We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Gem of a Museum in a Completely New Medium!”
Review of Tales from Iceland

Tales from Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22,00*
and up
Tales from Iceland Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 187 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tales from Iceland is a Video Museum about Iceland and Icelanders A museum like none you've ever seen Informative - Easy and Fun! Some have even described it as a modern national museum. Our team of producers and cameramen have created numerous short but very informative cinematic features about a multitude of Icelandic topics. Iceland’s musicians, fisherman, landscape, history, recent events and many other topics all get their due share. We have created something unique that will enlighten and delight you, your family and your group. Each feature lasts 3 - 4 minutes and covers one topic. They have matching show times, so you have about twenty seconds to walk to another cinema screen with another fascinating topic. Each theater area shows a high resolution film on a large screen.There is no distinct order and you will spend about one and a half hour watching all the movies. The museum occupies two floors in a house called Austurbær which is located downtown Reykjavík.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This afternoon, to escape the rain and wind, and after 12 long days of road tripping and hiking throughout Iceland, we looked at different activities we could do in Reykjavik during our last day and came across this new museum/theater experience.

This was an amazing concept for a museum! It’s a whole series of short 3-4 minute films where you move from one screening area to the next to take them all in over about a 90 minute period. With comfortable couches at each screening area, and refreshments included in the cost of entry, we enjoyed watching short films about travelling Iceland and its culture from both the tourist perspective and the Icelandic perspective.

The concept of the museum/theater is unique in the best way possible and I would highly recommend that both tourists and locals check it out!

Thank Jlstorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Gunnar_Bergs, General Manager at Tales from Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jlstorb, thank you for your review. Glad we were able to shelter you from the Icelandic "summer" and entertain you at the same time. You were here for the period of the longest daylight of the year, I hope you do not wish you were here during the shortest daylight in December. Not that you would have noticed much difference in the weather..., - the way it has been treating us in Iceland's southwest corner this "summer". Regardless, hope your travels were filled with adventures, thank you for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free coffee"
in 16 reviews
"different aspects"
in 8 reviews
"short video"
in 5 reviews
"icelandic culture"
in 11 reviews
"great overview"
in 6 reviews
"fun facts"
in 6 reviews
"unique museum"
in 3 reviews
"visited this museum"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 5 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 3 reviews
"amazing country"
in 3 reviews
"visited iceland"
in 4 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 3 reviews
"films"
in 39 reviews
"topic"
in 11 reviews
"series"
in 11 reviews
"visitors"
in 15 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the museum on a day trip to Reykjavik at the end of our trip. I would recommend visiting the museum at the end of your trip as you can relate and reflect on what is shown in the videos. It was great to watch and hear about other people's experiences and compare to our own.

The videos made by the Icelanders are informative, factual and very funny.

Thank ali-taimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Gunnar_Bergs, General Manager at Tales from Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi ali-taimur, thank you for your review. Yes, we here this quite a bit, that visitors like to compare their experiences with that of their fellow tourists, while others come to us at the beginning of their trip, to prepare for what they are about to experience. Either way works for us, just as long as you leave happy!-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whether you are doing a walking tour or not, this is a great place to start your visit to the city. We learnt a great deal here about the history and culture before embarking on our tour.

Thank highimpactuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Gunnar_Bergs, General Manager at Tales from Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi highimpactuk, thank you for your review. I can tell by your profile you have traveled the world, "been there, done that". It is rewarding for us to get such a feedback from a experienced traveler. I am glad you liked your visit and that you feel Tales is a good place to start.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are going to spend a day exploring Reykjavik, this is the PERFECT way to start your day!!!!! The museum is awesome, comfortable, and welcoming. I learned so much about Iceland!! I loved it and would highly, highly recommend. This was by far the best museum I went to in the city.

Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Gunnar_Bergs, General Manager at Tales from Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Katie, thank you for your review. Wow, I can read your header back and forth, again and again! In a way your experience proves the point of a "picture saying more than a thousand words". With all our videos, made up of thousands of pictures, I guess we have millions of words, right? So happy you liked "reading through"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This helps a person understand and appreciate Iceland and the culture of the people living there in peace.

Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Gunnar_Bergs, General Manager at Tales from Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Edward, thank you for your review. We are fortunate we are to live in a country that for ten years straight has been ranked #1 on the Global Peace Index by the Institute for Economics and Peace. While our Viking ancestors might have been upset by this, our small island can hopefully serve as a symbol to the rest of the world, as reflected by Yoko Ono's peace tower, which I hope you saw in our "East Meet West" video.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tales from Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tales from Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing