We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottages and hosts are extremely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio cottage living area Studio cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Studio cottage living area
Studio cottage living area
Studio cottage kitchen
Studio cottage
Studio cottage
Studio cottage
Studio cottage en-suite bedroom
Studio cottage en-suite bedroom
Studio cottage king size bed
Studio cottage
Studio cottage shower room 2
Studio cottage en-suite shower room 1
Garden cottage living area
Garden cottage living area
Garden cottage living area
Garden cottage living area
Garden Cottage kitchen
Garden cottage en-suite bedroom 1
Garden cottage en-suite shower room 1
Garden cottage bathroom
Utility room for our guests
Studio cottage en-suite shower room 1
Garden cottage en-suite bathroom 2
tree house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Surlingham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marytO288...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottages and hosts are extremely welcoming/helpful.”
Reviewed 21 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Robin and Elena made us feel very welcome from our arrival. The cottages are spotless and perfect for what we needed. My elderly Grandmother was very comfortable here and the facilities were great. My family actually went back twice in one month due to unforeseen circumstances and were very happy with both visits. Cannot recommend this property enough. Very peaceful surroundings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2018
Dear Mary, it was a pleasure to welcome your family! There is so much to see and do in Norfolk and Norwich, but our cottages are situated perfectly if you wanted to wind down and relax in the countryside location, yet so close to the city and the sea!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffyclou...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We have just returned from 4 days at this beautiful cottage.

The hospitality was outstanding, Robin was there to meet upon arrival and showed us around and familiarised us with the cottage, the garden and local area.

The cottage was immaculately clean, smelt fresh and I could see it had been cleaned to a very high standard.

As a family of 5 consisting of a 10week baby, 2 year old and 13year old - all the little touches were very welcome. The towels that were available were clean, brilliant white and pressed. There was ample toilet rolls and hand wash. Having small children we took our own bath and shower products.

In the kitchen there are all the necessary items to cook a family dinner - everything was there including washing up liquid! There was a high chair provided, which was also spotlessly clean, which my little boy loved! We were able to cook dinner and sit as a family on our first day, no problems at all.

In the bedrooms are sturdy wardrobes complete with coat hangers, wardrobe tidy, spare blankets, ironing board and iron. There is so beside tables and chest of drawers- perfect for a big family and we were able to pack stuff away and keep the place tidy.

There is a shower in one bedroom and bath/shower in the other - this suited our needs perfectly because once the children had gone to bed, we could then shower and get ready for bed without disturbing them.

There's are satellite channels including the much loved CBeebies! The cottage wasn't overly warm, but cosy enough for our new baby.

The garden is quit simply, incredible. My children absolutely loved it! We could sit in the patio area with a glass of wine and they had a brilliant time playing in the tree house and on the swing. The shear size of the garden is enough to wear them out! If you have little children, this cottage is perfect as everywhere is fenced off and secure. My toddler was able to wear himself out whilst I sorted dinner on the patio.

We went to Great Yarmouth for the day which was a lovely sea side day out - if you go, make sure you go on the snails! Absolutely brilliant and so funny! My toddler went on 5 times!!!

One afternoon we walked to The Ferry pub, where we all are dinner. The owner, Sonia (I think!) rearranged all the tables for us so we could fit in a pram and high chair. The people in the pub were so welcoming and it has a lovely atmosphere. There are games for younger children to play and keep entertained. The food was delicious - big portions and they made my toddler who's a very fussy eater, chicken strips as they weren't on the menu!

On our return back to the cottage, Robin arrived with home baked scones, fresh jam and cream as a treat!!! How lovely is that? We were able to eat warm scones on the patio, in the sunshine with happy children - it was so thoughtful and very much appreciated. Thank you!

We've made some lovely memories, went on some lovely walks and we were genuinely sad to leave.

I would definitely stay again and will be recommending this cottage to my other friends who have small/lots of children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful words.Thank you for being such great guests! You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat with plenty of facilities”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay at the Garden House with our two children 13 and 11 who loved the garden and particularly enjoyed playing badminton on the front lawn. Lots of places to visit nearby including Holkham Hall, Beccles,Framingham and Lowestoft for fish and chips and dodgems! Robin and Elena very friendly and helpful as was the neighbour. I very much enjoyed sitting in garden listening to the geese come in every evening, relaxing and having a good read. We even saw a shooting star on way back from the pub. Torches were a must- thank you for the loan, Robin

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
We agree - Surlingham Lodge is in such a perfect countryside location , yet only 6 miles from the centre of Norwich. Just far enough away to avoid the noise from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Do book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patbtyp
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

With our daughter and son in law visiting from America and my husband recovering from ill health, this was a welcome short break.
We rented both .Very well equipped .
Would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Many thanks, Pat. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay in our cottages and hope to see you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinch_10
Nottinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Booked Surlingham Lodge cottage as a late availability on the internet. What a great find. Spacious , high quality , clean cottages. Great location , with river and Pubs in walking distance. Had the use of the large garden which has views over the fields behind. Robin and Elena gave us a lovely welcome and provided us with fresh bread and milk on arrival They gave great advice on where to visit . Will return. Thank you for your hospitality.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. Glad you had a fine stay. The cottage, gardens and location delivers on all fronts! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing