We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Irish Country Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Muddy Cottage

The Muddy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Muddy Cottage
Entrance Living/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Muddy Cottage
Entrance
Living/Dining Room
Garden
Kitchen/Dining
Kitchen/Dining
KItchen/Dining
Log Burner
Living/Dining Room
Main Bedroom, new duvets and linen for 2015!
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom with Children's room adjoining. New duvets and linen for 2015!
2nd Bedroom through to den
2nd bedroom
Decking
Into the Living Room
Fairy Houses
Entertaining
Sunset by Baltimore
Bathroom
Shower room
Local map
Living/Dining Room Fireplace
During construction
Castletownsend
Muddy Cottage during construction
Castlefreke Church
Hiking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Union Hall, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
grabagans...
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic Irish Country Home”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Muddy Cottage during our first trip to Ireland and it did not disappoint! This is a lovely home located along a country lane on the outskirts of Union Hall. The house is very comfortable with plenty of room for our family of four to enjoy. Beds were very comfortable with new linens. Downstairs was a bathroom with standup shower and upstairs a full bath with a large bathtub. Water pressure was great and we never lacked hot water.
This country farmhouse is set in an open field situated on the hillside overlooking Union Hall. We never tired of the view across the estuary to Glandor Harbor and most windows of the house took advantage of it. The home is well kept and is exactly as advertised. It is ideally located to explore all the major attractions and nearby harbors of West Cork. Several local beaches and coves are located within walking distance of the house and the easy access to the N71 allowed us to be on our way and exploring Cork County. Union Hall has several pubs (Casey’s and Dinty’s) , a small grocery store (Fuller Centra) and seafood market (GlenMar). 15 minutes up the road is the Village of Skibereen with a large supermarket (Fields) and all the services you could possibly need.

The owners were very helpful and efficient and answered all of my questions in a timely manner. We definitely would stay here again..

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian O
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After a truly hectic year we needed a break. We wanted to find somewhere that ticked a few boxes. Isolation but close to a pub and ideally on the coast. After searching for a while we decided on west Cork and then Union Hall. We selected the west Cork fishing village as it is ideally located half way between Clonakilty and Skibbereen. The turn to the house is easily missed as it could be mistaken for a path as opposed to a road. When we reached the house we were delighted to find that as previous posters have said the pictures do not do it justice. Although the house was cold when we entered I felt a great sense of warmth. Putting the heating on and getting a fire going quickly warmed the house. The initial impression is that this is not only a well lived in holiday home, it is a loved holiday home. There is an extensive library of books, a large number of DVDs and great selection of games. The rooms are large and the beds and duvets are so comfy and cozy. The children's room off one of the doubles is the perfect size and filled with interesting children's books. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with every utensil you can think of. There are cozy chairs and comfy couches to lounge on. The owners of the house have clearly paid huge attention to the every detail. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neill Q
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful getaway”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Muddy Cottage is a very spacious and detached property in an idyllic location up a hill just out of the village. With the third kids' bedroom off one of the main bedrooms, it's particularly perfect for families with young kids, packed full of toys and generally very well equipped. This is not a soulless holiday let, but a lived-in and loved home. So a little bit cluttered and rough around the edges, but all the more atmospheric for it. Location makes for an ideal base to explore West Cork, halfway between the city and the more extreme points of the beautiful west coast. Good value for money, although the add-on charges (for cleaning and linen) a little steep: would be much better to include them in the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review Neill. The cleaning and linens now included for 2015/2016 ! discount for 2 week bookings.
Also refreshed the quite a bit of paintwork in 2015, kitchen cupboard doors painted too :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like it says neither muddy nor a cottage....”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say - we were in County Cork last year, wanted to stay nearer the sea and came across Muddy Cottage here on Trip Advisor and thought that looks too good to be true. efficient and responsive booking procedure, easy to follow directions (although as has been said before look out carefully for the turn off in the village and the road was fairly narrow for my 4x4) and it turns out when we arrived that it was not in fact too good to be true. the photos do not do it justice. Ideal for 2 adults and up to 3 kids (we had 4 but our youngest is still in a cot) it has excellent facilities indoors and out (including wildlife in the garden ranging from pheasants to butterflies) - it is in fact clearly someone's holiday home rather than a permanent let with everything you could wish for (including more books than our local library and games aplenty). From our point of view ideally centrally located for all our favourite attractions form previous visits (families check out Cork Whale Watch literally just down the road, Clonakilty Model Railway village and the Choo Choo tour and beaches just 15 -20 minutes drive away, Rumleys Open Farm on the road into Cork just before the railway bridge, Fota Wildlife park on the far side of Cork but still within 90 minutes drive and in the other direction Mizen Head and on into Kerry Star of Kenmare cruise on Kenmare Bay all thoroughly enjoyed by our under 10s over the last couple of years). The weather was kind with only one damp morning which combined with Muddy Cottage and these attractions made for lots of happy memories....

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Peaceful retreat within easy walking distance of Union Hall”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed in Muddy Cottage for a week with spouse, two young teenagers and a fit grandmother. The house had character and was homely and comfortable. We all commented on how well we were sleeping (could have been the fresh air, though the beds were very comfortable). The kitchen was very well equipped and if you bring along teenagers, you will not miss the lack of a dishwasher!! The house is situated about a 10 min walk up/down a narrow country lane to Union Hall village; the walk back is fairly steep, though my mum (70s) managed it a few times. There is also plenty of space and privacy around the house for kids to run about.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;