We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing New Years meal!”
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #47 of 563 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We lucked out getting a table here on New Year’s Eve without a reservation by stopping in early and getting a table when another guest no showed. From the moment we walked in the host was kind and friendly, asking us to wait and he would see if he could fit us in, even though it was crazy busy. Although the set menu was very pricey, every single bite was delicious! The portions were very fair. The seafood soup was excellent, and I don’t typically enjoy seafood. The main course of beef Wellington was perfectly cooked and seasoned, I could eat it everyday! The wait staff were friendly and explained each course, even adding a bit extra to a couple of the wine pairing glasses. We could not fault this meal, one of the best I have ever had!

Thank Linnaea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for this nice review, it's much appreciated. We are very happy that you liked the food so much. We hope you had a nice New Year weekend in Iceland and welcome back.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely evening at hofnin. Great food maybe a little on the small side but very fresh and yummy. For iceland not bad prices either. Beautiful view of the harbour

Thank FrancescaWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for posting the review. We are happy that you liked the food and the harbour view. We hope you had a nice New Year weekend in Iceland and welcome back.
The Höfnin Team
P.s. Sorry for the late response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We pre-booked here as read previous reviews regarding the popularity of the restaurant. Also requested a window seat. We weren’t disappointed. We were taken to our requested table and staff were lovely and friendly. We were served by a young lady from Netherlands and she was lovely and helpful. Setting was gorgeous with views of the harbour. Food was outstanding. We chose soup of the day and then haddock. My partner helped me finish as it was extremely filling. It was delicious and we really enjoyed the atmosphere too.

Thank lisao00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. Sorry for the late response.
We are very happy that you liked the food and the restaurant. We do hope you had a nice time in Iceland and welcome back.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I enjoyed a lovely meal with friends from Canada thanks to Arnor and the staff at the Hofnin restaurant. My son had the fish stew from the children's menu and finished it completely! The view and restaurant decor are very pleasant, thanks for a memorable meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TFanzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciate. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meals and our restaurant. Hopefully you had a great stay in Iceland and welcome back. Happy New Year.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

This place is not generally known among Icelanders, which is strange since the place is not packed with tourists like so many restaurants in the area. Their main idea seems to be a fusion of traditional Icelandic dishes and more worldly cuisine. I truly liked it. The price is moderate for a restaurant of this quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lokadirskor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Great to hear, thank you for the review. Our clientele is mixed, locals and foreigners. We like to keep the traditional dishes with a twist on the menu and most guests like them. We do hope you had a great time in Iceland.
Happy New Year
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing