot green line
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1 354 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

While staying at the resort town of Ayia Napa we decided to do the Mr John ghost town tour of Varosha and Famagusta. Most people would have never heard about this place nor know the history. We found this tour absolutely fascinating but with many different emotions of bewilderment, sadness and
a little anger of how a why this could have happened. Mr John the driver and guide was himself a refugee of the 1974 war of Turkish occupation of Cyprus. He spoke with a lot of emotion of his own personal stories on what he and his family when through.
The tour was nearly a full day trip and great value for only 20 eu each, we also got to see the old fortress and old town of Famagusta with its many churches now occupied by the Turks. This was a great day out and I would highly recommend doing as I don't think you we ever see something like this on such a large scale as this anywhere else in the world.

Let's hope that with the coming talks next week that there can a good resolution to this situation.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank katina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

If you want to learn the history of Cyprus and all about the war in 1974 this is a must see!

Amazing how a place the size of this can just be derelict!

If you want to see something different then this is definitely the place!

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank Dc11yer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Like many, you have the romantic idea of seeing a city frozen in time. You Can't!! You cannot take photo's at all of the area & there was a chaperone with us to ensure we didn't. Not that there was anything to take a photo of.
You are so close to the fence by the buildings that have been looted many years ago, that you cannot see any of the intact houses/shops/etc lie further in. You would get the same effect by visiting a local derelict building in your home town that's due to be demolished - or visit Coventry!!
I suppose if you're in a nearby resort, then go see it just to satisfy your curiosity, but it's not worth a trip of more than 2hrs or in our case a full day at £59/person & no lunch!! Thomson's should be ashamed of themselves.
The plus side of things was our guide (from the south) who was full of information surrounding the events of the time & the current situation.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Having visited famagusta it's a lovely place to visit and well worth it. But it's very hard to see this as it's quite heart breaking to see the devastation. To see what was a lovely city behind bars hopefully Cyprus will get its island back some day 😈😔

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Weaz_weazie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2016

It's creepy being next to no man's land. Shabby abandoned buildings, heartbreaking if you think about the tragedies that took place here 42 years ago.
There was a guy with a machine gun making sure no one enters, we were not supposed to take pics but we took one anyway he didn't seem to care. He's probably done with curious tourists trying to peek behind the fence.
It's a beautiful beach, water is warm and there are no stones. Perfect for swimming. The sordid ugly fence and barbed wires just makes it more unique.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Butterfly335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews