We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Express Puffin Tour”
Review of Mr. Puffin

Mr. Puffin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mr. Puffin is Reykjavik's premier birdwatching tour operator. Guiding tours from the Old Harbour in downtown Reykjavik to the incredible puffins and sea birds on Faxafloi bay. We operate both tours on conventional bird watching boats and our very special custom made RIB boats. The RIB boats are very fast and get you very close, without disturbing the birds.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The Express Puffin tour was a lot of fun. It's worth the extra money to ride in the smaller, faster boats. The red suits they have everyone wear kept us warm and comfortable (Note: I'm not a small person and they had one to fit me). They also provided warm gloves and goggles. We wore our regular walking shoes and they didn't get wet. We got close to puffins and learned a lot about them. Our driver also made sure we had some fun with speed and the waves when we weren't near puffin nesting areas. We enjoyed that, but if you have back pain or prefer not to bounce around on a ride, this isn't the one for you.

Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halla S, Director of Sales at Mr. Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Karen,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Puffin Express Tour on the RIB speedboats here in Reykjavík! It is good to hear that the suits served their very important purpose of keeping you warm out there at sea. We are more than happy to provide a variety of sizes so that everyone can enjoy the wonderful puffins that we have here in Iceland! The puffins are always fun to watch and our guides are always glad to give information about them! Like you said yourself the ride can be a little bumpy and thus we always try to make sure those with previous back problems feel ready to go on the tour or sit towards the back of the boat if they trust themselves to join. We are so glad to hear your comments and hope to see you again on your next trip to Iceland!

Best regards,
The Mr.Puffin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"puffin tour"
in 5 reviews
"puffins flying"
in 3 reviews
"telephoto lens"
in 2 reviews
"larger boat"
in 2 reviews
"reykjavik harbor"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"boat ride"
in 2 reviews
"tour operator"
in 2 reviews
"interesting information"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"binoculars"
in 6 reviews
"birds"
in 6 reviews
"suits"
in 4 reviews
"cliffs"
in 3 reviews
"boats"
in 2 reviews
"clothing"
in 2 reviews
"fishing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Top of the list for our daughter's 21st birthday - we did a tremendous amount of research to ensure she had the best experience. Of course, it rained and that didn't impact us at all. Although the listing says they provide "overalls" it is actually a one piece (snowmobile type) suit; goggles and gloves. We were toasty and warm. The RIB boat is the way to go -- there were only about 8 of us on our tour so plenty of room. if the waves get choppy - you simply stand up and protect your back.
Our guide "Marine" (appropriately named) was very informative and provided interesting detail about the puffins; their family dynamics; the migration etc. The boat driver took us into the waters out front of Harpa for a fast and fun toot around the harbour before we headed back to port. Book it and enjoy the experience ! A great kick off to a fun birthday celebration.

Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halla S, Director of Sales at Mr. Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi D F,

We are so glad to hear that the Puffin Express Tour on the RIB speedboats was at the top of your celebration list, and also that you really did enjoy the experience. We are always happy to hear that our passengers enjoyed the tour and seeing our wonderful puffins! Marine is one of our best guides when it comes to the puffins and she absolutely adores them so we are glad to hear that she was able to give you a lot of interesting information about their habits and lifestyle. The small little fun ride at the end of the tour is often a highlight and we are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed it as well! Hope to see you again on your next trip to Iceland!

Best regards,
The Mr.Puffin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had a great experience with the Express Puffin Tour. It was very easy to see the available tour times and book online. Although Mr. Puffin's high-speed tour was a fair amount more expensive than some of the other tours available, we were happy with the experience. Our guide seemed genuinely excited about the sea birds too, and chatted with everyone. The company provided warm suits, goggles, and gloves to help keep us warm on the trip, as well as binoculars. We saw many puffins flying and fishing, and a handful perched on the islands. They are a little hard to see at times with the boat moving and the distance, but we saw many clearly when they flew close to the boat or were sitting on the islands. It might be best to check the weather forecast and go on a clear day. Also if you want to photograph them, a high-zoom camera is best.

Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halla S, Director of Sales at Mr. Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi ClevelandTravels,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Puffin Express Tour on the RIB speedboats! It is also great that you thought our booking process was simple and easy as we aim to make it as accessible as possible! As you said yourself the guides love those puffins and are almost like encyclopedias when it comes to talking about them and other birds in the bay as well. We are also happy to know that our gear served the importance purpose of keeping you warm and ready to spot the puffins! Thank you also for the camera advice (we know many will appreciate that)! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Iceland!

Best regards,
The Mr.Puffin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Had an amazing time with Mr. Puffin Tours, we were held up in traffic and were late for our tour, they went above and beyond to organise our tour privately at no extra expense. Plus we got a bonus jet boat ride to end our tour, I highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank EvePav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halla S, Director of Sales at Mr. Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Eve,

We are so happy that you had fun on the tour! The Puffin Express Tour is always a lot of excitement, especially if you get a fun cruise at the end! Sometimes life gets in the way but we always try our best to accommodate if things happen, so we are glad to hear that our desk was able to do that for you and allow you to join us for the tour! Hope to see you again on your next trip to Iceland.

Best regards,
The Mr.Puffin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

WE SAW SO MANY PUFFINS! There were puffins floating in the water, flying near the boat, touching beaks with other puffins and waddling around. We saw some other birds, too. Our tour guide was so gracious and informative and even let us use her biologist-grade binoculars to see the puffins closer up. Thanks Mr Puffin.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank gabiangeleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halla S, Director of Sales at Mr. Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi gabiangeleti,

We are so happy to hear that you loved the tour! The puffins rarely disappoint- especially when they show up in big numbers! The puffins are definitely fun to watch and we are glad that you took notice of some of the peculiar things they do! Our guides are always happy to see when passengers have an interests in the birds and are always happy to do their best to give the most memorable experience, which it sounds like you had! Once again, thanks for joining our tour and we hope to see you on your next trip to Iceland!

Best regards,
The Mr.Puffin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Puffin also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Mr. Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing