We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 120)
Filter reviews
1 120 results
Traveller rating
191
392
319
140
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
392
319
140
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front rooftop pool lobby bar the bus either direction welcome drink bit dated small balcony breakfast and dinner buffet style location was perfect sliema harbour spent a week bed and breakfast local buses cleaning staff evelyn
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 1 120 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Diplomat and do not have any real complaints except for the 'fridge'. The first impressions of our room were okay, not great, quite small bot clean and tidy and adequate. The TV was tiny but that didn't bother us as we never used it. However when we opened the 'fridge' it was empty and had no shelves. It was also not very cold. I phoned to reception and was told that it is not a 'fridge' just a drinks cooler and we could order a drinks package. How we could have without any shelves I'm not sure. We coped for the week just putting bottles of water in it . We did try a bottle of rose wine but it was not nice as it wasn't cold enough. I wouldn't say it was even cold enough for any drinks. Other than that the maid service was very good and the staff were quite friendly. The balcony was not a balcony it was a tiny outside space too small to sit in. There was a nice bar downstairs with a terrace serving drinks and snacks,that was nice.it was a smoking area for those that wanted it.
The rooftop pool was again okay. Big enough to have a decent swim, however when we were there it was so hot and sunny but only one umbrella . Enough sun beds but no shade. So it n
Meant swimming then going down one flight of stairs to find shade. However the pool bar was there and served drinks and very nice food.
The breakfast was very good but the evening meals left a lot to be desired. If we were to go again(and we might) we would go B&B only. There are plenty of reasonable places to eat nearby.
The location is very good with plenty of buses running past the hotel to all over the island, including the open top hop on off buses. The best part was the sea opposite, just cross the road. Although it is rocks, there are carved out of the rock, individual pools , like mini swimming pools that hold about 4 people, leading into the sea. They are all
along the front and a great idea.
All in all not a bad hotel. Just the mini bar fridge and the evening food let it down.
Wouldn't take a lot to bring it up to 4 star.

Room Tip: High floor avoid noise,side sea view not great, if wanted view go front.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sangerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Being returning visitors to Malta, we selected Sliema as our preferred place to stay and this hotel seemed a good choice for location, facilities and value. Our check in was quick with a friendly welcome and we had a room on the 5th floor with sea view.
The room was comfortable and had all expected facilities but overall seemed a bit dated. The breakfasts are served buffet style with a good choice of hot and cold foods, all of good quality. The hotel offers a café bar on the ground floor and a "pub" which staged entertainment in the evenings. The pub is however rather small and more like a small bar with lounge. We used the main restaurant for one evening meal, again buffet style and whilst it was adequate it wasn't outstanding. The roof top pool and terrace like other areas of the hotel was not very big and in full season with a full hotel it might prove difficult to secure space to sit etc. All the staff were quite friendly and helpful we might consider staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms best but hotel faces beach with busy road, so noisy on occasions.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

stayed here for 7 days, room and some areas a little bit tired, but perfectly adequate, rooms cleaned and towels and tea tray replenished each day. small side balcony, too small really to sit on but nice to stand and watch the world. Beds very good and for once didn't have a back ache on waking. Food plentiful, nothing special but had at least 2 vegetarian options each day. Serving staff (particularly Eve) worked their socks off and still managed to be polite and cheerful. Barman in the Pub area could do with a personality transplant, but Louis in the front bar very pleasant and helpful with local history and places to visit. Pub area had a free juke box and live music entertainment on two nights both enjoyable. Just a few steps across the road to a lovely promenade walk to finish a pleasant evening (despite the intense heat) and buses stop really close by. Didn't use the pool, and there was some complaints about having to leave a deposit for large towels, but it looked lovely and clean. Enjoyed our stay and would use again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegetariannanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The hotel was everything I could have asked for - clean, the reception and catering staff were very polite, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast had a wide variety of choice for veggies (we stayed B&B). The rooms were always well cleaned and the cleaning staff were equally as polite and helpful. The pool is very small, but it does say that in the blurb. The air conditioning worked very well and the hotel is ideally positioned for walking to all the local areas or popping out locally. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stopped at the Diplomat hotel, for a week in Aug 2015. the location is on the main road across from the sea and Sliema coastline. Which has its obvious advantages in that you are central to everything in Sliema and just 10 minutes walk from St Julian's. There is some noise from late night revellers but in general its ok. Hotel has excellent, free wifi bar, roof top pool and sun beds, drinks and bar food at the pool too. Rooms are good, tea coffee as well. The big bonus for us though was the breakfasts which was excellent 5 star which some 28 choices that I counted! Staff are very helpful and friendly. The building itself may have seen better days but is still an excellent one. NB bus stops100M from hotel an excellent bus services that serve all the island and cheap too

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews