We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Balcony It is all about Lifestyle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Balcony
It is all about Lifestyle
Sunset
Kitchen and Eating
Bedroom
Balcony View
The Side balcony Architectural view
Street level view of where you want to be...
Living area
Bathroom
Eating with a view
Enjoy the Sunny side of Valletta
Sunset Balcony View
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Your chance to be here
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RobAbraha...
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 12th - 19th January which coincided with the Valletta Baroque Music Festival which we had booked some concerts for in advance.
Weather was great - warm 15-17 degrees I would guess and sunshine most of the 7 days.
In January the balcony only gets about 30 mins of sunshine per day (about 4-4.30pm) but that doesn't in any way detract from the amazing panoramic view.
Apartment is very good - agree with another reviewer that a couple of more hooks in bathroom would be helpful.
Kitchen equipment was fine - possibly a larger cafetiere if more than 2 staying.
The guest book of recommended cafes etc is very useful - but sometimes it's good to just drop into a place on chance to see what it's like. Having said that we enjoyed meals at Trabuxu Bistro and Cordial.
Alexander was very helpful on our arrival emphasising we could contact him any time - but the need never arose.
Recommend a visit to the War Rooms - a very interesting account of the actions and importance of Malta in WW2. (The War Museum was closed for renovation).
Also recommend visit to the Theatre Manuel just up the steps on the left - a really unique intimate and magnificent theatre. It also goes without saying that churches in Valletta are breathtakingly beautiful. St John's Co-Cathedral is particularly so and has Caravaggio's "The Beheading of John the Baptist" in the Oratory - definitely worth seeing (apparently his largest canvas).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folly1942
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location, location, location - what a view”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment 4 x nights from 29 September 2014 and we should have stayed longer but our travel arrangements did not permit.
The apartment is as described with a "million dollar" view and we well and truly utilized the wrap around balcony. The apartment is quiet, centrally located with an easy 7 -10 minute walk, some stairs initially, to the main city square.
We found the apartment very comfortable with all the modern amenities one would want. Alexander was very prompt, pleasant and courteous to deal with as we finalised the arrangements.
We would most certainly stay again as this apartment contributed greatly to our wonderful stay to Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: The stairway is narrow with 30 steps(no lift), would not recommended only for this reason if you have a disability or bad knees.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleaseure having you stay at the apartment. Until next time....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down, N Ireland
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space in the apartment and the view
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thanks for the support, we'll be putting in those hooks asap!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
temeraire...
DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
8
people found this review helpful

That applies to both Valletta and the Apartment at Old Theatre Lane. The views are as described by others -- simply outstanding. And, if your plan is to make Valletta your Malta base (which I recommend), the location is also very convenient -- if you don't mind a little walking (See below).

First, Alexander B. has done a wonderful job taking a 100+ year old flat and making it into a modern & convenient "self-catering" home. The main room has 180 degree views and you will spend time at the table, on the couch, and on the balcony watching people and boats go by. It's also a great sunset viewing platform, and there's even a long-range view of the old Mdina Citadel-Capital from the balconies. The bedroom is also more than adequate for two. We were there during typical early Malta September weather -- hot with the occasional humid day, but with all the windows you can open up the apartment for great sea breezes. A/C is there if you want it, and we usually turned it on at night so that we could close the windows and keep out the street noise.

I have two caveats that are important for setting expectations. (1) I found the location convenient -- ferry to Siliema is 5 minutes away, the main Valletta bus terminal is a 15 minute walk, many restaurants are within 4-6 blocks, and main tourist sites are 4-12 blocks away. There are shops nearby for daily needs. However you have to be willing to walk, and walk steps. There are fifty stone steps up old Theatre Lane and it seemed like we walked them three times a day. There are also about 30 steps up to the apartment via a spiral staircase. Nonetheless, the carriages are just below the apartment, airport taxi's were no problem, and Valletta is a city you have to walk to see.

Second, is that you have to prepare to "self-cater" - linens come with the apartment, but there's no maid service or daily fresh towels. Alexander very helpfully leaves tea, juice, bread, butter, wine and cookies for his guests, but if you want to do more eating in, you have to learn to navigate Malta's sometimes confusing retail system. It's nothing that's not doable, and to us learning how the Maltese live was an important part of our first-time Malta experience.

Finally, because I went to Malta for the history and architecture, I applaud Alexander for an excellent collection of reading material and photographic books. There's even the Alex Guinness DVD on Malta (shot at the Lascaris War Rooms), but be forewarned it does not have a happy ending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning little residence!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We love Malta and we love Valletta, so this little gem was ideal for our 3rd visit to our favourite tiny Island in the Med.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Alexander, who had ready for us a little hamper of wine, milk and bread.
As soon as you enter the spacious living room, you are struck with the beauty of the view and the beautiful balcony in which you WILL spend most of your time on.
The centre of a Valletta is only a short walk away, as is the bus station, which makes this a perfect base for your stay in Malta. The restaurants in the local area are all of a high standard and so you are spoilt for choice. ( the locally caught fish/sea food is a must!)
If you get the chance to rent this apartement, then I highly recommend that you do. It is great! Malta is great! Valletta is great! A visit is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing