We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy AND delicious”
Review of Glo

Glo
Ranked #17 of 74 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Glo is always on the way. Located at three locations in the capital area, one on Laugavegur 20, downtown Reykjavik which is 100% vegan, one in Fákafen 11 and one in Hæðasmári 6. Our goal is to serve healthy food for everyone. The head chef at Glo is Solveig Eiriksdottir, a pioneer in the field of healthy cooking in Iceland. Gló has been voted the "Best vegetarian" 2011, 2012 & 2013
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

A welcome reprieve from the rich (and not always healthy feeling) food we’ve been eating! Vegan and delicious, lots of options, coffee AND green drink on offer. They had a special Thai soup that we seriously wanted to swim in it was so good. Left feeling happy and sated. Bright and cheery location and very helpful service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank reneesd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1 420 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

During a recent trip to Reykjavik I had some of the best food in Glo, unfortunately shambolic service really let this place down. On making your way upstairs to what is really just a cafe and not a restaurant at all, there’s nothing to indicate the ordering etiquette. A sign on entrance explaining there’s no table service and how to order would help. Basically you queue up at a counter, pay, take a seat and wait for your name to be called, then you return to said counter to collect your food. Worryingly staff were a bit clueless when I asked exactly what certain dishes contained, having to ask each other for advice. They were out of wine too which was disappointing. I ordered a Mexican Bowl filled with salad, quinoa, millet, chicken-style Oumph (a meat substitute), salsa, black beans, corn, mayo, guacamole and nacho chips. It was delicious, but not a substantial portion for approximately £16.00. Everything in Reykjavik is extremely expensive though, so this was actually reasonable in comparison to other eateries. We had a quite a wait for food and drink, all in our party of five received their food at different times. There’s definitely a hippy-dippy vibe to Glo and the staff seemed a bit clueless and spaced-out. Ultimately a place for lunch and not an evening meal as it’s just not special enough, but if you go with a relaxed attitude and aren’t in a rush you’ll love it, as the food really is fantastic.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CiaraSlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Iceland is so expensive foodwise (and alcohol) that it is almost a miracle to find a restaurant like Gló where they serve very healthy food at a fair price.

We had the spinach’s lasagna and this came with a lot of vegetables on the plate next to the lasagna.
Broccoli, carrots, beetroot and sweet potato were almost a meal on their own.
We also had the thai soup which was ok. Very salty and personally I found the serving a little too small. It came with a slice of sourdough bread and some hummus.

They provide free carafes with fresh Icelandic water for all customers and thats a nice gesture.

I would love to go back to try some more from their menu.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Andreajaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Thai soup is lick-the-bowl-yummy! Spinach lasagna very good. Great vegetarian eating with happy meat lovers eating non meat woohoo!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Kj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Delicious, healthy, and affordable – the holy trinity - what more could you ask for while staying in Reykjavik? I was recommended this restaurant by the staff at the hotel I was staying at, and I was not disappointed! Thank you for a delicious meal that warmed my belly and my heart!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheOatmealGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glo also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Glo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing