We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iceland waterfall ”
Review of Fab Travel

Fab Travel
Ranked #15 of 35 Tours in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a travel agency in Iceland aiming at providing personal services to our customers. If you are interested in a trip in Iceland with a personalized service please do not hesitate to contact us and book a private jeep tour or nine to fifty passenger bus tour in our beautiful country. We will be happy to assist you in everyway and take you to your dream jeep/bus trip.We offer various trips for you to join. Go to our web-site to take a look at these exciting trips. We can also design trips for you tailored for your personal needs. Just send us a e-mail and we will make your dream to Iceland come true. As Free as a Bird.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Iceland is a beautiful country with very friendly residents. We were on the Pacific Princess cruise Transatlantic to England.

Thank bpozniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"golden circle tour"
in 10 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 19 reviews
"driver guide"
in 6 reviews
"company owner"
in 3 reviews
"mud springs"
in 3 reviews
"large bus"
in 4 reviews
"excellent company"
in 3 reviews
"personal service"
in 3 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 5 reviews
"lake myvatn"
in 6 reviews
"comfortable mini bus"
in 2 reviews
"day tour"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 2 reviews
"booked tours"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews

11 - 15 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

Booked a shore excursion for Akureyri. Comfortable minibus, nice and very informative guide that spoke good english. We had plenty of time in each destination. Visited the hot mud springs in Namaskaro, Lake Myvath nature hot baths where you can have lunch, a stop at some volcanic caves and then to the Godafoss waterfalls. The driver made sure we got close to each site so not much walking. No problem getting back to our ship on time - would highly recommend this company.

Thank texascat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We were coming on a cruise ship to Akureyri and Fab travel offered a good whole day tour. We booked online and communication was good. We were met by our driver/guide Ragnar Thorsson. He was a professional in every way as we spent the day visiting the various stops in the itinerary.

Our first stop was at the viewpoint overlooking the city. We then went to Godafoss and then to Lake Myvatn to see the numerous lava islands formed. We then went to the Dimmuborgir where we went through a maze of lava formations and then to the nature bath. The last stop was Nmafjall which is a place which might as well be hell on earth with all its smoke vents and heated holes.

We had a fun filled day at Akureyri. It was an unbelievable 22c sunny day near the Arctic circle. Thanks Ragnar.

2  Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We booked Tour 301 for Godafoss and Laufas Folk Museum. When our cruise ship missed the Shetland Islands due to poor weather we would arrive in Akureyri at 8:00 am instead of the scheduled 10:00 am. We received an email stating that our tour would depart 30-45 minutes after arrival. We exited the ship early and found Halldor. When we booked in with him we were told our tour did not depart until 11:00 am. We were offered the opportunity to join the longer tour for an extra cost but declined. Due to the poor communication we could have slept in and had a relaxing morning.

We returned at 11:00 and found that Halldor would be our driver and guide. There were only 6 people on the tour. Halldor was very engaging and we learned that he is the son of the owners. He dropped us off at the lot near the Godafoss Falls and gave us an hour. That was much more time than we needed. 30-45 minutes would have been enough. When we returned to the coach we found Anna (Halldor’s mother) as driver and Marek as guide. Apparently Halldor was sent to another tour to deal with customer issues. Anna had to search for the other two couples. The one with an electric scooter was recharging his battery!

Anna drove us back to Akureyri and started a tour of the city. About 5-10 minutes in as we passed the botanical gardens I asked when we would see Laufas. Anna was confused due to our poor pronunciation of Laufus in Icelandic until we showed her a tour receipt. Halldor had not told her about Laufus being part of the tour. To her credit Anna drove us back out of town and ~20 minutes backtracking on the road to Godafoss we arrived at Laufas. Anna was not familiar with the attraction. 15 minutes were spent getting the electric scooter out only to discover that it could not follow the path down to the entrance and then loading it back on the coach. Needless to say, Tour 301 is not wheelchair or scooter friendly.
We expected the admission to Laufas to be included in the tour. However, Marek knew nothing of the arrangements so the five of us paid our own admission. Marek was good in guiding us through the site and answering our questions. Our timing at Laufus was good in that the cruise ship tour buses arrived as we were leaving.

Our tour was much longer than planned due to the extra travel time. We did see the main two sites but we likely did not get the complete city tour. I would suggest that the guide start the tour by giving a short description of the tour schedule. The tour might have been better is we had visited Laufus first and then Godafoss to run out of sync to the ship tours. I also suggest that their web site indicate that the tour is not wheelchair accessible. If the tour was run properly I would have rated it higher.

2  Thank Barheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We selected this from a variety on offer from various operators including the cruise line we were on. It was with dismay that when we arrived at the lake we were given an hour for lunch no mention of where we actually were or asked who wished to bathe. The driver was under the impression we were on a 3/4 hour trip and not the 6/8 hour one. When we returned to the bus we were taken to another cafe 45 minutes away for another 30 minute coffee break. We had 2 hours spent in cafes during the day, that could have been spent in the lake since no one on the bus was going to the Blue Lagoon. Discussion with other cruise passengers we were very unlucky with our guide, others had no cafe breaks but an hour 30 mins for lunch at the lake. FAB travel's get out is for cruises only if there is time. Plenty of it since we didn't sail to 10pm but the driver didn't announce the venue. I wouldn't use the company again as it was very disappointing.

Thank 25Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andri J, Marketing at Fab Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017


This is not the quality standard that FAB travel operates on and we apologize for this and we have done the very best we can to prevent this from happening again.

I hope that you had a great time in Iceland despite your experience on this tour.

Please contact our office in order to find an acceptable solution.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fab Travel also viewed

Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Been to Fab Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing