We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends Birthday Visit”
Review of SALT Kitchen & Bar

SALT Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #111 of 521 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: US$0 - US$2
Description: Salt - Kitchen & Bar is a family run restaurant specialized in serving quality Icelandic seafood and lamb. We also offer three course set menu. We will be open during Christmas and New Years Eve. Opening hours: 11:30 - 22:00 (Sunday - Thursday) 11:30 - 23:00 (Friday & Saturday)
Restaurant details
Description: Salt - Kitchen & Bar is a family run restaurant specialized in serving quality Icelandic seafood and lamb. We also offer three course set menu. We will be open during Christmas and New Years Eve. Opening hours: 11:30 - 22:00 (Sunday - Thursday) 11:30 - 23:00 (Friday & Saturday)
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

3 couples warmly welcomed and given some great local advice on menu which was taken on board. Food was fantastic and will return if possible before we go back home to sunny England. Give it a visit, you won’t be disappointed.

Thank Fuzz3241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad that the birthday visit to SALT was a good experience. Hope to see you guys back before you go to see the sun in England :)

Best regards,
Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Went there last weekend with my girlfriend. We had the 3-course meal with lamb and it was delicious. The brownie for desert was one of a kind! Great athmosphere and the service was top notch! Highly reccommended!

1  Thank Oliraggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Oli, thanks for your review.

We are really glad to hear that your experience at SALT was satisfying. We hope to see you guys back soon.

Best regards,

Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We booked here for New Year’s Eve. They did set times for dinner however this did not work. We waited ages for just some tap water. The food was lovely but took just over two hours for two courses. We where going to be late for what else we had planned for the new year celebrations so asked to take our dessert away in a doggy bag! It might be better on a normal day!

1  Thank SophieD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Sophie,

Thanks for your reveiw. We are glad to hear that the dishes you had were good even though the service was not as expected. Unfortunately these nights tend to be rather busy and we are really sorry that the you had to wait for all that time. We hope that you will come back soon and experience SALT as its supposed to be.

Best regards,
Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The Surf and turf is amazing and the staff was very helpfull. this resturant is Worth a visit if traveling to reykjavik.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sondre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Sondre, thanks for your review. Glad that you enjoyed the food and the service at SALT. Look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Prior to a little Geocaching, the troop dropped on here for a quick bite and were not disappointed. Beautiful fish dishes consumed included; Langoustine soup, pan fried Ling (oily fish) & cod, mum also tried the lamb....yummy.

1  Thank Charcoal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Charcoal, thanks for your review. We are really glad that the troop enjoyed the food at SALT. Hope to see you guys again.

Best regards,
Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SALT Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to SALT Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing