We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star Villa, Service and Location with Plenty of...”

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Oilyrag
Winchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 star Villa, Service and Location with Plenty of Space and great views”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

WOW! I can't stress enough how much we all enjoyed our time at this villa; my only regret is we didn't book it for two weeks.
We arrived after a delayed flight at nearly midnight and were greeted by Maria & Manos the managers of the two adjacent Estate houses, and they stayed to give us run through of the facilities. The first impression was of the huge swimming pool and grounds all lit up and looking very chic. The other noticeable feature was the view from the grounds of the twinkling lights of Rethymno and the harbour below.
You enter the ground floor into a very large reception room and kitchen. The kitchen is fitted with all the required facilities (except a Teapot) including an electric filtered water cooler and heater. There is a large extendible glass dinning table in front of the double patio doors. The sitting area easily accommodates all the guests on the three settees etc. around the satellite TV.
There are four bedrooms on the ground floor and two bathrooms. Go up the stairs and the whole arrangement of bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and lounge is replicated, and has a lovely balcony overlooking the whole area with superb views.
Everything is of a very good standard and nothing is too much trouble for Maria or Manos. Every 2 days the cleaning lady appears and changes all the towels and sheets. Every Day Manos cleans and tidies the grounds, pool and the BBQ.
Maria offers to cook for you in the evening if you so wish. We didn't use her services as we had other arrangements planned, but she did arrange to get our first shopping ready and waiting for our arrival.
Maria & Manos- You are stars, Thank You!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet together with plenty of space
Liked least: Slightly too far to walk to Rethymno and back, but the taxis were cheap
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lars L
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious villa and fine service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were 13 people going to Crete to celebrate a birthday, and this villa definitely fulfilled all our needs. Seven bedrooms, two fully equipped kitchens, professional and caring staff (thanks to Maria and Manos), large pool. The owner was also very helpful when it cam to recommending restaurants and other tips. You do need cars or use taxis though; quite a long walking distance to town. We would really like to recommend Villa Knossos for a holiday on Crete. And the price was low (at least in April): 1 500 Euros for 13 people is quite a bargain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizJou
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Book it now - do not think twice!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We are a group of about 14 friends that try to go away on holiday every 2 years. Pevious destinations include other Greek Islands, South of England and Sardinia.

Knossos Estates is by far the best equipped holiday accommodation we have come across.

Everything was perfect and the owners really put a lot of thought into small details that makes a big difference.

There are so many amazing things about this house, but here are a few that made a big difference to our holiday and or blew us away:

- The house was amazing, with wonderful views of the ocean.
- Very clean on arrival and cleaners came in 3 times during the week to clean and was always very helpful even though there was a bit of a language barrier.
- The pool is very big, clean with plenty of umbrella's and loungers.
- Great for kids with a play area, toys, cots, baby chairs
- Table tennis
- Wonderful BBQ area with unlimted wood and charcoal
- The care taker, Manos was available around the clock. He made sure that we had every thing we needed and was very helpful. You could see he takes great pride in the property.
- There were local wine, olive oil, cereal, sugar, coffee on our arrival.
- Dish washer!
- Aircon!
- Very spacious rooms
- Somehow the house is great and sound does not really travel. We could easily continue to chat and have a good time on the veranda while others were sleeping in the house without noise being a problem.
- Plenty of parking
- Bath and pool towels were provided.
- Enough cutlery, glass ware for a big group.
- TV, CD player
- Washing machine

The house was not really walking distance from Rethymno and the beach, but this did not really bother us at all. We either spent time next to the pool or drove down to the town.

Overall this was an amazing experience and I cannot recommend it enough. Looking at the pictures were thought it could not really be that good. But it was better!

10 out of 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
Hello Ivan,
I would like to thank you for choosing our villa for your holidays as well as for your great review!
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed so much your holiday in our villa and I am really satisfied to know that the resort, the facilities and its personnel lived up to your expectations, because we try hard to offer our guests an enjoyable stay in the villa!
I will send your greetings to Manos!!
We would be very glad to welcome you again in our sunny island in the future!!
Best regards,
Dr Nikolaos Sertedakis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauline m
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant time had by all”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we stayed at knossos villa 13th to 20th sept 2013 on arrival we was in awe it is a beautiful villa we were greeted by helen the manager who proceded to tell us aboat the villas facilities which was very informantive we was introduced to manos the villas caretaker and was told anything we needed manos was there 24 - 7 there was 11 of us and 1 baby there was plenty of space and we never felt cramped the garden and pool area was lovely also bbq and childrens play area manos could not be more helpful and his wife maria one night cooked us all a meal at very reasonable price we all had a fantastic time and would love to return one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Hello Alan,
I would like to thank you for booking and staying in Knossos Estate, as well as for your favorable review.
I am really very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our villa. It gives me great safisfaction to know that not only the facilities but also the personnel of the villa lived up to your expectations.
I will send your greetings to Helen, Manos and Maria.
Of course I would be very happy to welcome you again in our villa.
Best regards,
the owner
Dr Nikolaos Sertedakis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashley_en...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing holiday. I travelled with 15 others to Knossos Estate for our friends wedding down in the Old Port of Rethmynom.
On arrival at the villa we were greeted by Helena the owner who gave us a brief but insightful welcome to the villa and provide some information into the area. We were also introduced to Manos the villa caretaker.
The villa is stunning, the website doesn't do it justice. The pool and the surrounding area was perfect for sunbathing, relaxing and having fun with it getting sun all day. The town and beaches were only a 5 min taxi ride away (7/8euro between 4 of us) and a small cafe/shop was only a 5 min walk away ideal for the basics during the day. I was cheaper to eat out in the local town then cook for ourselves.
We were spoilt by Manos. Whenever we required supplies (soft drinks, beer etc) we were able to ask him and he delivered 30 minutes later. For lunch the villa had details of a local takeaway that was reasonably priced and delivered for free. One evening Manos and his wife cooked us an amazing BBQ with a selection of meats and greek dishes.

As I mentioned before the website doesn't do the villa justice. With only a short ride to town, the local shop and also what is offered via Manos this really does add to the experience of staying at Knossos Estate.

A most for any large groups of friends looking for a chilled out holiday with the option of some lively nights down in the town.

Never going to forget my week here, thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and service provided by the caretaker
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Hello Ashley

I am really happy to hear that you and your guests had a lovely stay in our villa,our greetings to everyone and we really hope to see you and your guests again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing