We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable apartment in a lovely area; friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
houses built 2007
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
houses built 2007
The bedroom Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
houses built 2007
The bedroom
Living room
The coast is only 5 min. walk away.
My The street
Grótta
my street
my street in North
my street in North
my street
Grótta in the good Day
shorten
Grotta on night of summer
toilet with shower and washer dryer is also
view of bedroom from a distance
extra beds are always available
you can watch your car always
outside the area Seltjarnarnes area
foot tub that is in Seltjarnarnesi .  and take the sommer  night
view from Seltjarnarnesi
Winter
Grótta
Iceland Vík
The car no 1..
The car ni 1
The car no 1 manual
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tim-Water...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in a lovely area; friendly helpful host.”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great booking for us. Host Sigurður / Siggy collected us and brought us on a tour of some of the sights before heading back to the apartment. He also brought us to the airport for 5am on departure. We found him to be a lovely man with a sense of humour and a philosophical streak.
The apartment is very spacious for two. It would take four comfortably, although two would be sleeping on the sofabed in the living area, but here would still be lots of living space. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, which is important in Iceland, where eating out is prohibitively expensive. There is a good supermarket 5 minutes drive away. The kitchen even had a good teapot, a rarity in my travelling experience, and with the beautiful Icelandic water we had lovely [Barry's!] tea. The bedroom is small but the bed is very comfortable. The apartment was always warm, with underfloor heating. With Icelandic geothermal heating, if it gets too warm, you open the windows. Siggy and his wife live upstairs, and Siggy was always available for help and advice. The car was old but perfectly serviceable [there didn't appear to be many new cars in Iceland]; it was great to have it as part of the deal. The location is on a peninsula North West of Reykjavik and I would recommend spending a day exploring this area on foot - lovely walks and views; the bird sanctuary was very active at the time we were there. The local sundlaug [swimming pool] offers open air lane swimming, tubs of various temperatures, jacuzzi, steam etc., very child friendly, all for €7 - a rare bargain in Iceland! The location is also great for seeing the Northern Lights - we saw them on two nights - a five minute walk around the corner and you are clear of street / house lighting, which really enhances the view of the aurora. So all round we would highly recommend this apartment, and we will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay and i hope to see you again.

Siggi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VMcK80
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Iceland!”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 with 2 kids ages 8 and 10. We are so completely thankful to Siggi (the owner) and all he did for our family! He picked up up from the airport with a top notch tour on the way to the apartment. His tips on travel and food were much appreciated and definitely saved us some money along the way. We truly felt like family and our kids had a blast. The apartment is perfect for a family like ours. We've stayed in a lot of apartments throughout Europe and this one was the best in terms of being well stocked and extra care. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed as we mostly self catered during our entire stay. Best advice I would have is to ask Siggi and trust his direction. Highly recommend staying here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlahat
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Icelandic heaven”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in the apartment for a week and it was a wonderful experience!
We highly recommend renting this apartment to anyone visiting Iceland. The owners, Siggi and Nanna, are very hospitable people, and treated us like family. For a very reasonable cost, Siggi picked us up at the airport very early in the morning and drove us back on the last day. The apartment rental comes with use of a car which is a great bonus since you need a car to get around this beautiful country. The car was well maintained and very reliable, and we drove it quite extensively to all the major nature sites - the Golden Circle, Southern Iceland, and the Snaefellsnes Peninsula without any problems. Take into consideration that Iceland is a very expensive country and gas, for example, costs approx. $8 per gallon!
The apartment has a full kitchen which we used for cooking our breakfasts and sometimes dinners, This is the way to do it, as food in Iceland is very very expensive. Everything in the apartment works like it should. You are located within walking distance of the Grotta light house which is the best place in Reykjavik to catch the northern lights (if they come), you can actually walk to the light house in low tide. Reykjavik is a lovely little town, very walkable, we strongly recommend doing the free city walk, very informative.
To sum things up - if you are planning a vacation in Iceland and looking for a place to stay, this is it! much better than any hotel, and you get to meet really wonderful people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
“thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay. and you are always welcome beck.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
1 review
“Awesome from start to finish”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked with Siggi via this site having been to Reykjavic back in May. We did not stay here then and we really regret it. Siggis' place is huge, comfortable, extremely well equipped and just a very very comfortable place. The bathroom is spacious and I had no trouble in my wheelchair so if any wheelies out there are looking for a truly accessible property, this definitely ticks all the boxes. Use of the car was awesome too. The owners live next door and are very accommodating. Genuinely lovely people and a genuine bargain. If you're looking to stay in Reykjavik then this is THE place to book. You will not regret it. We certainly didn't!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
I am 1 friends richer. really normal and friendly. Just like I have known him a long time. I hope I see him again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googlesqu...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous base in Reykjavik!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This appartment is in a lovely area on the edge of Reykjavik. Siggi and his family are extremely kind and welcoming and go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Siggi offers the use of one of his cars included in the price ( if you are over 21) and even let us use his SatNav and mobile phone so we could call him if we got into difficulty! The appartment itself is warm, comfortable and well-equipped. There is a well stocked 24 hour supermarket nearby and we recommend you let Siggi collect you from the airport and give you a tour of some of the sights on the way back - cost 70 euros and well worth the price. þakka þér Siggi!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing