We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick meal in a very unique venue”
Review of Cafe Sten Sture

Cafe Sten Sture
Ranked #667 of 3 508 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: US$35 - US$249
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighbourhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Reviewed 3 October 2018

After a busy day at Skansen we came back into the old town looking for a nice quick meal.
Cafe Sten Sture was a good choice, not busy so we were fed quickly.
We had the home made lasagne , meat balls and mashed potatoes, gravy and lingonberry, Also had the apple & cinnamon pie for sweets, all very nice.
Washed down with a local beer and a very nice rhubarb cider.
This building is 700 years old and has a very interesting history as it was a goal in a previous life, you go down two flights of steps into the old brick dungeons, very unique and really worth the visit , we loved it

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

A once upon a time gory dungeon recreated to a cosy cafe in Stockholm old town.
The chai latte is simply delicious and so is the cinnamon roll.
Must visit for a break while walking around old town.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I had been there for a lunch. I had potato covered with shrimp salad, salad and beans and Somerby Cider. I really liked the food and the place. They also have wifi.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

The persistent barker on the sidewalk was a little off-putting but after looking at the menu we decided to give it a try. Located in the Old Town, the history of the building is very interesting. The story goes that it once was a prison and had connecting tunnels to the Palace and Church originating from the very cellar rooms we were dining in. Oh, by the way, the food and service was very good.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

With so many overpriced cafes and restaurants catering to tourists in Gamla Stan it was good to find one that provided basic food at good prices. While crowded upstairs, we found plenty of room in the dungeons, which allegedly were once used as a prison. The food was fine and the service quite friendly. We certainly enjoyed the cool and quirky basement rooms. We had pasta and meatballs and found it a tasty meal. The accompanying cider was better than the cranberry juice. The restrooms could be better - unisex cabins that are awkward to get to.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bartonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sten Sture also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Cafe Sten Sture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing