We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 143)
Filter reviews
1 143 results
Traveller rating
499
455
128
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
455
128
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel floor to ceiling windows sea view family room heated floors deluxe room gas station the cliff small town new wing the black sand beach wake up call hotel restaurant south coast nicest hotel buffet breakfast northern lights
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1 143 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Very small room...poor choice. Dinner left us still hungry. Beach was nice. Travel on for the price. Needs big updates in the old section and more pleasant entrance. Did enjoy the lupine flowers. Saw no pufins while we were here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I didn’t do enough research re my hotel in Vik. Not a pretty town and this hotel is in the middle of what seems to be an industrial town. You have a lot of buildings infront of you.... not a good view. However... it is local to sites like Black Beach and Dyrhólaey rocks. Damn expensive! And probably my least favourite on my ring road trip. It is what i like though: a modern structure, clean decor, nice new rooms, lovely beds and huge windows (unfortunately of nothing but a road and buildings).... dinner was excellent (one of the best pastas i have eaten), good service and a nice breakfast spread. Good wifi. Coffee making facilities. For the price I would have expected it to have a better view. LOL. If you have the cash to blow then this is your place, otherwise head for more charming guesthouses elsewhere....

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank coconutugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

There’s definitely limited hotels in Vik, as it’s relatively remote. Icelandair was in a good location with a Kronan & multiple restaurants across the street, plus a great view of the mountains to the right and ocean to the left. There’s free WiFi that works well & multiple lounge areas so that you’re not confined to your bedroom. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. My only complaints are that the rooms don’t have *any* ventilation, so they’re very humid and leave you + all your belongings feeling damp. My friends and I hiked in one of the nearby National Parks and, as it commonly does in Iceland, it rained most of the day. When we got back, our raincoats, shoes, and backpacks were pretty wet. We set them out and opened the window overnight hoping to dry things out as we were flying out the next day, yet after 12+ hours our bags and coats were STILL damp. The ventilation is just very awful so be prepared to encounter that. The bathroom also floods very easily as the shower is “open concept”, so be prepared to spend the rest of the night walking through water every time you need to use the restroom. It was a good hotel to stay in for 1 or 2 nights because of the good location & price, but definitely could be designed better.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Had a summer cottage room, which is outside regular hotel, was quiet, convenient, very small room and shower. Few tv channels, free parking. We ate at restaurant for dinner and breakfast and enjoyed thoroughly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Vik is a town of 320 people. This hotel is modern 4 Star with restaurant and bar. You don’t want to eat any where else while in Vik. All other restaurants are in gas stations. We had a super Jeep glacier tour with ice explorer which is about 2.5 hour drive east from Vik. We broke up our trip from Reykjavík and stayed in this hotel. There is a gas station across the street. You have view of the ocean and can walk across the street to the ocean to see the black sand beach. Be careful at the beach. They get giant unexpected waves that come from no where and will wash you away. Don’t go on the beach near water. They have a raised area for tourist to walk on that’s elevated by rocks and is safe. We travel with our kids and this was a great place to stay for a break. Everyone in Iceland speaks fluent English. Amazing culture.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Passagootscore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews