We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spacious comfortable well equipped baroque...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious and Airy Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort Island Hob to Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort
Island Hob to Living area
Double Bedroom
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Modern designer kitchen
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Dining to Living area
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
Kitchen to Living area
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Entrance to the block
Modern interior with a Majestic Entrance
Entering the Apartment
Dining area
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Bathroom
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
From Bedrooms to Living area
Spacious and Airy
Old Mint Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Simon1250
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spacious comfortable well equipped baroque experience”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks of Jan in apart 2 at 21 Old Mint St. All kitchen, bathrooms and bedroom facilities were high quality and fully maintained. Beds were comfortable, towels, linen and the weekly cleaning provision was excellent. We needed to use gas heating to counteract Malta humidity in Jan/Feb. and the apts. also had full air conditioning in all rooms We also spent two weeks in apart. 3 which is the penthouse in Feb., though slightly smaller, this really made our stay special with harbour views from the dining table, copious sunlight and a complete panorama from the roof terrace with sun loungers. The sitting room balcony was a sheltered evening suntrap with comfortable outside dining and bar-b-q. All equipment/fittings/furniture were again highly specified. Sitting rooms were both practical with a relaxing and tasteful décor.. Both Old mint apartments are accessed by lift and the house's original stone staircase. They came with top quality contacts from owner Claire for local produce:- very good fish and meat at Azzopardis and Johnny's butcher in the market off Merchant St . Albion Stores is a must visit too for dry goods herbs and spices and we had excellent fresh fruit / veg. and local goats cheese from Zacchery St. Old Mint St. is three mins. max from Republic St. if you tire of walking, the city electric taxi service is low cost and negotiates hills and cobbles with ease. The Penthouse apart. would be our preferred choice for a return visit. We enjoyed numerous coffees, meals and drinks at Cordina, Aaron's, Guze and evenings at the Phoenicia. There were also many lunchtime and evening concert opportunities together with Malta heritage open day on the first Sunday in Feb. not to mention the agust choir and nine priests concelebrating high mass on Sunday mornings at St Johns Cathedral, worth getting up for! Whilst Valletta is a densely populated city no one visit is is ever sufficient to explore its ancient cultural heritage. There is always something to put on the list for a return visit as well as the numerous sites around the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Retention of 1667 origins, ambience/decor and top quality aparts.conversion
Liked least: Mixed Jan weather/humidity unrelated to the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter r
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great apartment,location and space.”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Had a week in this apartment in November really comfy,two bathrooms were handy one each for wife and I. Rest of our family members had apartment one but both apartments were in great order,loads of room and very comfortable.
Good location for the walk to the harbour ferry or the shopping area,only downside is the location is at base of slopes,so you will need to be fit to get up these Valletta slopes.
Plenty of local shops and a bakers next door for fresh bread every day and although we didn't try them, the pizzas made there looked really tasty also a great restaurant Guze just up the road is worth a visit but you need to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of apartment
Liked least: the walk up to the town area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M
Rockland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Valletta”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property is exactly as pictured on the website. The building itself is dated 1667 with very modern apartments (Old Mint 1, 2 and Penthouse). The owner, Claire, has done a tremendous job in finding a perfect balance between the heritage of the building while modernizing the individual apartments.

Would strongly recommend making use of the airport pickup for 21 Euros. It is so convenient and well worth it. We were met by Nicolina and she drove us to the apartment. She also showed us the apartment and went over all the necessary information to ensure we were familiar with the amenities. We were provided written receipts along with emergency contact numbers during our stay. These are details that added to our level of comfort.

The apartment is located close to many tourist attractions in Valletta. It is absolutely splendid. It is well-appointed and has all the necessary comforts for your stay. Its location in Valletta is ideal. You are within a few blocks from Republic Street which will certainly be a main point of your visit. It is only a few minutes walk to the ferry (to take you (across the bay to Sliema).

Be sure to visit Sharon who owns a convenience store just a block away from the apartment (corner of St-Lucia and Old Bakery St).

We highly recommend this apartment for your stay in Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern apartment. Excellent location
Liked least: Unfortunately there are only 4 English TV channels. Would recommend adding more channels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rustic, characteristic, yet very much modern”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I tried to book Old Mint 1 for our honeymoon, but since we left it to the last moment, it was already booked. The owner kindly suggested Old Mint 2 which was still free. He told us everything about the property, he answered several emails regarding our concerns, he was kind and extremely helpful. He was also very flexible in terms of our availability and terms, also was kind enough to keep us updated in terms of the payment, and checked in to see if we were happy while we were staying there. Everyone in Old Mint 2 was nice and a pleasure to talk to, from the receptionist to the lady who sorted our check-in and airport transfer. They were always happy to suggest sights, restaurants, means of transportation, anything we could think of. Malta is a charming little island, we had an amazing time there, but Old Mint 2 definitely made it a comfortable stay. The apartment is just like on the pictures, no cheating there, it is very clean and very modern, all the appliances and furniture is modern, anything you'd want from an actual apartment is there. It didn't feel like one of those typical holiday apartments where everything is old and is just there to make some tiny effort towards the guests, this apartment would be suitable to live in, not just renting for your holiday. They have found such a nice balance between the very old characteristics of the Maltese architecture, and modern appliances, it amazed us. It was perfect, we can only recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is very modern and clean, yet they kept the rustic characteristics of Malta's architecture.
Liked least: It did not have a sea view from our apartment, but they did not advertise otherwise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabie_azz
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Old Mint”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the lovely apartment with my partner and another couple. It is situated in a great location right in the heart of Valletta, surrounded by some of the most historic sites on the island. It is ideally located and only a few minutes walk from some excellent restaurants and bars. The bus terminus is a short 5 mins walk and will take you to all parts of the island.

The apartment itself is spectacular, finished to a very high standard with beautiful modern furniture and soft furnishings. It is bright, spacious and airy, the kitchen was fully loaded with all appliances and cooking equipment. Having stayed for 2 weeks, this was ideal as we occasionally cooked for ourselves. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were both very spacious. The bed was comfy and allowed a good nights sleep. Having two bathrooms was very comfortable.

The handover was very smooth. We met Claire, the owner, who was was very friendly and helped with all or queries. A wonderful stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful apartment situated in a great location, lift access was very useful.
Liked least: Nothing to fault
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing