We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 117)
Filter reviews
1 117 results
Traveller rating
121
429
373
130
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
429
373
130
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station tivoli gardens tea making facilities free wifi location is excellent double bed the main shopping street city break decent hotel an expensive city few minutes walk family room rooms are small tennis vesterport cheese radiator
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1 117 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

A basic hotel, run down feel, shabby, no air conditioning ,close to centre and Tivoli very close to centre, rental bikes available ,bedrooms basic, too hot to stay there in the summer ,maybe other time ok but cannot sleep in the heat of the summer with no air con ,breakfast just above basic ,poorly presented, butter melting with the heat,

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmurra473903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception M, Guest Relations Manager at ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear mmurra473903,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere.

It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back at our hotel.

With much appreciation,
David Simpson, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Check in 3.00 p.m. Ok, we knew about this so no problem and they do have a room where you can leave luggage. However, don't know whether it was because of U.K. half term or that there was a convention on but the room was far too expensive - (with exchange rate £300+). Would have preferred a Premier Inn. No air conditioning, couldn't leave the window open as we were at the front overlooking the train station - there was a fan but nowhere really to plug it in so both beds would get the benefit. The sink plug didn't work ( although a really nice member of staff managed to find us a replacement). We had 2 tea/ coffee sachets but with cardboard cups so couldn't really change from one to the other. One of the main things was that there was nothing on the phone to say how to contact reception/housekeeping etc., in fact there was no info about the hotel at all. Can't comment on food as we didn't eat or have breakfast. The one good point was location - central to most things, train station, Tivoli Gardens, bars/restaurants, hop on & off bus. Basic rate, fine - but for what we paid, no way.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank susieq4921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception M, Guest Relations Manager at ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear susieq4921,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are sorry to hear that your expectations didn't match the reality. We do put a lot of effort into our old and charming hotel and are sadden when our guest do not have a great experience. We do our best to deliver great service and we do apologies if it was not of standard. We are sorry to hear about your experience and will handle this accordingly.

In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere.

It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back at our hotel.

With much appreciation,
David Simpson, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Enjoyed sitting outside on the balcony. Room was stuffy due to a very warm day. Everyone was nice and breakfast was good. Held our luggage with no problems while we explored all day. Would recommend for location.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hsmith549399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie F, Guest Relations Manager at ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our balcony while the weather was nice. And we are always glad when we receive positive feedback about our personal and breakfast. We strive towards providing great service and deliver a nice breakfast.
Thank you for choosing Mercur Hotel and we do hope to see you again.
With much appreciation,
Marie Faxholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Noisy, no air con, smelly bathroom, shower only, broken lifts. The breakfast was nothing special with few bread selection, no soya milk option unless you book it with the kitchen the day before. We had a quiet room at the back but there was a noisy tennis court beneath and empty beer bottles tipped into bins at 7am. Front of hotel had busy road and trains, so noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slloyd678179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie F, Guest Relations Manager at ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest,
We do also apologies that you were disturbed by noise from the road and trains and we are sorry that you didn't find our rooms facing the court yard quiet either. We are also sorry that you didn't found our breakfast to be of standard. We will try our best to improve.
Our rooms is not all the same and some of our rooms have bathtups and some don't. if you have a preference please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate. We are also sorry if you had any issue with our lifts. We have one that is out of order, but we do apologies if you had to wait a lot to use the others. As of now 2 of our sister hotels are currently undergoing renovation. Afterwards it will be our turn to give our hotel a little update, where lobby and elevators among others are our focus.
Again we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant time with us, but do hope you enjoyed Copenhagen.
With much appreciation,
Marie Faxholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The location of this hotel is near the railway station, about a 10-minute walk. The check-in was smooth and pleasant and the room was nice and spacious. Our room did not have a fridge and we requested the reception if they could kindly keep our milk overnight in the fridge. The reception staff was rude and refused point blank saying they do not have any space to keep the milk. Although I might highlight that there is a BAR right next to the reception. Quite surprised by this attitude and we had no option but to keep it in our room. If you are travelling with someone and need to a fridge to store milk or something else please take note of this. I have personally never had this issue at any other hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie F, Guest Relations Manager at ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Amit,
We are happy to hear that you liked your room and the check in was smooth. We are sorry to hear about your experience with one of our receptionist. We would of course be happy to store a milk or something similar. We will look into this as this is not our standard and we are sorry that you had this experience.
Thank you for choosing Mercur Hotel and we do hope to see you again.
With much appreciation,
Marie Faxholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews