We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant location, not a luxury apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Sliema front view from apartment roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sliema front view from apartment roof terrace
Jacuzzi Spa in soft blue coloured lighting Snooker Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Sliema front view from apartment roof terrace
Jacuzzi Spa in soft blue coloured lighting
Snooker Table
1.75m Jacuzzi spa
Dining Table with Snooker Table, Bar, and Bedrooms in background
Dining Area With Lounge In Background
Kitchen Living Area
Sliema creek view from apartment roof terrace
TV, kitchen and snooker table
.... never a dull moment, Gold helps your imagination run wild
From Kitchen overlooking Pool Table and entrance to Main and Spare Bedroom Doors - bathroom left
Kitchen as seen from Snooker Area, Rotating TV, Spare Bathroom on right
Lounge Area & Jacuzzi Spa Alcove
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom as seen from walk-in closet area
Spare Bathroom
Walk in wardrobe before entering Ensuite in Main Bedroom
Sun-drenched Balcony, for breakfast and great seaviews (and beyond)
Main Bathroom Ensuite - Zebra Motif - Sink & Entrance
Ensuite Toilet, Washing Machine, Tumble Drier, Shower Entrance
Main Bedroom Ensuite Shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sliema, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Georgia62...
uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, not a luxury apartment”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Firstly I have read previous reviews for this apartment, from Ireland and England and unless the contributors have seriously bad grammar, I would hesitate to believe they were actually native English speakers. So this is an honest and truthful review from a UK resident. We booked this through Home Away. My friend had agreed for us to be met at airport and detailed instructions for where we should meet the driver were given. The driver was not at said place but was close by and we eventually saw the sign in the rear window with my friend's name. The car was not what we had expected and the boot was full of stuff, so only one middle-sized bag and one small bag could go there, the other placed on front seat. The inside of the car was also dirty. On arrival at apartment we were quickly given the tour and the electricity meter reading taken. This whole process felt rushed. The apartment was clean, but tired. "Leather" flaking off dining chairs. Neither of us felt we could sit on the sofas. The tv was at a rather precarious angle although it did swivel so it could be viewed from living area or kitchen/dining area. The view from the balcony was good (temporarily impaired by a rather large crane) and we enjoyed people watching on the street below. One of the patio chairs was broken and stuck together with duct tape, but when we told the owners of this both chairs were replaced the next day. The same could not be said of the door handle to the twin room, which on first touching fell off and as such the door could not be closed tightly and a bag had to be placed behind it at night to stop it swinging open. We told the owners of this but they failed to get a screwdriver and fix it in all 10 days we stayed there. There is a real need to replace the lock on the gate as it took both myself and and several other residents/employees who also "worked" in the residential building(it was Monsoon employees, nothing sinister) maybe 5 mins to find the sweet spot for the lock to click open. The towels were well used and only one tea-towel was provided for kitchen. There were no cleaning supplies so we had to buy bleach to clean the toilets. The heading on this says there are 3 bathrooms but there are only 2!!! The jacuzzi bath randomly placed in the living room is unnecessary and the money spent on this should've been spent on decent furniture and upkeep of the place. We were given 14 units of electricity per day in our booking and we went over by 40 units. We did not use the A/C in the living area, or the tumble dryer or the jacuzzi bath. We only had lights on at dining table and in bathrooms when being used, the washing machine twice and A/C in bedrooms while we slept so the owners need to assess the allocation of electricity included. The welcome folder was disgustingly filthy and totally out of date.The good points on this place are the location, which is just across the road from the hop on-hop off tourist buses, the Malta bus and the ferry to Valetta. There are also many cafes, restaurants and take-aways practically on the doorstep.Supermarket and other shopping are all within a 10 minute walk. The beds were really comfortable and there was decent WIFI. Sliema is, in my opinion, a great place to stay on Malta, being only a 10 minute ferry ride from Valetta and cruises to Comino and Gozo on doorstep.There is also a roped off swimming area. There was no noise late at night, the bedrooms being to the rear of apartment.To sum it up, would I stay again? Yes. Would I recommend it to a friend? Depends on their expectation. It is not luxury, but clean and basic with comfortable beds, in a great location.A little tip...buy a Tallinja card for €15 for 12 trips which can be shared for passengers. Also a trip includes the transfer through Valetta to final destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
It is with regret to have read a review which highlights our shortcomings, but sometimes the best laid plans can also go astray, but please allow me to answer the review in the order it was made.

We had offered free transport to these guests and although we had provided directions on where to meet, our small minibus decided to break down and so our son was quick to run the errand to collect the guests from the airport rather than leave them waiting on no one. We do not have a fixed parking space and so I see nothing wrong in not being at the designated place but just a few parking spaces away. Unfortunately our kind gesture to collect the guests from the airport backfired and so we have now decided NOT to offer this service any longer but to assign the same to more specialized transport at a charge.

We do take all comments from our guests seriously as it is our priority to ensure that these are comfortable and content with the service and the apartment provided. As indicated by the guests, a broken plastic chair (unbeknown to us) was quickly replace with a new one.

We were sorry to hear from the guests on their day of departure that they had some issues with the apartment, and so decided not to charge them for the extra electricity used. As the guests indicated, these were supplied with 14 kwph units per day and no one ever exceeds this amount unless you run the air conditioners without much care or regard. We wish to assure these guests, and other future guests, that most other apartments charge for every single electricity unit used.

The apartment is well described in the various websites and so it should have come as no surprise to our guests to find the jacuzzi in the specifically designed alcove next to the lounge area.

We have taken account of the guests comments and the apartment has been upgraded. As Gold is a very popular place, maintenance is carried out occasionally to ensure that standards are maintained, but sometimes having back-to-back guests can limit our ability to attend to certain issues which require a specialist's attention and not ours.

We wish to thank the guests for having stayed with us and also, despite their adverse comments on some issues, to state that the apartment was clean, having comfortable beds, quiet at night, also adding that they would stay here again, and for providing their experience with a 4-star rating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyReap...
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All you need.”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location of 'Gold Apt' is excellent. It's in the middle of everything you need. Nearby there are fast food 'take aways" and hight class restaurants. The supermarket is minutes away and there are some late night grocery shops just up the street. For shoppers there are many big name stores within walking range.
Busses to and from everywhere inc. airport are available just across the street. And the ferry to Valetta is n the prom also just across the street. The Apt. is well appointed (large TV, DVD player, washer/dryer and AC) and has an elevator to help when you dined well and don't feel like taking the stairs. The proprietors are easily available to solve any problem you may have. I actually can't think of any adverse comment to make about Gold Apt except that the couch is hard and could use a bit of extra padding. Highly recommended, and we hope to stay there again if possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John N
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment and Location”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Once again we spent our Christmas and New Year in Malta nd this time in the Gold Apartment. As in previous years the owners, Paul and Josanne, made sure we had a great stay as we have stayed previously in two of their other apartments and they welcomed us back.

The apartment has evrthing needed for a great stay whether short or long and in our case almost three weeks. Central to all amenities in Sliema and central for all transport options around the island; bus stops, and ferry to Valletta. there is even a large supermarket within easy walking distance and plenty of good restaurants.

Although located centrally in Sliema and close to restaurants etc., we found no problem with any disturbance or noise and a quiet night in could be had with adequate facilities in the apartment for self catering.

Once again thanks to Paul and Josanne for an excellent stay and an excellent apartment, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent big apartment with central location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloudy036
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Malta”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a week at Gold. It has an excellent location, ideal for eating out,buses, boats and for shopping. The communication before we arrived was excellent with Paul and when we arrived we were made so welcome. We were given milk, bread, cheese ham and wine to get us started. The taxi was waiting as promised at the airport.
The apartment is large and was clean. Full equipped with everything that was needed, we didn't eat in, so didn't use the facilities.
If I'm honest I wouldn't say it was luxury. The towels were were well used, the jacuzzi switches didn't work so it had to be switched off at the wall, there was lamp shades missing, the grouting tin the shower was grubby. The pool table had a rip in the material.
We had the smaller room and tried to put the beds together, but we couldn't open the door fully so just put the beds back. The chairs around the dinning table we're he material had been picket at and looked tired.
When we arrived the sink in the bath room would not drain, but when we contacted Paul it was dealt with on the day. We had issues with the keys and again Paul got copies, only they didn't work, but again Paul did replace them.
I understand being on an island that replacing things must be difficult and takes time to get things sorted.
Malta was lovely, the local bus service is excellent for exploring the island, we got a weekly ticket.
I would recommend the flat, but would change the wording on luxury.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
We wish to thank these guests for having stayed with us and also for acknowledging Gold?s prime location, not only for commuting but also for eating out, entertaining, and shopping. We always make it a point to treat our guests with the highest regard to make sure that they feel that they are in a home away from home. as the guests rightly noted, we also collected them on their arrival from the airport, and then to find a complimentary food pack waiting for them. As is customary with all our arrivals, we provide them with a quick tour of the apartment and how everything works. During this time, we did inform the guests that one of our previous guests had broken a shade on a lamp and also minimally damaged the snooker table. As we, and neither shops, keep replacements of such items, these have to be ordered and booked and until the time of the guests' arrival, these were still pending, but are due to be replaced in the shortest time possible, on arrival in Malta. The guests also made a request for another set of keys, and acted on this almost instantly by supplying them with another two sets as one of these (just cut at the ironmonger) seemed to be faulty.

The guests also note that communication was excellent, and the fact that we attended to their requests for extra keys and sink drain problem with promptness further ascertains our high regard towards all our guests. Had we been informed, both before or even during these guests' stay that they had wished to put the 2 single beds together, we would have done it for them, in a different way than they attempted to, thus allowing them more freedom and easy door access. Unless we are informed about guests' sleeping preferences, we make it a point not to ask, as a similar case in the past caused embarrassment. We regret to disagree with the guests' remark that the jacuzzi buttons do not work. The buttons are depressed in their sockets specifically to avoid children playing with these, and so we always point out to our guests that the jacuzzi can also be switched on from another location. The jacuzzi has been used by other guests both before and after these guests? stay, and we assure you that this works fine. We did notice a small tear in one of the legs of the chairs, but you can hardly call these tired; I can also assure these guests and all future guests that we have a strict laundry policy to replace any sheets or towels which are not appropriate; again, had we been informed that these guests had issues with the towels, we would have certainly looked into the matter.

Despite the 'ailment's mentioned by these guests, they also conclude that they would not hesitate in recommending this apartment to others. We are probably one of the very few property owners who also provide our guests with free transport on arrival, free water and electricity, wifi, cable TV, and generous complimentary food pack. In its entirety, we believe we provide an excellent deal to all our numerous guests for what is a very popular and entertaining apartment. It is not just the comfort that Gold offers it which renders it as being luxurious, but also the layout of the apartment, with a Jacuzzi in its own romantic alcove, a snooker table to keep the young and the young-at-heart entertained at all times, and a TV which rotates 180� and thus allows viewing from any part of the apartment ? these, and the service we provide are just a few of the things which make Gold stand out from the crowd, and also resulting in having been presented with a certificate of excellence by TripAdvisor.
Although short-let rentals is not the easiest job in the world, but probably one of the most demanding, we will continue to greet our guests with the same passion, determination and dedication as we have always done.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George359
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Flat, Great Location - Exactly as Described”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this flat very early in the year and my weekly dose of sunshine was to look at the photos. When we got there I felt that I was coming home. It is exactly as advertised as opposed to photos taken from the best perspective. The location could not be better especially if you have had a long day out and just want to eat and go. Lots of cafés, restaurants, burger bars, pasta and pizza places within 2 minutes walk. I could easily live in. "Gold" and was already planning where I could put my own stuff. Liked most the little dressing room off the main bedroom. The owners are lovely and very intuitive. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It is always our pleasure to greet our guests in the best way possible, and glad to know that Gold lived up to expectations and perhaps always proved to be a part of a successful holiday/visit to Malta for you. It will certainly be our honour to meet you once again.
Warm regards
Paul & Josanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing