We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cretan gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Venizelou

Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Sunny north balcony with views of the Venetian lighthouse, marina and the main Rethymno beach. High ceilings, kitchen and lounge with everything you need.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Panoramic  views of Venetian lighthouse the old fishing marina, yachts and beach with sunbeds.
Sunny north balcony with views of the Venetian lighthouse, marina and the main Rethymno beach.
High ceilings, kitchen and lounge with everything you need.
Bright and fully equipped kitchen.
Walkway with painting that joins kitchen, lounge and bathroom,bedroom.
Book shelf full of books, dvds, and games.
Bathroom with bathtub / shower and necessities.
Cheers to living good!
Welcome, make yourself at home. :-) FACEBOOK US! - Venizelou Apartment
Sky view of apartment, Rethymno old town Fortezza castle and Venetian lighthouse.
Sky view of Venidzelou apartment and waterfront road. FACEBOOK US! - Venizelou Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AnnDorwar...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cretan gem!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed in this super loft apartment at beginning of 2012. we were met at the airport by friendly owner, a bonus when arriving at unknown destination. location excellent, short walk to town and long sandy beach, although small beach just across road. friendly bars and restaurants nearby, just avoid eateries at old harbour- overpriced and a bit too pushy for our liking. Best value in back streets of old town, although everywhere prices very reasonable. No need for car, local buses go all over island and tours available from numerous agencies nearby. Flat clean and comfy, kitchen a bit basic but adequate. wonderful roof terrace which we lived on for most of our stay! Thanks to owner and his lovely family who kept us supplied with fresh fruit and veg and made us so welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and sun terrace
Liked least: kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
It was a pleasure having you stay in our Cretan "DIAMOND" apartment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candau_12
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great apartment in an excellent location”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is an great apartment in an excellent location – on the sea front looking out over the harbour, 5 minutes from the heart of the old town, 5 minutes from the main beach, and directly backing onto one of the main shopping streets. The large front balcony looks out over the sea front road that is closed to traffic at night and it feels like all of Rethymno is parading passed for your entertainment as you sit and enjoy a drink! Part of the balcony is shaded by an awning and climbing flowers that provide welcome shade during the day.

The apartment is as described online and with lots of room for two – not luxurious but everything you need. (In one of the other reviews Charlotte993 mentions being hot at night but there is now air con in the bedroom as well as the living room.) Cooking facilities are limited with only a 1 ring portable hob and a combi oven (microwave/grill/oven) but adequate if you are eating out a lot of the time. The owner – Alkis – did mention that he was intending to get a new hob during the off-season. Everything was very clean and well looked after. The apartment has wifi (which worked very well) and a satellite TV with a few English channels (BBC World, CNN, etc). Access is by a very steep staircase which would not be suitable for someone with mobility problems. Although the apartment is on a busy street with restaurants and bars very close by we had no problem with noise.

Alkis responded quickly to all our queries (he speaks very good English) and booking was easy. He can also provide transport to and from the airport which we found very helpful. His parents live in the apartment below although they were away at their place in the country part of each week. Alkis’s mum was wonderful and had left a home cooked dinner for us on our arrival ( ! ) and presented us with fruit and nuts from their own land during our stay.

This was our first visit to Crete and we chose Rethymno partly for its central location. We did not regret it! The old town is delightful, full of narrow windy streets, good shopping and lots of excellent restaurants. Lots of excursions are available from the town and pick up can be arranged from the marina a few minutes’ walk from the apartment. Transport links are good and we made use of the public buses from the bus station (about a 15 minute walk) to get to Chania, Heraklion (and Knossos), and Plakias. Easy to use, cheap, and reliable. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful which made a real difference to our enjoyment.

Overall we had a very special holiday in a great apartment in a delightful part of Crete. We would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Efxaristo my friends for your fantastic review!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2012
We are glad that the apartment was everything you expected. Thank you for choosing our Venidzelou apartment to spend your holiday...regards from sunny and happy Rethymno - Crete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A really good location in the old town well away from the big hotels. Very helpful and friendly owners.
Liked least: It was hot at night. There is air con in the living room and kitchen and ceiling fans which is great, but it still felt quite hot. Maybe a floor standing fan (like they have in shops and restaurants) would be good to keep the air circulating.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2012
I am glad you had a fantastic time in our apartment but how could you not...sunrise swims sound amazing.BRAVO!

You guys where wonderful guests please give my regards to your wonderful son, i loved the positive review he wrote in our guest book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: small bed
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2012
Thank you for highly recommending our place next time try our full Cretan breakfast, you will love it too. You where wonderful guests...now friends, Efxaristo (Thank you)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing