We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery
Ranked #32 of 563 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$56
Description: Bryggjan Brugghus is Iceland’s 1st micro brewery and bistro located in the trendiest area of Reykjavik harbor side. The bistro offers delicious local food in a cool atmosphere and world class beverages brewed on site. Our menus offer a good variety of local seafood, salads, steaks and desserts along with some great street food to go along with our beers that are brewed on the premises. In our bistro we serve lunch and dinner plus brunch on weekends and at our bar we offer a special bar menu, with dishes perfect for nibbling on with some delicious beer. Beer tours are on the hour, including a 3 or 6 beer tasting flight. The kitchen is open for lunch between 11:30 and 15:00, for dinner from 17:00 – 22:00 and 22:30 on weekends, between 15:00-17:00 guest can order food from bar menu. Happy hour everyday from 15.00 - 19.00 at the bar, that is open from 11:00 to 23:00 Sundays thru Thursday and until 01:00 on Fridays and Saturdays.
Restaurant details
Description: Bryggjan Brugghus is Iceland’s 1st micro brewery and bistro located in the trendiest area of Reykjavik harbor side. The bistro offers delicious local food in a cool atmosphere and world class beverages brewed on site. Our menus offer a good variety of local seafood, salads, steaks and desserts along with some great street food to go along with our beers that are brewed on the premises. In our bistro we serve lunch and dinner plus brunch on weekends and at our bar we offer a special bar menu, with dishes perfect for nibbling on with some delicious beer. Beer tours are on the hour, including a 3 or 6 beer tasting flight. The kitchen is open for lunch between 11:30 and 15:00, for dinner from 17:00 – 22:00 and 22:30 on weekends, between 15:00-17:00 guest can order food from bar menu. Happy hour everyday from 15.00 - 19.00 at the bar, that is open from 11:00 to 23:00 Sundays thru Thursday and until 01:00 on Fridays and Saturdays.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Both the food and beer here is wonderful! Everything is decorated beautifully. When we went on Sunday they had live music, which went perfectly with the atmosphere. Oliver at the bar was very friendly and gave us exceptional service, we loved chatting with him throughout the night. Definitely one of our favorite places in the entire city :)!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NManzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBryggjan, Manager at Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there,
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent beers. Double IPA is a knockout. Great atmosphere, friendly bartenders, good service. Ask for Candy at the bar — shes’s awesome and fun to talk with. Highly recommended!

Thank Chris8529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBryggjan, Manager at Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi Chris and thanks a million for the positive feedback! Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We went for the beer/food pairing. There was a bit of chaos at first, getting unexpected joiners seated but it was worth the experience. Our host, Candy held the attention of everyone in the 50+ person group with her enthusiasm. She was very knowledgeable and no question about the beer or food went unanswered.
This evening was a highlight of out trip to Reykjavík.

Thank kcvandewalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBryggjan, Manager at Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi there,
I'll be sure to say hi to Candy from you guys :) Very glad you liked it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My husband and I are big craft beer lovers, so our wedding planner recommended we have our wedding reception here! We loved the atmosphere and food, but especially the beer! They label the back area as "Semi-Private" which made me think we were going to be around other tables in the restaurant but it was quite a large area divided with a curtain, it was great! Very quiet and perfect for talking to everyone around =)
Thanks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denyse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBryggjan, Manager at Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi Denyse,
Very glad you enjoyed your visit. The 'semi private' or the 'pier room' is perfect for smaller groups and receptions and I am very happy it suited your occasion :) Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This bistro and brewery satisfies this craft beer enthusiast, and the food is excellent with soft shell shrimp, mussels that smell like the fresh ocean, and THE BEST Icelandic, spring “marinated” lamb. I do not like any meat other than some poultry and seafood preferably, and haven’t eaten other meats in 33 years, but Bryggjan Brugghús changes whatever you’ve ever thought was good lamb. They have the best lamb, & 3 Michelin Star chefs agreed. The craft beers on draft like the Litli Grís, double IPA and the Paint It Black Stout are yummy! Thank you especially to our host, Candy, for the beer and food tour, and for the brewery tour - enjoyed hearing about how and what you all brew, and seeing the brewery too. If you are traveling to Reykjavík, this is a must-stop-and-partake.

Thank IslandImp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBryggjan, Manager at Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi there and thanks so much for the positive feedback. Very glad you liked the food and what an honor having a 3 star chef feeling the same way. Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Bryggjan Brugghus Bistro & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing