We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely Kalkara
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely Kalkara
View from the roof.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Lovely Kalkara
View from the roof.
Rooftop
The silent city.
Bedroom 1
Hall
Lounge.
Rooftop pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
moot
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1 277 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Helpful owner but some issues”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I'll do my honest review in two parts as there are some great things about the apartment but also some not so great.
Good points: From first enquiry Bill the owner was friendly and helpful and quick to respond. He really could not do enough to help and picked us up at the water taxi stop in Birgu. He also offered to take us back to the airport on the Sunday via Marksalox for a quick detour to the harbour market (but in the end he was invited away for the weekend so this didn't happen and we made our own way to the airport).
The apartment is located a few minutes' walk from the centre of both Kalkara and Birgu. Bill showed us round the flat, then he took us up to the rooftop pool and terrace which has stunning views and pointed out some restaurant recommendations. The kitchen and dining area is spacious and the separate entrance area has a large settee and TV, though we never turned it on so have no idea which channels are available. The double bedroom we used and the bathroom are of average size. Plenty of spare loo roll. Great water pressure for the shower (but see below!)
Wifi is good, especially in the hall/tv area of the apartment and we were told to help ourselves to anything in the fridge and cupboards which was very generous. There was fresh milk and water as well as a selection of tea bags from Tetley's to herbal and green tea. We used the coffee and breakfast things, otherwise we tended to eat out.
Great value for money.

Negative points: this is never pointed out but the apartment is actually the host's main living accommodation and he moves out when the apartment is booked. (Two or three of the rooms were locked which is fine, but why doesn't Bill use these rooms for storage of his personal clothes etc which were left in the wardrobe and drawers of the room we were allocated, or even have one nice room purely for paying guests?)
The bed was pretty uncomfortable (but the sheets smelt nice and clean) and needs a mattress that doesn't make you roll into the middle!
You can hear the other residents in the apartment block above and below.
There was nowhere in the bathroom to put our washbags except on the floor which was grubby and dusty.
The bathroom was particularly grubby and the floor obviously hadn't been mopped in a while, nor the sink cleaned. On the second morning there was little water pressure and definitely not enough to even make the over bath shower work so we called Bill but no answer. We then communicated successfully by email and he said he knows it can be a problem if someone else in the block unplugs the pump. (Twice last week). This problem solved itself within an hour or so, but it would be a good idea to at least mention that it can happen but can easily be fixed.
The same morning we also hit a problem with a minor flood when washing up after breakfast. It seemed the water drained from the plug hole into the cupboard then out on to the kitchen floor- we mopped up the floor but when we contacted Bill (by email as no answer on mobile) he merely said he knew about the problem but didn't offer any solutions till later when he emailed to say he'd pop by and check both water problems. Bill advised us later that he'd checked it out and adjusted the overflow but we should empty the washing up bowl slowly. Again, why not just say and it wouldn't be an issue. We didn't dare risk it though so emptied the washing up bowl in the bathroom, especially as the cupboard under the sink didn't look as if it had been cleaned for a while and we didn't want to make it worse in case the overflow still leaked.
So, overall, if the apartment can be thoroughly cleaned, and you take it as it comes, it offers good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and accessibility in Three Cities
Liked least: dirty floor in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Hi to be honest..I found it strange that you thought the place dusty and grubby as all the floors bathroom etc were all cleaned the evening before you arrived. Malta is a bit of a dust bowl at times. As I told you there is no logic to the water flow problem and no previous guest has ever experienced the problems....also every other guest has been able to contact me by phone apart from your selves. But overall I am glad you had a pleasant stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandaco...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious apartment, could do with a good clean though.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had booked to stay in Birgu originally however the apartment was double booked so we found this as an alternative. The apartment is spacious and well located (although at the top or a large hill) close to bus stops, felt safe and the locals were friendly. Had an issue with the shower but Bill was very helpful getting this fixed (came out on two occasions). It was a shame that the cleanliness of the apartment was poor, the floors although swept clearly hadn't been moped (our feet were instantly black) and under the beds / behind bins etc had been missed so lots of dirt / dust underneath and in the corners. The kitchen needed a good clean, sticky worktops and dirty dishcloth which we threw away. The pillows were yellow / very worn and old underneath the pillow covers and there was hair on the sheets (not ours). It was clear someone lived here and it was not just a holiday home which may have been the reason for the poor cleanliness?! Lovely area, but would not stay at the apartment again. Pool was a nice bonus although not heated so quite cold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool / Views
Liked least: Poor cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michele t
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic .spotlessly clean lovely apartment. fantastic views Andrew the owner has a shop nearby and couldn't be more helpfull really friendly.kalkarra is a wonderfull spot and bus stop just below apartment can't wait to go back thanks andrew

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denyse L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal accommodation for us as a family to explore the three cities”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found the owner William a great host, who gave us a tour in his car of the three cities so that we could orientate ourselves. The flat was in nice condition and family friendly with plenty of space for myself, my husband and two teenage children. The air con was very welcome in the heat of summer and the rooftop swimming pool was lovely, with spectacular views and often used by us exclusively.
The flat was close to all amenities, being a 10 minute walk to most places, such as the small local towns and the water taxi to Valletta.
The nearby harbours were super, with classy restaurants to dine at.
Local people were of course very helpful and friendly.
We would probably say not suitable for people with a physical difficulty as the flat is up a fairly steep hill, so going up and down could be tricky if you are not physically fit, having said that, it did myself and my husband the world of good and felt like a work out each day!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindaholm...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks in Malta, based in Bill's beautiful apartment in Kalkara which is beautiful, quiet and very picturesque. The apartment is airy, comfortable and has everything you need, including a pool on the roof which is not shared with many people. No hesitation in recommending the accommodation and would go back in a heartbeat!
Bill fetched us at the airport in the middle of the night and delivered us to the doorstep - what more could you ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfectly situated
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing