We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
66
32
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
32
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds lovely cottage host family table with chairs ring road the kitchen hot water night stay national park place to stay next morning cabin lodging horses hob glacier wifi
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night only unfortunately because we were on a roadtrip but the cottage was amazing. It was big enough for the 4 of us. Bigger than expected actually. There were towels, linen and kitchen appliances. There are several cottages on the land surrounded by horses, sheep, chickens, etc.. it was amazing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinvor, Owner at Cottages Lambhus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Sarah,
we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Lambhus cabins.
We wish you a good time in Iceland!
Steinvör and Gunnar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This is probably the best view on the glaciers, from a tiny cottage that nonetheless has everything aboard what you need for a nice stay. Friendly staff, certainly a good place to stay on your trip around Iceland.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almi43, Owner at Cottages Lambhus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Mark L.
We are very glad that you had a nice stay in our cabin.
With best regards from Lambhus
Steinvör & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed in Cabin 5 here because it is one of the only places to stay near the national park and near the icebergs along Route 1. We really enjoyed it! These cabins are compact! There are 15 of them and the land around them is stark. But, the host family is very nice and the Icelandic/Viking horses on the farm are beautiful. You can see two glaciers right out of your windows and the landscape is vast and starkly beautiful. Our cabin was our smallest place to stay of our whole two week trip. There were two double beds as bunk beds, a fold-up futon to fit one additional or two people and a table for eating and sitting. There was a hot plate stove top and a sink. The kitchen space was so small that I broke a mug trying to prepare, cook and wash up in the same space. The host was nice about it, however. Please bring in your food, as there are not places to eat close by. The closest restaurants are in Hofn, which is quite a drive away. It took us around 30 minutes to drive to the Blue Icebergs in Jokulsarlon the next morning.

Room Tip: Be sure to state the number of beds you need so they select the best cabin for you.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinvor, Owner at Cottages Lambhus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear IowaMum
thank you very much for taking time to review our accommodation.
I just want to add, that on our website it is clearly stated that it may feel cramped if you are staying with 4 adults in one cabin. (We offer accommodation in 15m² (160ft²) and 20m² (215ft²) cabins).
And regarding places to eat nearby. There are two nice restaurants in 1 km distance from our farm.

With best regards from Lambhus
Steinvör & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The cottages have a great view on three glaciers, approximately 10 kms away, but looking much closer. There are smaller and bigger cottages; both types have all the comfort you need for staying at least a couple of days.
The owners are very kind and helpful.
In the vicinity there are gravel roads leading closer to the Flaajokull-glacier; the easiest to drive, and leading to the nicer area for a hike, is the one on the eastside, to Haukafell, a nature reserve with a small camping from where you can reach the lake on the foot of the Flaajokull-glacier.
In approximately half an hour you can drive to Jokullsarlon (westward) and Höfn (eastward).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andoni31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinvor, Owner at Cottages Lambhus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Andoni,
we are very glad that you had a nice stay in our cabin.
With best regards from Lambhus
Steinvör & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in the larger type of cottage and absolutely loved it. The views of the glacier are amazing. The location is very peaceful and quiet. It is well sign posted off the ring road. The check in/check out procedure is quick and easy and the staff/owners are very friendly. The cottage is equipped with a double bunk bed in the corner a small shower room, a small kitchenette with kettle/coffee machine, small hob, fridge and main dishes you need as well as a sofa and a table with chairs. You can park right next to it. It also has heating. It is perfect size for 2 people, maybe up to 3. With 4 people it would feel quite small and there may not be enough room to put your stuff & bags. Other than that (and for Iceland's standards) great.

Room Tip: Choose hut no. 10 or 11 for example, then the other huts are not in your view..
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATerribleExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinvor, Owner at Cottages Lambhus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Takk fyrir dear TerribleExpert!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay :-)
With best regards from Lambhus
Steinvör & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews