We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and house, hidden costs and broken...”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley. Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley.
Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Lounge, with reclining sofas, leading to dining room, with plenty of board games for all ages.
The Gold Room, overlooking the lakes
Ruby room, with view of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson
The Emerald Room, overlooking the fields
Emerald bathroom, with corner bath, foot spa, wc, and two wash basins in front of a wall of mirrors
A little mermaid!
The Sapphire twin room, overlooking the lakes.
The Diamond Room, on the ground floor, overlooking the garden.
Rear hall, leading to the garden, sun terrace and pool. Plenty of books to choose from.
The sun terrace, the perfect place for a barbecue.
Private pool with superb views.
Another view of the pool.
View of the rear of Le Manoir.
Take a stroll around the grounds, and enjoy the views.
Hot Air Balloon trip over Le Manoir.  Enjoy the splendid views.
View of Le Manoir from Lake One.
View of Le Manoir from the third lake
View of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson in the early morning mist.
Annual Fete Cantonale (4th Sunday in July) at local town, Villefranche de Lonchat
Canoeing at the Lac de Gurson with its sandy beach, swimming lake and adventure playground.
Market day in St Foy, next to the Dordogne.
Swap the boardroom for 98 acres of peace and quiet at Le Manoir de Gurson.  Perfect!
Outdoor dining at sunset, a wonderful experience.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Villefranche-de-Lonchat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Casson03
2 reviews
“Great location and house, hidden costs and broken loos though!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The chateau is very large and homely with all the amenities you need. The bedrooms are large and airy. The location was perfect in the summer due to the many night markets and festivals in this peaceful place. However, we were asked to pay more half way through the visit as the quote was wrong, and we were given an extra tax of €98 at 7am as we were leaving which was not on the breakdown of costs. My en suite toilet was also broken. These factors put a damper on an otherwise wonderful holiday in such a great house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you had a great time here, but are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the toilet. We do our best to make sure that everything is in good working order, and endeavour to put things right when necessary, but need to be informed as soon as any problem arises so that it can be addressed.
We were obliged to ask for the extra cost for your holiday, as the original booking through Holiday Lettings was for two people, and there were nine in your group, which makes a difference. Holiday Lettings continued with the reservation for two people, not nine (which, unfortunately, was not clear during the booking process), so you actually saved money, as we asked for a nominal sum instead of the official amount.
The Taxe de Séjours (Tourist Tax) is applied to every adult over 18 and is obligatory under French Law, payable at the end of the stay, which is why you were asked for this on the day you left. Holiday home owners pass this on to their Local Community Office at the end of the season.
You were very nice guests, and we would be happy to welcome you back to Le Manoir de Gurson for another wonderful holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgetjn
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“FABULOUS HOUSE & CHARMING OWNER”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The title description of this house couldn't have put it better - it is paradise and perfect! The house itself is stunning and the location does provide a get-away-from -it -all vacation whilst still being only a short drive from local villages. The local knowledge provided by the owner meant that we were immediately able to make the most of the area. We particularly enjoyed a local food festival and the wine tour at Chateau La Plante. Charmaine was on site but very discreet yet always on hand for advice and suggestions. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to be in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillmorri...
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Perfect holiday rental : beautiful house with breath-taking views”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Manoir de Gurson immensely. The house is stunning and set in the most breath-taking location. The children were sold on the long drive up to the entrance! ...but the views from the pool surpassed even that! We passed many a happy evening admiring the sunset across the valley from the terrace.
Charmaine is the perfect host! On hand to give advice and help out when needed but very mindful of her renters privacy. She gave us some excellent tips for trips out - highlights being the market at Le Puce and wine-tasting at Chateau la Plante- not to be missed!
I would highly recommend holidaying here. The house is beautifully furnished with huge amounts of space for everyone; the location is ideal - sufficiently rural to be peaceful but within striking distance of lots of amenities; and the views are spectacular. Definitely 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rural setting
Liked least: wasps, flies and mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$352
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing