We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee and Great Breakfast Sandwich”
Review of Kaffitar

Kaffitar
Ranked #8 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Miõborg
Description: Kaffitár is an Icelandic roasterie, specializing in importing, roasting and serving the finest Arabica coffee beans. Apart from the roasterie, the company owns seven coffee stores-espresso bars or cafés. They are located at our roastery in Reykjanesbaer, in Kringlan shopping mall, in Smáralind shopping mall, down town on Bankastraeti, in the Culture house at Hverfisgata, in the National museum and at Höfdatorg. We buy 75% of our coffee directly from the farmers, this we call "from farmer to cup" which means that our buyer, has visited the farm and selected the coffee. Lots of our direct coffee comes from Ricardo Rosales at Jesus Maria in Nicaragua. El Injerto in Gvatemala and Daterra in Brazil are also farms which we buy a lot from. Our experience is that we get better coffees and more consistent quality. Kaffitár also runs it's own Artisan bakery, Kruderí witch specializes in sourdough bread and delicious pastry.
Reviewed 26 October 2016

High quality coffee in a hip environment. Get a seat on a barstool at the window for people watching.

Thank NorthamptonSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had just left our luggage at our guesthouse and were looking for a cafe open early (it was 7am) so we walked along the main shopping street and found this place. It seems popular with the locals as well as tourists, some of which were staying at the hostel right across the street. Excellent coffee and nice pastries, enough seating and strong WiFI connection.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ungfrusolrun, Marketing manager at Kaffitar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for your visit and a kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

gluten free chocolate cake is a must try cake for chocolate lover. Cream is light. love their latte as well. definitely worth a visit.

Thank sbangj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ungfrusolrun, Marketing Manager at Kaffitar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for your visit and a kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Note: this is a review for their café in Reykjanesbær (Stapabraut 7, just off route 41, about 10 minute drive to the airport)

We found this place on a rainy and windy day, and found it a really relaxing place to hang out.
This is actually the headquarter of Kaffitár, where there have their roasting and processing factory. It's great to know that the coffee I was drinking was roasted next door, just the day before!

Their website says you can tour their facility by appointment, but we were not aware of this when we visited.

Don't get too relaxed though - you could lose track of time and almost miss your flight like we did!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twotterdhc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ungfrusolrun, Marketing Manager at Kaffitar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you liked our HQ café.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Like many flights from North America, mine landed at 5 a.m. Getting into Reykjavik around 6:30 very little was open. Kaffitar was the perfect place to start my Iceland journey.

Sit down and get a quality cup of coffee. If you stay for a while you can get as many refills as you like. The coffee is top notch and the pastries they serve are pretty yummy, too.

It's small, but not too small. Grab a seat by the window and people watch a bit before you head out into Reykjavik.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevoBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ungfrusolrun, Marketing Manager at Kaffitar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thanks for your review and your visit, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaffitar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kaffitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing