We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Manifestation of Greek culture and integrity...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roumanades Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Evan M
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Manifestation of Greek culture and integrity harking back to a bygone era”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Some may be put off by having to find this beautiful accommodation which appears to be situated in a wilderness in the less populated southern part of Corfu. Please do not let this put you off. We stayed the first night in the excellent Bella Venezia hotel in Corfu old town. This takes the stress out of arriving picking up a car and setting off on an expedition after an early start and tiring flight. Our car was pre booked and delivered to us at the hotel the following morning. Refreshed and excited at the prospect of what was to come we set off. Soon into the journey I noticed the car was delivered with almost no fuel, slight concern until we found a garage.

Using the map delivered with the car we safely navigated our way south for about 35 km. I was determined to find Roumanades without having to ring Loukia or Spiros the delightful owners. This we did with some help from local people.

Driving up the track the house came into sight. It is a manifestation of Greek culture and integrity harking back to a bygone era, something you will not find in a resort.

You can see from the pictures on FB the quality of the accommodation. I have to say it does not do it justice. This renovation has been a meticulous labour of love with attention to every detail. I have a feeling I know who was responsible for this.

We cooked beautiful pasta sauce and soup from fresh tomatoes, courgettes, cucumbers and garlic. The commodities for these would appear in paper bags left magically outside the front door overnight.

On one day whilst raining Maria the local farmers wife came into our kitchen which was candle lit (not due to electricity cut) with a wrapped freshly prepared homemade feta cheese. I have to admit to not knowing at the time what it was as Maria does not speak a word of English.
After Maria left following our thanks I sliced the cheese which was so light slightly moist and aerated. It was divine an nothing like the feta you get in Greek restaurants or in the UK.

If you are privileged enough to stay at Roumanades slow down, cook, candle light the kitchen, pick wild flowers and display in many jugs provided, take the book you always wanted to read, sit in the afternoon sun by the two hundred year old barn where the sun shines to eight in the evening. You will have an unforgettable experience and the upside is you may never want to stay in a resort again.

Thank you Loukia and Spiros for helping us find something we have always wanted without perhaps knowing what it was.

Evan and Jackie

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Leaving Roumanades
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review and for sharing our affection for Roumanades Estate. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope that you return to see us again. We would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This place is a gem. Spotless, newly renovated and nicely decorated. Also the owners are very friendly and communication and key handover was very easy. We even got freshly baked cake, some vegetables and other surprises when we arrived. We surely recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection: Roumanades Style”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have stayed in a great number of vacation rentals in our lives but few have matched in terms of sheer charm, beauty and value for money as the Roumanades Estate. Indeed, after passing a blissful week in this two hundred (+) year farmhouse, it seems that any other type of accommodation will now pale in comparison. At Roumanades, we loved the tranquillity of the 70-plus acre grounds, the astounding olive grove, the gardens, with fresh garden vegetables picked by Labis and Maria, the caretakers of the estate much to our culinary pleasure, the stately outdoor furniture, and the beautiful patio terrace with its walls patinated by centuries of Corfiot sunlight.

The rooms are decorated with care, harkening back to another era, but with all the modern comforts, including new air conditioners. The mattresses are extremely comfortable, the linens provided absolutely first class, and overall, we felt as if we were provided with five-star treatment. The country kitchen was our focal point, and although we do love Corfiot cuisine and the countless offerings of local restaurants and tavernas, the kitchen at Roumanades was so well-equipped that we cooked many meals here, including slow simmered garden tomato sauce and fresh fig jam. Indeed, we felt extremely honoured to share, if only for a week, in the bucolic pleasures of this long loved family estate. We would like to thank our hosts for their refined attention and all the countless details that made our stay a truly unforgettable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exquisite charm
Liked least: No central living room as of yet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D
Treviso, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
"Dear Stefano, Thank you so much for your review! We would love to have you and your family back in the future"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Beziers, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le charme de ce bel endroit, les différentes terrasses sous la treille ou à l'ombre d'un grand arbre
Liked least: Rien : tout était parfait !
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$153
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing