We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Island Mill Getaway in the historic Lonsdale Grist Mill on an island in the Salmon River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Island Mill Getaway in the historic Lonsdale Grist Mill on an island in the Salmon River
Dining and relaxing on the patio by the river.  Weber barbeque/induction hot plate for outdoor meals Close out a busy day of relaxing by enjoying an evening fire right at the waterfalls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Island Mill Getaway in the historic Lonsdale Grist Mill on an island in the Salmon River
Dining and relaxing on the patio by the river.  Weber barbeque/induction hot plate for outdoor meals
Close out a busy day of relaxing by enjoying an evening fire right at the waterfalls.
Enjoy a relaxing soak in our year round outdoor hot tub overlooking the river and waterfalls
Microwave and convection toaster oven large enough to cook a pizza.  All necessities for meal  prep.
Electric fireplace, cozy reading nook, window seat, satelite t.v. & wifi  in your living area.
5 windows for views on to the river and gardens with a river view window seat.  AC & Fan.
Toiletries, towels, make-up wipes all provided.
Bathroom vanity.  Hairdryer  provided.
Wardrobe with terry robes and boards games.
Welcome to our Island Mill Getaway
Recreation kayaks or canoe are ready for river explorations right outside the back door.
Complimentary Provincial Park Pass
Explore the river by canoe right from our backyard dock.
Covered pedal boat with lounge seats for some relaxation on the water.
Take a scenic ride to Buttermilk Falls.
Our Haro touring bicycles are ready for a ride through the countryside. Helmets are provided.
Sit a spell on our country front porch swing with river song in the back ground.
Swimming on the dam.  Come on in, the water's fine!
Refreshing, exhilarating, and just plain fun!
A lovely October morning.  Our stay one night free special runs from November 1 thru til April 30.
Springtime in the garden.  May is full of blooms and birds.
Summer in our gardens. Flowers everywhere!
Even winter is beautiful here!  Bring show shoes or x country skis and of course, your camera.
Overhead of pergola/ bbq area and north dam and waterfalls
Raised veggie beds.  Pick your own fresh organic salad!  It's on the house!
Have a seat and enjoy the view!
View of the river and mill pond from the backyard
Take a stroll past the fish pond through the thyme garden and sit by the waterfalls.
The fish pond with Golly, Polly and Dolly.
Overhead view of the side garden area
Beavers, Muskrats and Otters are fun to watch.  Mr. Beaver having a light snack on our willows
Spring migration. Baltimore Oriole, Indigo Bunting and Rose Breasted Grosbeak all feeding together.
Great Blue Herons visit everyday to fish at the waterfalls
Watch the sun rise over the mill pondand you may even catch the otters playing & other wildlife.
An early fall view of the side garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Milford, Picton, Prince Edward County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margse2
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were looking for a getaway to recharge and wow, we sure found it! The Mill really is on a little island in the middle of a river and the building is beautifully restored and enchanting. Suzie and Jerry were wonderful hosts, the house was immaculate, our room and bed were perfectly appointed and comfortable with every detail attended to. We loved exploring Prince Edward County by day but equally, we enjoyed the hot tub under the stars each night while listening to the waterfalls on both sides of us. It was a special experience to stay in rare piece of Ontario history and we are immensely grateful that our hosts share this gem with others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a historic building in a gorgeous setting
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting others know about your experience so they might also come to share in our home and make memories here as well. We feel so lucky to have found this place and luckier still now that we are able to open our doors and share it with others. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W W
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved this place so much we're already trying to book for next year!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is stunning and the owners are interesting, friendly and helpful. The suite was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. It was near enough to Sandbanks Park and the Prince Edward County wineries that we had no trouble getting around. A lovely experience that we hope to repeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mill and its gardens are spectacular.
Liked least: Wifi and cell signals were weak, but usable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our mill and wow, our first booking request for 2016! There is nothing more gratifying to us than to have our guests return. We enjoyed being your hosts and we look forward to seeing you both again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y0gayurve...
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a great stay, over our expectations! Suzie and Jerry are so accommodating and friendly, and were absolutely great. Everything about the place is stunning: The surrounding river (which was great for going for a swim, and Suzie and Jerry were so nice to let me go with them to the best spot), the gardens are beautiful and the food garden amazing (which we were generously offered to help ourselves from), the views around the place amazing, and the interior of the house is a dream. Everything was super clean and we had everything we could possibly want/need and more. We would be thrilled to return back and have already recommended this place to lots of family and friends. Thanks for everything - Amanda and Ryan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the surroundings, the garden, the river, the charming house and the lovely hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
When guests spend their entire getaway on our property and don't bother to visit anywhere else, we are honoured. To be the recipient of such kind words from people who have done extensive travelling around the world makes us feel as though we are accomplishing what we set out to do, that is to share our little island with others. We do hope we may re-connect again and are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the mill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
producerm...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Tranquil Oasis”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful getaway. Easy-to-find location five minutes from highway but seemingly in the middle of nowhere! The mill is impressive and charming, and our hosts were accommodating and gracious. I highly recommend this spot for a romantic getaway to recharge and reconnect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. Hosting guests such as yourselves is what makes all the hard work worthwhile. We think we are very lucky to live in such a tranquil environment surrounded by nature and we hope that you will fondly remember the short time you spent with us and perhaps return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghjoh
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“A perfect relaxing, quiet rural stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this unique and wonderful spot. It was the perfect central location for our exploration of the arts and taste trails of Prince Edward County as well as historic Kingston, the World Heritage Sites of the Rideau Canal system, scenic Peterborough and all the lovely areas between. Easy access to highways and country roads made our explorations simple and fun.
The unique character of this historic mill is enhanced by the enchanting gardens, the lovely decor throughout and the warmth of the hosts Jerry and Suzie. Our suite was well-appointed with comfortable and charming furnishings, thoughtful touches designed to enhance our stay and a real sense of comfort and welcome. We went to sleep with the soothing sound of the river and woke to the cheerful sound of birds giving us a real sense of peace and tranquility.
We took the opportunity to use the canoe for a truly relaxing paddle on the river and enjoyed our time by the fire pit and getting comfy under the delightful pergola. Next time we'll definitely take time to use the bikes provided, the hot tub and kayaks. But for this time, our stay couldn't have been more perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
This lovely couple were busy everyday seeing the sites of the surrounding area. They found our home to be a good central base for day trips to Kingston, Prince Edward County and even Peterborough. We had delightful conversations discussing the pros and cons of gardening in Victoria, B.C. and Ontario. They were able to see many different birds in our yard that they do not see in B.C. and also watch the family of baby geese come to feed every morning and evening. We were very pleased to host such a warm and friendly and appreciative couple and would welcome them back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing