We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So perfect, that you don't really want to tell...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa-Gonia

Villa Gonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Gonia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Villa Gonia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Aabenhus
Helsinge, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So perfect, that you don't really want to tell anyone about it!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house and the surroundings are beautiful and the perfect center of a true Cretan Holiday. So good in fact, that you really want to keep it to your self and not tell too many about it :-)
The villa is placed between olive threes with perfect view to the surrounding Mountains and in the wonderful and calm small village "Gonia" with minimarket, traditional coffee house and of cause for the evenings Marianna's tavern with traditional Cretan food. If you want to shop more you'll find plenty of supermarkets on a 5-10 minutes drive and in 15-20 minutes you can be in Rethimnon where you will find the more tourist based but huge shopping and restaurant area near the harbor and beach.
The Villa it self is in very modern and high quality, perfectly kept and with everything you need. Even though we were there in the middle of summer the lack of air-conditioning were not an issues as the architecture and functionality of the house keeps the rooms chilled and comfortable all day long.
The service is fantastic - Marianna makes sure everything suits into your plans and cleaning is done without any inconvenience (every 3-4 days) and includes maintenance of outside area and change of towels and bedspreads/sheets.
In conclusion there is really nothing complain about so please go somewhere else so that we can keep it to our selves :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the view, the house - EVERYTHING!
Liked least: to leave it all again?!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans K
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect for a family vacation with teenagers”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of five stayed in Gonia for two wonderful weeks. The house is really very nice and feels brand new. Everything works well and is nicely kept. The beds are great (something we valued a lot). Lot's of space to dine outside as well as inside.

Marianna and Nikos are extremely nice and helpful and provided excellent service during our stay (plus some memorable dinners at their taverna just around the corner from the house).

We also found the location of the house very good, since you can reach all parts of the island on a day-trip by car. Less than one hour drive from Chania airport. During our stay we visited beaches and other places in the far western, far eastern, southern and northern parts of the island. Other days we just stayed home and enjoyed our own private pool.

Rethymnon is very close, just 10-15 minutes by car, and is a very nice town to just stroll around in. There are also some really good seafood restaurants there if you want to vary the menu.

Hans Kjellberg,
Sweden

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B
New York City, New York
1 review
“PERFECT HOLIDAYS... IN A PERFECT HOUSE!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Very beautiful house, very clean, very quiet! A real paradise.....
Marianna, Nikos and the family were an additional sunshine during our holidays!
Thank you again for your kindness, sense of humor and hospitality!
We really hope to see you again.
Friendly,
Sophie and Laetitia (Belgium)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the house and the kindness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familieva...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Gonia. During our visit in this not only beautiful but fully equipped house we found the ultimate holiday feeling. An extra plus is the great hospitality of Nicos and Marianna. Both people know what ingredients you need for a super stay. We could even order food from there restaurant and it was served to the villa. We enjoyed a honest meal of great quality on our own terrace! Also the cleaning was above expectations every detail was in place. Handy is also the little supermarket within a 2 minute walk from the villa. I could tell more but it is better to make a booking :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J P
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pool and house for young children”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We chose the house because we wanted to have the pool close to the rest of the house. The children could jump in and out all day with us being able to be close enough to supervise, and also able to sit in or out of the sun, in or out of the house. We have rented many houses and this one was by far the best for this. There were several eating places we could choose based on where the sun was, and they were also near the pool. The house is lovely, beautiful to look at and beautiful inside. The decor is tasteful and we liked its simplicity.
Marianna and Nikos were very welcoming and helpful, and we had some lovely meals at the taverna. Having this and a small supermarket within easy walking distance made early mornings and evenings very relaxing. For a proper grocers you need to go down to the big crossroad at Atsipopoulos where there is a Lidl, with an excellent fruit and veg shop next door.
The only downside was the noise of dogs barking all night. The bedrooms are quite cool enough if the windows are kept open (the insect nets work very well), but this means that the noise is inescapable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$222
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing