We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow up”
Review of Extreme Iceland

Extreme Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Following my negative review of Extreme Iceland and their failure to pick us up at our hotel their response indicated that their driver did come to our hotel. Let me add we were at the designated check point 45 minutes in advance -outside watching other guests leave in their pick up vans and buses- phoned Extreme Iceland multiple times and in fact their representative ultimately apologized to us that they had skipped our stop that day!! She was very apologetic but had actually contacted the driver and he was already too far out of town to return to get us. The driver also told dispatch he had missed the stop!!
A typical response from management that they have posted to my original review shows how little they researched this event and how quick they are to say ‘it’s not their fault’. No wonder there are so many very poor ratings for this tour group!! Wish you had done your research before responding; it would have been the very least customer service you could offer. Pitiful.

1  Thank Travelin1Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Travelin1Pa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience.

The kind of experience that you had is of course absolutely not acceptable service and we would like to address this with the people involved in it. However, we do not have a way of doing so based on this review.
Therefore, if you have not already done so, please do contact our customer service team at info@adventures.is because we want to find out more information and resolve this matter in a quick fair way.

Best regards,
Larissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glacier hike"
in 226 reviews
"south coast"
in 154 reviews
"ice caving"
in 80 reviews
"day tour"
in 206 reviews
"golden circle"
in 235 reviews
"northern lights"
in 252 reviews
"the bus"
in 147 reviews
"jokulsarlon lagoon"
in 24 reviews
"black sand beach"
in 62 reviews
"caving tour"
in 21 reviews
"super jeep"
in 63 reviews
"lava tube"
in 24 reviews
"gas station"
in 24 reviews
"small group"
in 62 reviews
"diamond beach"
in 19 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 22 reviews
"tour company"
in 49 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 1 582 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We had a great time with Extreme Iceland. We were picked up promptly at our bus stops within the designated times and our tour guides for our tours were amazing. Our first tour was the Black and Blue tour which was the lava tube and silfa fissure snorkeling. The tour was great! We got to see some amazing scenery before the lava tube and got to see some icicles inside the lava tube. Next was the silfa fissure and we loved snorkeling in the silfa fissure. My fiance was very nervous about the snorkeling since the water was very cold. The company did a great job of reassuring her and making sure she was comfortable. The moment she got in the water.... she got transformed into another world and said this was one of her favorite moments of the trip. The company had hot chocolate and some snacks at the end which was nice.

The other tour was the glacier hike tour on the solheimajokull glacier. It was a unforgettable experience. The weather was terrible (which i loved). There was rain, snow and hail coming sideways. We were greeted promptly when we got to the glacier and outfitted for helmet, crampons, ice axe and harness. We were given a quick orientation and headed to the glacier. We had time to take pictures often and learned a lot a about the glacier. The guide was very patient and always made sure everyone was ok. My fiance and I were more fortunate than other since we were well prepared for this type of weather but not everyone in our group was so I think overall the experience was better for us than others. The glacier is amazing and I highly suggest you take the chance to take a glacier hike.

Extreme Iceland was great!! Would book with again. Definitely recommend.

Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Evan C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this kind review, we really appreciate it!

We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed both your tours with us. You really picked a great combination of Iceland's highlights: Volcanic caves, the Silfra Fissures and glaciers. We realize that some of these environments can be really extreme, which is why all our guides receive extensive and specialized training so that they can keep everyone safe and sound, even in 2°C cold water or hail.

It's very good that you came prepared to the glacier hiking tour: While we do provide some equipment, the Icelandic weather can really be a handful sometimes and bringing lots of layers plus a wind- and waterproof top layer with you is what we advise for all our customers.

Again, thank you so much for giving us your feedback. We do hope you will be back in Iceland soon so we can take you on more adventures!

All the best,
Extreme Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We booked crystal ice cave tour with extreme Iceland but due to heavy rain, the ice cave was flooded. They emailed us 2 days prior to tour date and placed us on a different tour, glacier hike and ice caving tour. The tour was done on March 23rd, 2018.

This tour was under arctic adventures company but I booked the tour through extreme Iceland website. I’m posting this on both companies.

This glacier hike and ice cave tour is smaller but was still beautiful. We glad we got to do the glacier hike as it was truly a very cool experience. Jen was our guide and she was fantastic. I love that they value and prioritize safety first so I didn’t mind that the other cave tour was canceled. The meeting point was at Skaftafell National Park. Then a quick 20 minutes drive the the glacier, hiking was about 30-40 minutes, 15-20 minutes inside the cave then another 25-30 minutes at higher viewpoint for more photos.

Please note that ice cave tours are only available in the winter time, Oct-Mar so please look around before you start planning your Icelandic trip.

Thank wongchizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear wongchizzle,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review here, it means a lot to us!

We are sorry that the flooding crossed your original plans, but like you already said, ice caves are only accessible in the winter months and can become unsafe quickly with rising temperatures.

Safety is our number one priority and we will never risk our customers being harmed under any circumstances. If we do have to cancel a tour, we try to do what we did for you in all cases: Come up with an alternative - and it seems we found the perfect substitute for you! It makes us really happy to see that you enjoyed your new tour and that Jen did a good job of showing you around Skaftafell.

Hopefully you will be back soon for more adventures with us!

All the best,
Extreme Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This tour included the Golden Circle, and the South Coast of Iceland as far as Jokulsarlon and Diamond beach. It included a glacier hike and ice cave (ice cave portion is only offered through end of March). The guide, Olaver, was excellent, funny, tuned into the needs and wants of the group, and was very nimble in changing plans based on the prevailing weather. I was surprised at how much we bonded as a group, and how that added to the fun of the tour. The south coast of Iceland is not to be missed, and this tour and tour guide were top notch and well worth the money.

1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Extreme Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Carolyn M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on here, it means a lot to us. We are very happy to see that Oliver did such a fantastic job and will let him know how much you appreciated his services. This is exactly what we want to provide all our customers with after all!

We hope we can welcome you back to more adventures very soon.

All the best,
Extreme Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing