We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming countryside villa - excellent service...”
other travellers have booked this property
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety
Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Spacious garden area with trees, flowers, swimming pool, sun beds, umbrellas, sitting area, etc.
Sun beds & umbrellas by the pool.
Relax and enjoy your stay in our garden!
Garden-park area
Garden - one of the two outdoor dinning areas under the tree
Balcony - outdoors dinning table in the veranda next to the kitchen with view!
Spacious living room
Living room
We offer you light hiking equipment for free!
Fully equipped kitchen and indoor dining table!
Kitchen with direct exit to balcony with the outdoor dining area
Main bedroom on the first floor
Main bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
Veranda on the ground floor with outdoor sitting area
Veranda on the first floor with outdoor sitting area
Our villa offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea, Mt. Psiloritis and the whole area.
Amazing views from all our balconies & verandas
Free bicycles and new removable safety fence for young children in pool
Barbecue with wood oven and sink, we will provide everything like charcoal!
Hammock under the tree for relaxation..!
Pool and garden area with view
Outdoors area
Fenced parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anders Tv...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming countryside villa - excellent service from the Vasilakis”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two weeks in Villa Eleftherna in June/July 2016. Before arrival we experienced perfect service from Etouri and Kostas Vasilakis himself. Upon arrival at 01:00 in the morning, Georgious and one other son met us at the villa and gave us the guided tour; in the middle of the night. We soon learnt that Villa Eleftherna was a smoothly run family operation where all family members contributed. Keywords: Generosity, hospitality, yet professionalism. The house is fully equipped for two families.

The surroundings invited to active tourism. We did quite some mountain biking in the hills above Eleftherna. There is an extensive network of gravel roads and also the smaller hardtop roads are excellent for biking. Check Strava.com--> Explore for inspiration.
Also, Georgios skilfully guided us to the peak of Mt Psiloritis. Rather easy hiking and magnificient view from the top.
On the cultural side: Museum of Ancient Eleftherna, Arkadi Monastery, Ceramics in Margarites and the cave of Melidoni.
Most popular (and hidden) beach: Spilies Beach. Small beach with pebbles, taverna, caves and not crowded, apart from Sundays.

All in all, perfect vacation for two active families, not too confined to sandy beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet surroundings in a luxury villa
Liked least: Driving distance to larger supermarkets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S
The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful villa”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (a family of 5 adults and 2 kids) had a great stay in Villa Eleftherna! What a wonderful place to spend your holidays. The house is beautifully situated, with a great panoramic view of the small village, the tower of Ancient Eleftherna, the sea and the mountains. A lot of interesting places, sand or pebble beaches and nice villages and cities are nearby. Besides all the large balconies there are several nice spots around the house and in the garden to sit with all your family or friends. Everything is very well maintained with a lot of love and kept really clean. The house is also fully equipped, there wasn't a thing we missed during our stay. It's a very pleasant and beautiful villa, it looks even better than in the pictures.

But the best thing about our stay in this villa was the kindness and hospitality of the owner, Georgios, and his family. We really enjoyed all of their homemade gifts like honey, olive oil, Easter cookies and especially the raki. He also made us a delicious barbecue one night, which was really great. We hope we will be back some day!

Also Kostas and the crew from Etouri made sure that every question was answered before and during our stay. Sophia called several times to check in on us, which was very nice. Thank you all, efcharisto poli!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finntrave...
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Perfect villa on the mountains”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Eleftherna is beautiful and very well maintained, thanks to family Vasilakis! We enjoyed the wonderful garden and the pool. The well kept house includes everything you need for your holiday. If there was anything we needed, we could always ask the friendly hosts! We were a group of four adults and four teenagers, and the house had perfect layout and good space for two families. It was easy to make day trips to south coast, Rethymon area and also Iraklion with Knosos palace. The nature is beautiful in Eleftherna area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amelie d
Paris, France
1 review
“villa Elefterna in June”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

the villa is fabulous, you'll find there all the ingredients for perfect holidays. Beautiful and comfortable rooms, very nice pool, barbecue, garden with flowers... The village is calm and quiet with nice places to visit, beaches and Rethymnon city not too far. Kostas and his family are the perfect hosts, making sure everything is all right during your stay! A big thank to the Vasilakis family, we will come back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satisfied...
Oldham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Villa Eleftherna and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering booking. The villa is beautiful, very well maintained and immaculately clean. From making our initial enquiries about the booking with Kostas to arriving at the villa and being welcomed by Kostas’s father George who owns the villa everything was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Kostas even recommended a car hire firm who he had negotiated a discount with for his clients so when we booked we got a great discount from them as we had rented a villa from him.
The drive up to Eleftherna from the motorway is beautiful, I didn’t before appreciate how mountainous Crete is. Even though we had lovely weather the mountain behind the villa was still snow-capped and gave a beautiful contrast to the views from the rear of the villa and pool from which you can see down to the coast at Rethymnon.
The villa itself is even more beautiful than the pictures show. Georges hard work in the garden since they built the villa has paid off and the colours and scents of the roses, honeysuckle etc were beautiful he has even planted a lovely herb garden. The villa layout is ideal, there was only the 3 of us staying but it worked out so much better than a hotel as our teenage daughter was able to have her own space and bathroom. Each bedroom has a terrace or balcony, the terrace off the master upstairs is huge with views down to the coast, the twin room upstairs has views over the snow-capped mountain. If you were travelling to the villa as a group of friends or 2 families the terraces and layout would mean you still had plenty of space to be alone if you wanted to.
The kitchen was really well equipped with appliances, cooking utensils, glasses, plates – everything!! I can’t think of any amenity the villa didn’t have that I would have liked to have been there they have thought of everything. For us, the thing that made the week so special was the hospitality shown by George. We were made to feel so welcome and relaxed straight away and he kindly gave us a beautiful welcome basket with his homemade olive oil, olives, wine, raki and fruits on arrival. We really enjoyed making full use of the bbq and pizza oven in the garden which George ensured was all ready to use with charcoal, wood etc when we got there. At the end of the holiday George cooked us a wonderful bbq which we really enjoyed, made more enjoyable with his great company. We were sad to leave and wish we had booked for longer but we will definitely return. If you are looking for a relaxing break away from it all with genuine warm hospitality in lovely surroundings don’t hesitate to book you won’t be disappointed.

A few tips. The map facility for directions on iphones worked great as a sat nav if you enter the co-ordinates Kostas gives you for the villa, it takes the stress out of trying to read road names in Greek! If you fly in to Chania and hire a car there is a Lidl just off the E75 motorway at Rethymnon on route to the villa (we missed the exit but it was easy enough to loop back)it is pretty well stocked and will enable you to buy all of what you need food and drink wise for the villa and we were surprised at how cheap it was. The villa is about 25 minute drive from here. Kostas’s recommendation of booking a car with Autodifferent who are a subsidiary of Budget was a good one, they met us in arrivals and took us through the paperwork and then walked us the short distance to their site for the car, the car was in good condition and it was also a great price with the discount. Happy to answer any questions anyone may have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing