We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
118
164
65
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
164
65
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view in town salmon hill overlooking grass roof lovely hotel rooms are large breakfast buffet hotel is located super breakfast roast lamb room was clean and comfortable fried eggs horse riding early june reception area stayed nights at hotel
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel trades on its good original design, with large rooms overlooking the small capital of Tórshavn. What they don’t say is that due to the high demand from tour groups if you travel as a couple you run the risk of being bumped into their new annex, which not only is a separate building across the car park which has much smaller rooms and to our disappointment even with a lot of these being on the backside with no view at all and that are therefore very dark little boxes. We found the reception service to be under staffed and arrogant, as they know they are the only 4 star hotel here. If you drive in along the scenic road into the town you pass right by the hotel, as it was lunchtime when we arrived we thought we’d ask if our room was ready, most hotels especially those with 100 plus rooms have a number ready early so it’s usually worth asking but here we were rudely told off for asking before the allotted 2pm start of check-in. When we came back later to check-in we then had to wait for a coach to be checked-in first by the one member of reception staff. After telling us they had absolutely no other rooms for our two nights when we complained about the room, we then rang the agents that unusually we had booked through, they instantly got a resolution. As the hotel did then have a room in the main building with the views, it was on the ground floor and very tired, dirty grout in the bathroom. It was also right by the footpath to town and the smokers outdoor corner, so not ideal for privacy but far better than the back side of the new annex and obviously being in current use as a family room as it had an extra sofa bed. Maybe we were just unlucky but at check out the next morning we were waiting behind someone else who had a similar issue and was being changed between rooms, checking out of one and then being told to check back in later that afternoon to another, so it is obviously an issue from a poor decision on their annex design. That said on a clear dry day the views to town do make this a good location, even though we noticed a lot of people use taxis, especially back up the long hill. The breakfast was very busy but well staffed. So a very poor experience for a 4star hotel but not a terrible stay in the end.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank purplemyrtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRasmussen, Director of Sales at Hotel Foroyar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Guest
Sorry to hear that you did not find the new annex rooms as comfortable as most guests do - these rooms have in comparison to our other standard rooms a full balcony door - letting more light in than a standard window.
Yes, half of the rooms have a mountain view and the other half has sea view - I myself think that both views are very piecefull and refreshing.
If you were to book online you would have to choose this room in the annex in order to get it. And if you booked via a travel agent the agent woud surely have been told in the confirmation that the reservation was for a room in the annex.
So if not adviced about this prior to your arrival I do fully understand that you were disappointed if you were not prepared to walk the 100m to the annex.
Sizes of rooms in the annex are 20m2 and the rooms in the main building are 26m2. Standard sizes according to Horesta-classification for a 4 star hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We love this place - the view from the top of the hill, the proximity to the main town with a lovely walk down the hill, the modern rooms, the bath, the trendy foyer, the friendly staff, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in May 2018 myself while travelling with work. The hotel is situated high up on a hill overlooking Torshavn, which means it is fairly picturesque. I was given a room in the Annex to the hotel (an outbuilding across the car park). The room itself was good, fairly small but good shower. Room had a safe, an iron, hairdryer and coffee making stuff. Couldn’t get th tv working but can’t fault the hotel for that as I didn’t mention it to them and wasn’t overly fussed. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast has a variety of hot and cold foods.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank RyanM240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Large and convenient location on the moorland above Torshavn. Easy 15min walk into the centre of the capital. A very pleasant walk along sign posted routes. Handy free map at reception. Room was spacious and comfortable, all with amazing views. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection. The evening buffet at restaurant Gras inside the hotel was rather overpriced, but food was good. There was a party held inside the hotel on one of the nights during our stay, which was very loud and rather inappropriate with people trying to sleep. Not sure how that was allowed to happen. Overall, the staff were friendly, and we found the accommodation very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Perihelion24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We got 'bumped' here as the hotel in town lost our reservation - they were very nice about this and it wasn't a hassle at all. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from the centre of town, but not far. We got a free meal at one of the amazing buffet dinners - it would be hard to describe how good the food was in the space available here, but anyone familiar with Faroese fare would know what I mean. The view from the room was lovely and the turf roof design made for a really nice feel in a modern building. The room, comfort level and everything else were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews