We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The place to relax and unwind”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Venizelou

Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Sunny north balcony with views of the Venetian lighthouse, marina and the main Rethymno beach. High ceilings, kitchen and lounge with everything you need.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Sunny north balcony with views of the Venetian lighthouse, marina and the main Rethymno beach.
High ceilings, kitchen and lounge with everything you need.
Bright and fully equipped kitchen.
Walkway with painting that joins kitchen, lounge and bathroom,bedroom.
Book shelf full of books, dvds, and games.
Bathroom with bathtub / shower and necessities.
Cheers to living good!
Welcome, make yourself at home. :-) FACEBOOK US! - Venizelou Apartment
Sky view of apartment, Rethymno old town Fortezza castle and Venetian lighthouse.
Sky view of Venidzelou apartment and waterfront road. FACEBOOK US! - Venizelou Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
linda h
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is really a great place to relax and unwind, the location is superb. You can just sit and watch the world go by from the enormous terrace. It is wonderfully located for all amenities that the town has to offer, just being a step outside the front door. It is not noisy at night despite being in the centre of town.There are restaurants and bars to suit everybody from cheap to expensive. We found we could eat very reasonably and the size of the portions can be ginormous.
Alki and his family are very hospitable and if you have any problems they will sort them out for you, Alki will also arrange transport to the apartment from the airport, this is very handy and makes finding the place not a problem. Thanks Alki for everything, we hope to return sameday and will definitely recommend your accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: very steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, freedom, facilities.
Liked least: cannot fault a single thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alice H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Brilliant apartment - well cared for and the pictures don't do it justice. Two lovely balconies, well stocked with all the necessities - brilliant gas BBQ, plates/glasses etc and they even provided us with tea and coffee and water - a nice touch considering the late hour we arrived.

The owner could not have been more accommodating, offering to meet us from the airport and then agreeing to wait up until near midnight when we hired a car and drove there ourselves. He was waiting for us on the pavement with an umbrella in the middle of an electrical storm when we struggled our way round the one way system!

The area is lovely with plenty to do, bars and tavernas within seconds of walking yet the apartment was surprisingly quiet and peaceful. We hired a car and explored the island, its surprising how far you can get in a day and the drive was often as good as the destination! However, there are ample tours and activities that you can do without a car, not to mention the beach within 5 minutes walking if you just want to sunbathe and read a book.

The owner's mother lives downstairs and left us some tasty home cooking on our first day which was a lovely touch, but they were unobtrusive and we were left very much in peace and to our own devises for the entirety of our stay.

We cannot fault the service or the apartment - and even in October the weather was glorious. Wonderful holiday - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unbelievable service of the owner who bent over backwards to help
Liked least: The one way system of Rethymno, although the owner helped us as best he could!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
IT WAS MY PLEASURE! Thank you for your SUPER review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMaxT
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“More 'Location, Location, Location' than 'How Clean Is Your House'”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment is all about the location - which could hardly be better. Overlooking the harbour and right above the main strip of restaurants and bars; the old town immediately behind and the start of the main beach strip 5 minutes walk away. So in terms of being in the best spot - we'd recommend staying here. Especially as there did not seem to be many one bedroom apartments in the area in this type of price range.

However that said, the apartment itself is only adequate.

Pros - very large balcony area; good size living room/kitchen area with TV; free Wi-fi with strong signal; not noisy - despite bars nearby; ceiling fans in living room and bedroom; comfortable bed.

Cons - basic bedroom with a hanging rail but nowhere else to put clothes; tired bathroom; only hot water in the evenings after a day of sun - not hot in the mornings; told on arrival that the advertised air-con would actually be 15 euros extra per day; insufficient cooking pans - only 1 medium saucepan and 2 small frying pans (despite there being loads of other random utensils).

Whilst the apartment had been cosmetically cleaned on the surface, it could do with a proper deep clean. For example after we'd walked about barefoot for a few minutes our feet were black - so we needed to give the floors a proper mop. Other stuff that wasn't immediately visible was somewhat dusty. Old and probably unnecessary bath rugs were no doubt clean - but slightly stained and just generally grim. We didn't appreciate there still being pieces of soap with someone else's hair attached in the cheap soapdish in the bathroom. The reason for this may be that the small print of the booking contract says that 'on changeover days there is only time for a superficial check and a general clean'. Given that check out time is 10am and check in is 4pm then this appears to be more a matter of choice by the owner rather than there not being time for a better clean if a professional was employed.

The owner only left us one bed sheet and one large/one small towel each for our weeks stay. Others were apparently kept in a padlocked cupboard. This isn't really adequate, especially when handwashing them in the sink is the only option. This just adds to the feel of it all being a basic stay - the words 'comfort' or 'luxury' certainly don't come to mind during your time here.

Rather annoyingly, the booking form you're sent after you've reserved includes: 'guests incur bank charges'. So after paying the deposit, we were asked to add just over £8 to the next payment to cover the charge incurred. The payment of the main balance then incurred a £12 fee; but there was no way we would have known about this until the owner asked for it. Presumably then making that payment could in itself incur another bank fee ..... ! We left the sum in cash in euros. But why these small sums can't be added to the main payment charged on booking isn't clear. It just adds an unnecessary step to the process.

It's worth noting that the apartment is on the 2nd floor and the woodenstairs going up to it from the first floor landing are extremely steep (though there's only a few). So those with any mobility issues might really struggle.

So given all the above, if the apartment was located elsewhere then we really wouldn't recommend it. But given the location then it's still one to consider. Just don't expect too much. Which is a shame, because with a bit more investment and care by the owner the place could be amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Too basic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you for your review and for recommending our apartment.

We did have some challengers during your stay that we have addressed (besides the weird African dust storm on the day you arrived).

This apartment with its views and location makes it unique and we always aim to please all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the balcony and the easy access to the Old Town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2015
Yes everything is at your door step and it was our pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing