We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mdina, Rabat & Mtarfa Tourist Sightseeing Train Tour
Save
Review Highlights
Thanks and Well done.

Today some of our clients from the Mtarfa Training Centre for people with disabilities had a... read more

Reviewed 15 November 2018
Ken X
via mobile
Tourist trail

We visited this with a guide and found it very interesting and were able to buy some very nice... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
francis1952
,
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 191 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rabat
from US$68,27
More Info
from US$62,48
More Info
from US$69,43
More Info
from US$68,27
More Info
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
117
53
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
53
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train takes great trip lovely train ride your bearings excellent value vince driver commentary euros journey carriage malta walls
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This train ride takes you through Rabat, Mtarfa and Mdina showing you interesting historical places and also views. A commentary is done throughout the trip in various languages. It is a good family ride, children will definitely love it. It is also a seasonal ride since during the Christmas season it is decorated for the occasion.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank d0ris236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Love this little train. Best way to find out about rabbat and the local history good fun for adults as well as kids.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank LeoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We took a Taxi to Medina and Rabat with about 4 hours to see the sights. Medina's old city is a photographers dream but also with plenty of museums, churches and attractions. We bought a discounted ticket that gives access to the natural history museum, Roman Villa, St Paul's catacombs and the excellent touring train. The touring train journey around the streets of Rabat and district lasts a half hour and has accompanying dialogue about the history and many attractions. Our driver Vince, was knowledgeable, careful, very helpful and engaging.
The Roman Villa was interesting with details of the archeological dig and well displayed finds. The natural history museum has a large number of well displayed taxidermy although the age of some displays meant that the colours weren't as vibrant as we might like.
Near the gate of Medina is the dungeons with a range of historical torture and killing methods and equipment on display. It is a reminder of man's inhumanity to his fellow man and the atrocities commit in the name of religion. Nevertheless it also offers a valid perspective of the islands history.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AlexC157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We spent 16 amazing days in Malta with Rabat being our home base, which suited us perfectly as we prefer the quietness of the smaller towns. Although small it was filled with so much history and so many stories. There was an endless number of places to see with the fortified town of Mdina a stones throw away. Mdina is a must see with its quaint little streets filled with amazing stories.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This train gives a good overview of the area but I would rather have spent the time seeing more important places. The train is pretty uncomfortable.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank MusicalArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews