We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”

Salka Whale Watching
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Salka Whale Watching we offer you the ultimate whale watching holiday and so much more. Imagine spending three hours at sea on board a beautiful oak boat amidst stunning surroundings. You get a chance to see humpback whales, white beaked dolphins, and harbour porpoise as well as puffins and all kinds of sea birds. Salka Whale Watching offers warm overalls, WiFi, coffee and cookies free of charge - and you can take your picture at the Salka Whale Watching photo spot to share with friends and family! Discounts to two restaurants and the local whale museum come with the ticket. We are located in beautiful Husavik on Iceland´s north coast. This place is known to be Europe´s best place to see whales... So what are you waiting for?
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were very hesitant whether to make a booking for the whale watching, as we have done similar excursions in different countries, but eventually done it. And what an unforgettable experience it was!

Our guide, Roberto was not only a very knowledgeable young man, but also such a warm and genuine person who loves what he is doing! This was so obvious in his reaction to the sightings we had.

We were overjoyed and excited as the one humpback whale came right up to the boat and literally played with us.

The skipper also did everything in his power to add to our experience and in the end, when the adrenaline was high and we were heading back, we were treated to coffee/hot chocolate and cinnamon cookies. This was just a great ending to our special outing.

The boat Fanny, the skipper and guide...great Trio!!!!

Thank reinettehattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salka Whale Wat... C, Guide at Salka Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Reinette,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is really wonderful to see that you enjoyed the trip as much as I definitely did!
Honestly, the tour we shared was a million-to-one trip, a one in a lifetime experience that won’t be easily forgotten, with that amazing humpback whale just… checking on us for almost one hour, spy-hopping, rolling on its belly just so it could check on us even better... simply incredible!
All the best,
Alberto and the Salka crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"biscuits"
in 8 reviews
"puffin island"
in 18 reviews
"whale watching"
in 49 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 32 reviews
"other companies"
in 9 reviews
"great guide"
in 7 reviews
"the ice cream shop"
in 2 reviews
"great experience"
in 11 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 10 reviews
"small company"
in 2 reviews
"background information"
in 3 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 3 reviews
"sea animals"
in 2 reviews
"knew exactly where"
in 2 reviews
"enthusiastic guide"
in 2 reviews
"an adventure"
in 3 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We took the whale watching tour and made a good choice to go with the Salka company! Our guide - Hanna from Germany, is a biologist with a perfect knowledge about whales. She answered every our question and was super enthusiastic about them. That made the trip even better :) We were super lucky starting with perfect weather conditions and ending with seeing two humpback whales showing themselves to us right next to our boat! What an amazing experience! Thank you all again for a beautiful trip! Highly recommend ;)

Thank Lenka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salka Whale Wat... C, Guide at Salka Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Lenka,
thank you so much for your review! I am really happy to read that you enjoyed our tour so much. It was a truly special encounter with those two humpback whales that even I will always remember and it was amazing to share this experience with you and the other passengers! Humpbacks are the best
All the best for you two!
Hanna and the entire Salka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic tour, enthusiastic guide and nice boat with not too many other tourists onboard. We saw a lot of puffins and humpback whales, also a baby one. And a Blue whale! Perfect quiet sea and friendly atmosphere, totally worth going!

Thank johannav843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salka Whale Wat... C, Guide at Salka Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi Johanna,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
A baby humpback and a blue whale, that must have been your lucky day! Neither is something we see every day, so we are very glad you enjoyed the trip and appreciated the sightings!

Hope you have a great time in Iceland!

Lucy and the Salka crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salka Whale Wat... C, Guide at Salka Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

They were amazing. Ive been on about 10 whale watching tours and this one blew them all out of the water, by far. Henrik only used the microphone for the saftey breif and for the remainder of the tour he walked around the boat and spoke with us in small groups to educate us and answer questions. We had plenty of room to get to the rail of ths boat no matter where the whales appeared. And plenty of access to Henrik who spoke great english and knew tones about the area and wild life. We watched puffin island for about 15 minutes and we watched 4 whales, humpbacks and minke cruise around and up and down for about an hour. It was a highlight or an amazing trip.

1  Thank kjgrhkvdtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salka Whale Wat... C, Guide at Salka Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi hi,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.
It's amazing to hear that you enjoyed the trip, especially as you are an experienced whale watcher! That means a lot to us. I will make sure Henrik gets your compliments and I'm sure he will be very pleased to hear them.

We are grateful that we could contribute to your trip to Iceland and we hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Lucy and the Salka crew - including Henrik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salka Whale Watching also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
 
Husavik, Northeast Region
Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to Salka Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing