We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful House with warm welcoming owners”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Heated pool and house, with open countryside views Pool, terrace and house, with countryside views beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Heated pool and house, with open countryside views
Pool, terrace and house, with countryside views beyond
Heated, private swimming pool - 10m x 5m x 1.4m deep, plus steps
Pathway to house from shaded car parking area
Heated swimming pool at night
Terrace to rear of house, accessed by french doors from both kitchen and sitting room
Terrace to rear of house
Steps to pool from rear terrace
Garden area between pool and orchard
Garden area with table tennis, boules pitch, picnic bench and swing set in the orchard
Tree house in garden.
Front of house from courtyard, with private driveway (200m long,) seen to the right
Front garden with additional seating and canopy
Kitchen and stairs to first floor
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen
Sitting room, with three comfortable three-seater sofas
Sitting room
Sitting room
Ground floor bedroom with king size bed.
Ground floor bedroom
En-suite bathroom to ground floor bedroom
First floor bedroom with king size bed and walk in wardrobe
First floor bedroom with walk in wardrobe
First floor bedroom with two single beds, or can be made into a super king size bed (6' x 6'6')
Two single beds made into super-king.
First floor bedroom with two single beds or super king size bed
First floor shower room
Stairs to loft room, ground floor w.c. to left, en-suite bathroom to ground floor bedroom to right
Loft room with one single and one double bed
Loft room
Woods
View from house
Market at Thiviers
Sammy and Lipsy in the orchard
Bantams and chicks
Our horses and the view from Haut Combiers
One of our Dexter calves.
Cooling down the pigs
Feeding the pigs
Chateau at Jumilhac le Grand. 7 km from the house.  Shops, bars and restaurants around the square.
Brantome Abbey on the river Dronne. Very pretty town with a variety of shops (35 minutes drive)
St Jean de Cole, one of Frances 'beaux villages' with cafes and restaurants (20 minutes drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Jumilhac-le-Grand, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
russaud
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Delightful House with warm welcoming owners”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a family of 4 adults and 3 children aged 3,7 and 8 . Firstly the photos on the website do not do the property justice ,it is really beautiful and welcoming , a real home. The kitchen is extremely well kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Bedrooms were extremely comfortable with lots of wardrobe space.We lived outside enjoying the wonderful pool ,which was cleaned every morning by Andrew.
The children loved all the animals and enjoyed helping Dawn feed the chickens , pigs , rabbits and ponies, however Fleur the dog won everyones hearts.
All in all it would be hard to find a more perfect holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A truly lovely place to stay. Probably the best place we have stayed in so far. The house was very well equipped and our hosts were amazing. The pool was warm, clean and so inviting. Had great fun playing with the dogs and feeding the friendly pigs. I highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything was fantastic”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved everything about this holiday house. The house was perfect, well equipped, clean wonderful beds, pillows, duvets, sheets and towels. Pool towels included. Kitchen well equipped. Dish washer was one of the quietest we have ever heard. A Dyson cordless vacuum, and an excellent washing machine. Everything was of the highest quality. Dawn and Andrew were marvellous there if you needed them. Andrew cleaned the pool every morning. We fell in love with their three dogs - Fleur, Katy and Millie. We couldn't have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was of the best quality
Liked least: Not applicabl
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B
1 review
“Fantastic holiday home in a perfect peaceful location.”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Haut Combiers. We were 2 families with 3 children aged 2,6 and 7. The house is immaculate and finished to a very high standard. The pool and garden are superb, and secure, which was brilliant for our children.

We had fantastic weather but the pool temperature is maintained between 27 and 30 degrees, which makes it very comfortable no matter what the weather is doing.

There are no other properties (apart from the owner's) in close proximity and the views are stunning. During the evenings it is noticeable that you cannot see artificial lights anywhere in the distance, just the stars and moon in a very clear sky. There is no road noise, it is very peaceful and tranquil.

Dawn and Andrew (the owners) are amazing, they are there if you need them and will provide any help if required, but equally would not interfere with your holiday if you wanted complete isolation.

We thoroughly enjoyed their company. They were great with the children allowing them to feed the animals and help with grooming the horses. They have 3 dogs, but 'Fleur' was a particular favourite with the children, she is so friendly and sat every morning waiting for them to wake up so they could play with her. The children were very sad to leave her.

A truly fantastic holiday home, which we have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful home in a perfect setting...”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have recently stayed at Haut Combiers for two weeks this summer and we have to say that it has been truly fantastic. Thanks to the owners, Dawn and Andrew, we were introduced to all their pets and farm animals, including a new calf and baby chicks. They made our stay welcoming, down to every small detail, by keeping everything well-maintained and clean in the house and by the pool. No matter what the problem was or if anything was needed, they had it or went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Mostly we stayed by the pool, but we went to a few towns and managed the big hill to the bakers for fresh croissants or coffee in the mornings. We are so glad we chose to stay at Haut Combiers this year and we hope to return soon. Thank you Dawn and Andrew so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing