We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house with excellent hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa-Gonia

Villa Gonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Gonia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Villa Gonia
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
milosz_wi...
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
“Amazing house with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We have decided to rent this villa because of it's contemporary , minimalistic design - and we were not disappointed. The house is impeccably clean, design very modern, yet comfortable , the pool is great, kitchen fully equipped (Miele throughout), if civilisation contact is needed, broadband, TV is also there. I had some doubts before coming about lack of A/C in this climate, but the house is greatly designed to provide natural cool, so no problem.
Hospitality of the owners is difficult to match. I rarely felt as comfortable and welcome in any restaurant as in their tavern in the village (5 minutes walk). They were also helping us in locating places in rethymno and around and when we got into self - inflicted trouble - did not hesitate to come and help at the local police station.
The villge is located some 10 kms from the beach, but it does not tae long when you have a car. I am a keen cyclist and profited also from the roads in the vicinity. In about one hour one can reach the southern coast of Crete which is something completely different than sometimes built-up and crowded north.
Come over and check yourself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
Realy you have a great family,i would like to meet and your little daughter one day. I hope to see you again.
I wish you a happy life.
Friendly,
Nikos+Marianna+Petros+Mairy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhubbs8
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Crete getaway”
Reviewed 25 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The house was absolutely beautiful, with a simple modern design. It was very neat and clean, the house is practically brand new. It has almost everything that you need, washer and dryer, dishwasher fully stocked kitchen, hairdryer, towels etc... The refrigerator and cupboards had some food, cereal, milk, coffee, cookies, butter, cream, sugar, fruits, which was nice. We did not have to run out and go grocery shopping right away. Marianna and Nickos, the owners even had a bottle of homemade wine for us! All of the bedrooms are on the second floor. The bedrooms are all a nice size with a lot of drawer and closet space. There is a big patio off of the master bedroom, from there you have a nice view of the mountains. The outdoor pool is very nice, unfortunately it was a little bit too chilly to use it, although my husband did jump in once! The house and pool were kept clean, and towels and bed sheets were replaced. There is internet access, but no phone. We found a pay phone a bit down the road, but you have to buy a phone card to use the phone and another phone card to make international calls.

Marianna and Nickos are very friendly and they helped us by suggesting where to go. Make sure to rent a car and have a map handy at all times, the house is up into the mountains a little bit and everything is really spread out. There are a lot of things to see on Crete and the sights are all over the island. The house is about a 15 minute drive to the big, busy city of Rethymno.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words.You were great guests. We hope to see you again.
Frendly,
Marianna+Nickos Androulidaki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jppasquie...
Cholet, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Dear friends,
Thank you for all this kindness.
We hope to see you again!
Friendly,
Marianna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Bapt...
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Dear friends,
I am glad that you have a pleasant stay in our Eco villa-Gonia.
We hope to see you soon.
Thank you for your kindness.
Many greetings from all of us.
Marianna-Nikos-Petros-Mairy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Das wundervolle Haus.
Liked least: Das wir wieder abreisen mussten.
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$220
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing