We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
118
164
66
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
164
66
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view in town salmon hill overlooking grass roof lovely hotel rooms are large breakfast buffet hotel is located super breakfast roast lamb room was clean and comfortable fried eggs horse riding early june reception area stayed nights at hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel Føroyar sits on top of a hill overlooking Torshavn, with all rooms having fantastic views of the city. (We didn't see any rooms that were facing the wrong way) The view is worth 5 stars alone. Otherwise the hotel is clean comfortable and modern. It may be expensive, but for the Faroes it's reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good, with a wide selection available

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

The hotel is average but the settings is cool as it has magnificient views. We ate the seafood buffet at the hotel and I have never before and never again after this visit experienced a scallop salad where you serve yourself scallops with a large ladle :) We stayed here 4 nights and had it as the starting point for different day excursions with car and boat. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upgradeisachoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Beautifully situated, Hotel Hotel Føroyar was an absolute highlight of my solo trip to the Faroe Islands. The views are gorgeous and the room was bright and clean, with excellent amenities and cosy bathroom. The windows were the main feature and really show off the bliss scenes from the hillside.

Staff were friendly and incredibly helpful. The restaurant is highly recommended as well, and I don't often eat in hotel restaurants, but I'd head here again (as I'll definitely be back). Same for breakfast - I very nearly overindulged each morning because there was so much to offer. Views here are spectacular as well.

The grounds are a delight to take in the landscapes, especially in the snow. I was on foot the whole time and did not drive - when I first got here I thought it'd be a bit of a task (and working it out is) but the descent into town is an enjoyable one if you don't mind having a waltz down the hillside - wear comfortable shoes.

Room Tip: Can be a long walk into town if you're not a walker.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyrelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

PLaced in the hills some kilometers north of the city of Torshavn, this hotel boasts one of the most spectacular views one could dream of. All rooms have views over the city and the fjord and islands outside Torshavn, and the breakfast room has the most spectacular view one I have ever experienced. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are newly renovated, the beds are very good. Still, there is a smell of wetness and mushrooms over much of the corridors and entrance area, indicating that we are in a very humid climate and that the building is not exactly new. However, I would gladly recommend this hotel to anoyone going to Torshavn, just for the views.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dag I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Whole hotel has a musty and dark feel to it. Rooms and dining area in particular should be updated. Staff at front desk is neither welcoming nor friendly. Wifi in hotel is particularly weak as well. Overpriced for what you are getting.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CANUKUSATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews