We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Olivar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Eleni S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just wonderful!! What else could I say?
We spent a memorable family holiday in Crete in villa Olivar!
Since the moment of the reservation, Dr Nikos’ assistance and help made our trip and very easy. We felt very safe and sure everything ws well arranged for our holiday!
In fact The place exceeded our expectations. Much better in realty than in photos!!
We were welcome by Maria, reception assistant of the villa. She has been most kind and helpful during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for her.
We had a holiday in privacy and peace. The villa was very spacious and comfortable for the whole group, and every one of us (6 adults, 3 teens and 1 baby) had their own space. It felt like home, so cozy and warm the atmosphere was.
The house was fully equipped; we found everything to cover our everyday needs. I feel I have to mention the stone- built section of the house. How naturally cool it was! No matter how hot it was outside, the interior of the house was fresh, cool and just perfect. (The air-conditioners and ceiling fans were more than enough.) The pool was very beautiful surrounded by bed chairs and umbrellas in a nice garden. In the outdoor area, there were two big verandas as well as a number of chairs and tables to eat or sit and relax. We made use of the barbeque and the outdoor oven too. (Takis prepared us delicious meals there). Manos maintained the pool and barbeque areas very tidy.
There is a traditional taverna a few metres away from the villa. We absolutely loved the atmosphere, their service and food. As Nikos had explained, a car was necessary for transfers, such as shopping and going to Rethymno, but it is worth renting a car as Crete is a big island with lots of places to visit. We highly recommend this place and we look forward to coming back to Crete in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyxapuk L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have been to Crete many times but this time that we stayed at villa Olivar was the best!!
Villa Olivar is a beautiful house which is situated near wonderful mountains.
Amazing views, cool and clear pool and pretty garden! It was good and safe for the children to play in the playground.
Also a very good atmosphere especially in the evening that it is extremely quiet.We liked fresh air and enjoyed warm water in the pool.
Maria the guest manager was very friendly and helpful, Manos and the cleaners were welcoming and kind!!!
We would like to come back with our friends this time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big and warm pool
Liked least: everything was good
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate181
derby england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best villa i have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

never have i met such special people,from the manager Maria to the cleaners not to mention the beautiful people in the village.the villa was perfect.Everything we wanted or needed was at our finger tips.Nothing was too much trouble. The location was amazing mountains sea view ,the bread man every morning thankyou all so much for a wonderful holiday.the memories will last for ever.Hopefully see you all next year.Thank you for all your hard work Maria.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
357christ...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a lovely villa in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The villa was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped with an outside barbeque area and oven. There were a number of seating areas to eat, or relax with large tables and comfortable chairs. The pool was clean and well maintained and set in a pretty garden with plenty of bed chairs and umbrellas. It suited us perfectly, because it was private and peaceful. Maria was very helpful and made us feel very welcome; nothing was too much trouble and Manos kept the pool and barbeque areas clean and tidy. There is a Taverna nearby, which had a lovely outdoor seating area. A car was essential for shopping and travelling to Rethymno, which had a great beach and an unlimited choice of restaurants, about 10-15 minutes drive. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Villa Olivar and look forward to going back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private and peaceful setting.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALATEIA...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in the Perfect Villa Olivar”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our family holiday in Crete. We came to Rethymno and stayed in villa Olivar.
All of us fell in love with the place at first sight! Gardens, trees and colorful flowers! My little sisters loved the pool!
In the house we could find everything we needed and everything was very well organized.
The owner and the personnel of the villa have been very helpful and kind to all of us. The owner arranged renting bicycles for 2 days too . We really enjoyed cycling in the fields and the nature.As for everyday needs, the owner explained us where to find everything in the local area. In fact , near Mesi there are supermarkets so we didn't have to go to Rethymno .What is more, we had the most delicious meals ever in the tavern of the village.

We will definitely return in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing